We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night is more than enough”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Terengganu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ping Anchorage Travellers Inn
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One night is more than enough”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stopped over in Kuala Terengganu for two nights on our way up to Kota Bharu. Kuala Terengganu is basically not really backpacker friendly. We arrived at 8:00 pm and checked some hostels from the guide, but there prices were ridiculous, so we finally ended in the Ping Anchorage. We asked for a double bedroom and got one with a fan for 38 MYR. Now, the good things, plenty of space in the room, a nice cafe place in the big terrace (even if you don't stay here, I will recommend you to visit the terrace cafe) and big shared bathrooms (toilet and shower together), laundry machine. Negative: bed linen and bed doubtful (we used our sleeping bags), HOT - there was one window in the room and it was towards the hallway. The fan was merely moving the hot air around. If you need to stay here, ask for the rooms on the building corners as they have a windows towards the outside and ask for AC, which is a little more expensive. Furthermore, they have a metallic door in the 2nd floor where the hostel starts. If you arrive late, it will be closed and you may be lucky if someone comes down to open it if you ring. The service personnel are basically in the cafe upstairs and close at 12 mid night.

Room Tip: PING ANCHORAGE is a travel agency located in the floor of the building and they have good tour packa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillerm0_G0nzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    12
    5
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This place was a nightmare. We stayed one night on the way to Perhentian - that was ok, just your regular bad cheap hotel. We had booked but there was no record of us. The door to the place got jammed shut and we couldn't get in after going out for dinner. Oh, trust the omens fair traveler, trust the omens. Then we stayed one night on the way back. What a terrible mistake. Again we booked and confirmed - again no record of us. They gave us a room but seemed somehow reluctant to do so ... we now know why. There is another place just over the road, we could have gone there, but no, they took our money. We had to get up early to go to the airport and when we switched on the light the room was CRAWLING with bed bugs. We were lucky to have to switch on the light otherwise the bugs would have been hidden by daylight. No matter how poor you are - Stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Terengganu hotels

Gibraltar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

we went to this place based on recommendations given by other guesthouses in Kelantan.
What a disappointment !!!!
When you reach the place, you see this very fancy travel agent, with a nice air-cond, reception tables, info board, friendly and smiley staff. But when you show you're interested in their upstairs accommodation, you enter a different wold..

you have to climb very steep stairs for 3 floors, and then realize the rooms are so smelly and basic.The bathrooms are cleaned once a day, but as you get in with your shoes, they'll be very dirty, within a minute.
The staff, if you have a chance see one, will be very friendly and polite. It's the organisation that is wrong. Likewise, the rooftop can be nice, but nobody most of the time and overpriced. Nevertheless, the view is nice.
RM 35 for a fan room is definitely over priced, compared to you can get in Malaysia for this amount of money.

BTW : such a pity it's difficult to find decent accommodation in KT, there's a few interesting things to see in this city.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flip-flop88-66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Rent a double room for RM35. Simple and spotless clean room. Nice white bedsheet. Very comfortable bed. Toilet was spotless too. A very good place to stay overnight for Island trip the next day.

Rooftop Cafe was very cozy. Food are cheap and a lot of choices. nice view from the cafe too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

If you are looking for a place to stay in Kuala Terengganu, I would advise you to look elsewhere. From the website the hostel looked clean and welcoming but when you arrive you are in for a shock.
Our room was covered in mould and the airconditioning plug had melted. When trying to then find someone to discuss this with, the staff had disappeared.
The shared facilites were disgusting. Mould in the shower, and the toilet was filthy.
I am happy to rough it but this was a definate health hazard.
The hostel is located up a number of flights of stairs. We were amazed to see that the gate was padlocked. Who knows what would happen in case of a fire.
Seeing Ping anchorage is a large well know agency in Malaysia. My brother and I were apalled with the standard here. This place was apparently recommended by Lonely planet however I think it is time they revisit it. We were very disappointed with this place

  • Liked — Nothing - the best thing was leaving it.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SunTan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_Management, Manager at Ping Anchorage Travellers Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
Thankyou for posting your comments. We are regret to heard that your recent visit to our property was not up to your expectations.

We would like to clarify that the photos in the web is snap exactly from the Travellers Inn and the photos are taken by our own staff. Travellers Inn is a well known place for Backpackers. Because we were such a small and basic hostel, we do not have a staff work for 24 hours a day as some of our larger, more expensive neighbour hotel do.

We keep all our rooms and bathrooms cleaned before the guest check-in their room, common bath and toilet are clean regularly too. We don't take advance booking and most of our guest is actually just walk-in, have a look at the room and pay on the spot when they decided and satisfied with the room condition except some of the caller insist to book the room in advance.

The reason that we padlocked the Main Gate is for security and safety purpose of all our in-house guest. However, every guest had been given 2 KEYS, attached together in one keyring, one for the room and one for the Gate, so that our guest can open the gate 24-hours without any problem. Furthermore, we provided the ring-bell button at the gate area in case you miss the key, and our staff will be happy to help you open the gate.

It is true where our hostel is located on 1st and 2nd floor without elevator in our property. As in Malaysia, building below 5 storey will not need to install elevator. Think that is very common around the world, especially in Europe, even some up-market 4 storey hotels are without elevator.

Once again, thankyou for your comments on the Travellers Inn, it is always helpful to have this kind of feedback so that we can address our guests concerns as we strive to improve the quality of your stay at our hostel - the budget backpackers accommodation.

The Management of Travellers Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
0.3 mi away
Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa
Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa
#5 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#4 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#8 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
KT Chinatown Lodge
KT Chinatown Lodge
#1 of 25 in Kuala Terengganu
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jen Homestay
Jen Homestay
#1 of 39 in Kuala Terengganu
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Space Inn
The Space Inn
#9 of 25 in Kuala Terengganu
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Anchorage Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Anchorage Travellers Inn

Property: Ping Anchorage Travellers Inn
Address: 77A Jalan Sultan Sulaiman, Kuala Terengganu 20000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Terengganu
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing