We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Place for Snorkeling and Diving”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The place is ideal when you are looking for a retreat from busy city life. It is a small island with three resorts on it only. All situated on a middle size line of beach with Tenggol Coral Beach Resort being clearly the best option as hotel.
The island is covered with jungles and full of beautiful butterflies and parrots. In front of the hotel is a very comfortable lagoon for swimming and snorkeling. The water is clear, blue and warm.
The main value comes around the island. The fact is that there are around 30 diving sites within 10 minute boat trip from the resort in every direction of it. Such a density of high quality sites makes it a perfect destination to dive-lovers of various level. The waters are full of creatures and amazing nature underneath.
The resort is having professional dive center with excellent dive masters and several boats to carry the groups to sites.
The food is also pretty good considered the outlying location.
No 3G, no Internet, no TV is rather an advantage for a peaceful retreat in pleasureful natural surrounding.
What could be improved is:
- fix heaters in bathrooms so that the water is not so hot
- mark the snorkeling area more clear, since a little be cautious sometimes because of the boats
- fix at least one jungle tracking route

Room Tip: Please chose single bungalows on the left-hand side from the Reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Valery_and_Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Really nice resort and adequately serviced.
No doubt one of the BEST diving sites in Malaysia....
Beach is great and water is clear as crystal.
Excelllent dive sites all over the island.
2 other dive operators to choose from.
Island not far from island so boat ride is not long and suitable for even smaller children.
Please have a holiday here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Z Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at the Tenggol Beach Resort, but I did diving with Coral Beach Resort. So my review is based on my dive experience and the atmosphere.

Diving: Dive shop is not very convenient, so with large groups people might be in your way a bit but if you plan everything smart you should be able to do most things without having to many people around when setting up your gear.

Food: Is of good quality with plenty of variety. When you let them know that you are diving and will be out of the water after lunch time they will put food aside.

Drinks: The bar/restaurant area is nice and a good place to have a few drinks. They also have good bucket promotions and a pool table.

Diving: When there are large groups, especially in the weekends, they have freelance dive guides who are not very experienced in the area yet so make sure that you are not to depended on them to see a lot of things. The dive sides are great though, so if you take your time you should be able to see many things by yourself.

Room Tip: Make sure you're booking on time, this place seems to be very popular even though they are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuperGast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Was visiting Tenggol island in April 2014 , group of 4 of us, we took the quad sharing room. The room is superb, spacious for 4 pax, hot shower and air-conditioning worked very well. Overall a very cosy room.

The food which is part of the package was really good, buffet style dining.

Activity like snorkelling and diving can be done here, we did diving, the arrangement was done well , and knowledgeable staffs.

The only set back was when arriving at the resort no one will greet us , and we have to around and ask for our rooms. They should improve on this.

Other then that the overall experience was really good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tamil1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We enjoyed staying at Coral Beach Resort at Tenggol Island. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The diving was great, saw turtles, black tip reef shark, nice house wreck ...! If we had had the time we definitely would have stayed another day or two!

Room Tip: If you go diving, don't skip the housewreck. It's worth it, even though it's a shore div...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bianca9574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This is truly a hidden hideaway with white sands and clear waters. Was here for a 3D2N dive trip and as we drove from Singapore the night before arrival, a helpful staff called us to make sure we safely arrived on mainland and confirmed with us our ferry time to Island. He even met us at Tenggol jetty and brought us breakfast in town (paying for it too! And denied the money we gave) that's awesome customer service. Thank you Adrian.
Upon arrival on Island after around 40 mins by speedboat, we were met by Marcus who was friendly and helpful too. Infact I cannot find any flaws in their customer service at this resort. Our chef prepared good food. Our divemaster Zarif was fun and dive safe, dive equipment are new and well maintained too. We are fortunate to have good vis and such for our dives. It's better than Perhentians.
Rooms were basic though and there is hot water heater and air-conditioning too. No TVs but who cares coz we are here to dive and enjoy the sun sand and sea. Would we be coming again? I am sure we will even with the dreaded 8 hrs drive up to Dungun.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank ToiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I was there from 14 March to 18 March'14.

The island has only 2 active resort operators. This resort is slightly more expensive as they want to be the premium one compared to the other resort.

All the while Tenggol Island has been shared among the divers community only as diving is the main activity here. But recently this resort has been promoting snorkeling & started to offer snorkeling packages too. Hence I ended up there as a snorkeler.

An improvement from this year onwards is there are 24hrs electricity supply, although you'll probably be out diving or snorkeling or being on the beach during the day anyway. The food (4 meals/day) provided was above average for an underdeveloped island. There's air-cond & water heater in each room too. Bed was still new as the management has refurbished the place last year.

The main highlight of this place is that the corals & marine life is still very much well preserved except for the route that is frequently passed by boats. So just by swimming 10 - 20 meters from the beach, you can see beautiful corals already. Besides corals, some of their main highlights are whale sharks, black tip sharks, barracudas, lobsters, sting rays, turtles (including laying eggs) that regularly patron the places around the island. I'm lucky to see some of those highlights even though the monsoon season has just ended.

Will definitely want to come back whenever there's a chance.

Room Tip: There are 2 types of room if I recall correctly; either bay view of beach front. I visited both type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eunihorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
20.5 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
17.6 mi away
Tanjong Jara Resort
17.8 mi away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#1 of 10 in Dungun
2 reviews
17.9 mi away
Semarak Beach Inn
Semarak Beach Inn
#3 of 7 in Dungun
3 reviews
0 mi away
Six Villa Inn
Six Villa Inn
#6 of 10 in Dungun
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenggol Coral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenggol Coral Beach Resort

Address: Lot 7563, Kuala Dungun Jalan Rajawali, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Dungun
Price Range: $24 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort with 20 natural timber chalet blends harmoniously into the environment, creating an exclusive village-style living experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort Dungun, Terengganu, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing