We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 900$ a notte con prima colazione si pretende”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tanjong Jara Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A 900$ a notte con prima colazione si pretende”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Ottobre 2008-The trip had been a dream
Ottobre 2010 - the trip had been a disaster! Same room,anjung suite,same price,same period.It become a crowded and noisy family resort with a volleyball court right in front to the most prestigious suite(ours).Different meeting took place at the time.So extremely noisy and stinky workers were up and down disturbing the peace of the place.Moreover,a car were put inside the hall as show to one of the meeting!The restaurant on the beach was closed only malaysian food,the linen were dirty,the low standard service.I cannot believe that this belong a 500 SLH in the word.All is documented by pictures.An awful week! We come back tensed instead of relaxed and this in our opinion is the worst problem!Out of that sum,people would think to recharge themselves for a strong coming back to work....Speechless......

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mailagambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    287
    64
    24
    13
See reviews for
375
697
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed here for four nights in September. It is a lovely resort and the service was first class. The staff were very attentive and we loved the iced water served to you on the beach while you sunbathed &relaxed. Touches like this make a difference to your perception of a place. The room was spacious and the housekeeping team kept it spotless. The turtle watching excursion at night was marvellous. We had a great, relaxing stay and my only criticisms would be the high cost of the food in the restaurants, compared to prices elsewhere in Malaysia, and the rather over enthusiastic marketing of activities by the hospitality team. We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank facet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We preferred our stay in Tanjong Jara to that in Pangkor Laut - which surprised us! The rooms are stunning and immaculate (YTL know how to get this right). Ours was extremely peaceful and with a great view straight on to the beach. Food was delicious at both restaurants. Staff are super helpful and friendly. Beach is lovely.

A fault? It is very expensive....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I simply cannot imagine many places more suited to a few days away from the grind to relax. I have not been to the very best hotels in the world, but I wouldn't want to when I can come here for a significantly lower price. Being Malaysian residents, we had a deal on the price including food - which made a significant difference.

There are 2 different swimming pools, the more picturesque one has a sea view and tends to get quite full early on in the day, however there is also another pool, adults only, which is the perfect place to unwind.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are both large and comfortable with all the amenities you need.

The food was very good, we had lunches at the beach restaurant with a great selection, and dinner at the main restaurant where we had very tasty grilled chicken with rice each evening. For breakfast you have to try the roti channai - its excellent.

The beach is vast, it is not the powder white sands you get on the nearby islands or the crystal clear water, but still very picturesque. We took a day trip snorkelling to Tengoll island which really was paradise - perfect white sand, crystal clear turquoise water. The guide was really helpful in pointing out different fish species and we swam with 3 different turtles which was very special.

I would recommend if you were coming on an extended holiday to Malaysia that you also include an island stay, but you will not find the level of luxury and service as at Tanjong Jara.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasL02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The resort is a heaven of serenity and tranquility, but too expensive for the Malaysian standard.
We stayed in a Bumbung room on the second floor, quite nice (no balcony).

LIKE
Beautiful Gardens, sofas under the palmtrees, we had very relaxing time
Spa Village: good treatment and ambience
Helpful staff at the reception: they arranged our transfer to other island.
Wonderful excursion to Pulau Tenggol – fantastic snorkeling, lots of fish and a beautiful turtle

NOT LIKE
We stayed here in august, and at 10 a.m. the beach and the pool area were crowded, there were no more sunbeds available! You can find only a sofa in the garden...
Beach and sea – beach is not white and the sea is not clear blu, if you are looking for a tropical paradise don't go there. Some days beach was dirty...
Breakfast – pricey and not hight quality
Restaurants – quality medium to good but the overall pricing was too high.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritafant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2010

This beautiful resort, although not as well known as Pangkor Laut, its sister resort, is nevertheless just as good or in certain ways better. The warmth of the greeting and the attention and care that guests receive are second to none. The staff are trained to remember guest names and the guest liaison manager,Gin, in particular is the best we have experienced so far and in our time we have stayed in many hotels. She cared very much about the needs of the guests and was constantly enquiring (although not intrusively) about our comfort and feedback on the services offered. The satay is the best we have tasted so far in Malaysia. "Distinctively Malay" is a very apt description of the resort. Understated, comfortable without too much fuss. The spa and gift shop need rejuvenating in terms of services offered and products sold. The 'no menu' concept in the restaurant is an excellent idea and works very well with Chef Anne in charge. Don't go there if you like night life and entertainment. Its a place to unwind and get away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotval88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed there for three nights. A nice resort located on the east cost. Malay style. Tranquil and beautiful view. Service was very good but the food a bit expensive. Snorkelled at Pulau Tenggol, very nice. Better with a car so that one can visit interesting places nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
12.5 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
0.0 mi away
Rimba Hotel
Rimba Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
18 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#1 of 10 in Dungun
2 reviews
7.0 mi away
Six Villa Inn
Six Villa Inn
#6 of 10 in Dungun
8 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rumbia Resort Paka
Rumbia Resort Paka
#1 of 2 in Paka
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjong Jara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjong Jara Resort

Property: Tanjong Jara Resort
Address: Batu 8 | Off Jalan Dungun, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjong Jara Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronted by palm fringed, emerald seas, Tanjong Jara Resort is a sanctuary of luxury and well-being steeped in the unmistakable grace of age-old Malay traditions. Here, in the comfort of a room furnished in local timber and rich fabrics, guests are lulled by the sighs of waves and the warm tropical breeze. The award-winning architecture of this resort reflects the elegance and grandeur of 17th century Malay palaces, offering an authentic taste of the region’s spirit and an enduring embodiment of gentle Malay arts and hospitality. Seamlessly integrated with the resort is the Spa Village, dedicated to combining the therapeutic properties of natural local ingredients and the innate healing practices of the area, providing a special, restorative experience. Guests can choose to experience an eco-adventure river cruise, explore teeming coral reefs or browse in a night market. Whatever the activity, every breath is pure refreshment, a relaxation of the soul, a pure journey of revival. In Malay we call this Sucimurni, in Malaysia it is Tanjong Jara Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanjong Jara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjong Jara Hotel Dungun
Tanjong Jara Dungun
Tanjong Jara Resort Dungun, Terengganu, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing