We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,655)
Filter reviews
1,655 results
Traveler rating
1,158
363
86
30
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,158
363
86
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ann di atas sungei nelayan restaurant spa village serambi room day bed main restaurant our honeymoon the east coast adult pool fish teratai terrace prawns sea view room relaxing holiday main pool huge bathroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,655 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights during the middle of September. When we arrived the gong was hit to announce our arrival. The check in was a breeze and we were given cold towels and a nice welcome drink. The General Manager also came over and introduced himself and sent some fruit to our room with his compliments.
The room was fabulous. We had the usual bed but also a day bed as well. The bathroom was massive with a bath and a walk in shower which was marvellous. Umbrellas were all around the resort in case it rained. I’m glad to say it only rained at night.
There are two pools, one for adults and one for adults and children, both are gorgeous and have loads of beds and are looked after by a member of staff. There are restaurants at both pools which cater for everyone. The beach was fabulous and very large. There were few people on it and it was also served by a member of staff. Further down the beach there were huts for the Turtle eggs. We were very fortunate to witness a turtle release.... it was really wonderful to see them all heading out to the sea.
The staff make this a very exceptional place. Once they find out your name they remember it. They always greet you, no matter where they meet you or whatever they are doing. They couldn’t do enough for you. Lots of animals are in and around the resort, including lizards, monkeys and peacocks.

Breakfast was very good with a range of food to suit everyone.
For anyone taking a drink, they had two happy hours from 5-7 and from 9-10.

There was little outside the resort. The local town of Dungan was about 15 minutes away by car but nothing really of interest in it, which was a shame as I was looking to buy some souvenirs. There is a gift shop within the resort but it was quite small and didn’t have a big range of souvenirs.
Finally, the gong was hit again as we left... but this time was 3 times. 1 was to say goodby, 2 was to have a safe trip home and 3 was to return again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank WeeEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z8338CGfrankm, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear WeeEileen
Thank you for taking the time to share your prestige opinion of Tanjong Jara Resort with other TripAdvisor community members. We take pride in giving outstanding products and services to every guest and we are overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. We hope to see here again and please bring all your friends and family. We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have.
Thank you, once again, for your kind words.
Kind regards
Frank M
Resort Manager
Tanjong Jara Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at the resort and had the most amazing intro to the resort facilities, beach and events we’ve ever had at a hotel.... many thanks to Fatin whose enthusiasm and detailed explanations made us feel right at home.
Although there’s been a hotel on the site for many years, the YTL property was in good repair and the lush grounds were very well maintained. Thanks to the low-rise nature of the chalets it’s a very unobtrusive resort that almost disappears from view when on the beach. And what a beach...superb arc of golden sand (with almost no plastic debris) which the guests have all to themselves!
We’ve stayed in many hotels around the world but few have impressed us with their fabulous staff quite like Tanjong Jara. Every single one of the team we encountered - from the gardeners, housekeepers, staff at the pool, restaurants and reception - were always smiling, friendly and helpful. So rare to find such service excellence consistently throughout the entire organisation. Nothing seemed to be too much effort for any of them; every request was met with promptly and with a genuine desire to please. As my wife suffers from food allergies we were concerned about the dining, but the diligence shown by chefs Wong, Salleh and Anne was truly exceptional even down to providing very personalised meals!
It’s a great place to stay and I’d highly recommend it to those looking for a relaxing Asian resort away from the usual venues. We’ll definitely return!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank nickdI1361CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z8338CGfrankm, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear nickdI1361CZ
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. While other review website places stars next to our business, you, our guests, are our real stars. It's only when we receive such positive feedback, do we rest knowing that we have done our jobs well.
Thank you for giving us this proverbial pat on the back, you made our day! We will strive to deliver great experiences consistently.
Kind regards
Frank M
Resort Manager
Tanjong Jara Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a long weekend at the hotel 8 years after my last visit. The rooms seems have been refreshed. The grounds are large and well tended, with thriving flora and fauna. We spotted lots of colourful lizards, including a shy large monitor lizard, and dusky leaf monkeys in the trees. Waking up to the sounds of waves, cicadas, and birds, makes it so restful. The beach, while not strictly private, is pretty much used only by hotel guests, though you may see the odd fisherman. Chef Ann's fresh seafood dinners are amazing; make sure to ask for the butter prawns, and the steamed catch of the day in soya sauce. Wasn't so impressed by the seaside barbecue. A diving or snorkeling day trip to Pulau Tenggol is a great treat.

Room tip: Choose sea facing Serambi rooms
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nivivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z8338CGfrankm, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Nivivin
Thank you for taking the time to share your prestige opinion of Tanjong Jara Resort with other TripAdvisor community members. We take pride in giving outstanding products and services to every guest and we are overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. We hope to see here again and please bring all your friends and family. We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have.
Thank you, once again, for your kind words.
Kind regards
Frank M
Resort Manager
Tanjong Jara Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019 via mobile

Excellent place to stay on East coast of Malaysia.
Beautiful setting, excellent accommodation, lovely food, fabulous staff. Lovely natural surroundings and pristine sandy beach.
Special mention to Captain Mokh, but also Sabrina, Amir, chef Anne and Lizah as well as other members of staff - they were all excellent

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z8338CGfrankm, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Roy M
Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing.
Next time you want to visit us, please get in contact with me and it will be my pleasure to assist you with any arrangements.
Thank you, once again, for your kind words.
Kind regards
Frank M
Resort Manager
Tanjong Jara Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

All is excellent at this dream place:

- the food from chef anne and chef Maz
- the endless beach
- the warm sea with harmlesss waves
- the service of beachman Asgar
- the silence

- the beach villa is a dream

- the adult pool oasis and the service ( regards to the guy from Nepal )
- the infinite pool at the beach
- overall the staff, always friendly with a smile

We come back ! 10/10
Ralph (51, germany)

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 53ralphf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z8338CGfrankm, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Dear 53ralphf
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review.
While other review website places stars next to our business, you, our guests, are our real stars.
It's only when we receive such positive feedback, do we rest knowing that we have done our jobs well.
Thank you for giving us this proverbial pat on the back, you made our day! We will strive to deliver great experiences consistently.
Kind regards
Frank M
Resort Manager
Tanjong Jara Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews