We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanjong Jara Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My stay with two teenage boys was perfection indeed. We benefitted from there being few guests as it was the start of the rainy season, and had a room upgrade to sea facing. The rooms were sublime: beautiful colonial style so much dark wood and shutters and wispy fabric. The bathrooms were huge and plentifully stocked every day. The customer service was second to none - they were incredibly proactive and thoughtful. They called me Miss .... every day which I loved. I was very sad to leave and cannot wait to go back.
There was not much for my two teenage boys to 'do' per se, but they were happy to swim and read by the stunning infinity pool. The resort is exquisitely kept and a real haven of peace. Better suited to couples but we were very happy there.
A point to note is that there is NO snorkelling off the resort - you have to get a motorboat to the nearby island, which is quite expensive to do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sbizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for finding the time to share this review. I am glad to note that you and your boys had a great time with us despite one of them not feeling well. Thank you for the lovely note you left us. We hope to welcome all three if you back here again at Tanjong Jara Resort in the near future.


Regards,


Kevin Eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

As-salam and good day to all, it has been my pleasure to put thumbs up for this hotel for the services. Also the great envirement,scenery around this resort. It is reminds me the Bali style decor of art.

The people also very nice and have enjoy my stay this hotel. Unfortunatr during my stay, the weather is raining and i could explore much the pools, gym, and beach.

I will come to this hotel again for future with family.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Iskandar581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for finding the time to share this review. We hope to welcome you back here again at Tanjong Jara Resort in the near future.


Regards,


Kevin Eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

First and foremost, I love the resort!!! It's secluded, so relax and you will have all the privacy rather than feeling crowed. The beach is VERY long, and I strong recommend to stay over the weekend, where they have the "kampung life', not to miss for sure. Nelayan is my favorite resturant compared all other resorts and hotels that I have stayed. Chef Dolis, Suhaibi in Nelayan made your meal to be remembered.

Chef Alan and Chef Ann in "Di Atas Sungei" restuarant, you know the best how I love my meal. The room attendants, I believe they are a group of the most friendliest "kakak" I have ever met, and how everyone remembered my name....

Thank you for making me feel like a VIP. I truly appreciate it. All the staff was warm, genuine and there is no request as a big request for anyone who works there, which is unbelievable.

Room Tip: I stayed in Block 7, LOVE it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desmond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for finding the time to share this review. We hope you will be coming back soon for more VIP treatment.


Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

was there for 3d2n, been to plr earlier this year our expectation was high since it was part of the YTL resorts chain. from the moment we stepped in we were mesmerised by the service and the warm and friendly staffs. both of us enjoyed our stay and wish to come back sometime soon. the rooms are in good condition and very homely. the beach is very clean and long, suitable for a walk in the eveing . the pool is another good option if you dont want to hit the sea. food was very good and the portions are not big but very huge. our dinner in di atas sungai was splendid . the only drawback was the breakfast, thing they could have done better. anyways would really recomend this place for those of you who are looking for very laid back and village like holidays. thanks to all the staffs of tanjung jara who made our stay unforgetable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drpuvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for finding the time to share this review. Your feedback on breakfast is duly noted and we will strive to improve. We hope to welcome you back here again at Tanjong Jara Resort soon.


Regards,


Kevin Eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for a week for our honeymoon in September. This appears to be the end of their busy season so there were very few people there. The weather was lovely - it rained everyday for a few hours but mostly overnight and the rest of the time it was lovely and hot and sunny. We had a free upgrade for our room from Bumbung to Serambi. The room was huge and the facilities were wonderful. It was very quiet and we only had someone in the room above for a couple of nights but met someone else who had a family above them and the sound insulation isn't great.
The pools were spotless and we always had a choice for sundbeds at the pool or on the beach. They serve water all day for free and you can order food around the pool.
The food was delicious from both restaurants, Chef Ann was great. It is a little odd at the main restaurant as each dish is for 2 people, we would have really liked to have different things to try a variety of dishes. We also got less help with choosing our meals when Chef Ann wasn't around (the menu is very undescriptive and the idea is Chef Ann helps you choose based on what you like). The only other negative I have is the booking system - we couldn't get a table at the poolside restaurant one night but apart form the hour we spent having dinner elsewhere, there was only one table being used! The food is fantastic though, we had a steamboat and meal on the beach (that ended up on the terrace cos it rained) and these were just perfect and so romantic. We didn't like the set menu so Chef Ann sorted us a private meal of typical Malay food.
The activities available are fantastic - we did a bike ride, waterfall trek and dive trip. The diving is fantastic, the reef is so well preserved. There isn't snorkelling at the resort but you MUST take the trip to the island!
The Spa is also definitely worth a visit, loved it.
The staff were always polite, attentive and helpful.
We highly recommend this resort, if you want peace and quiet and don't mind a little rain occasionally, September is perfect.

Room Tip: The Serambi/Bumbung rooms are the 'basic' ones, sound insulation between them isn't grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauranorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for finding the time to share this review. We hope to welcome you back here again at Tanjong Jara Resort in the near future.


Regards,


Kevin Eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The last time I was at tanjong jara was maybe five or six years ago. Lots have changed since then, food quality has dropped, rooms are looking very tired and need for some serious upkeep. Putting all that aside, it's still an amazing getaway from Kuala Lumpur. Nothing beats the sea breeze blowing in your face whilst chilling at one of their many beachfront cabanas. Or taking a hike amongst dense rainforest with their in house naturalist. Or going for a day trip to dive or snorkel at my personal favourite island along the Peninsular East Coast Tenggol Island.

Note: Dive season is from March - Mid October.

Food - YTL group of hotels which owns and runs Tanjong Jara used to offer an amazing full board package with their resorts. Where one can eat as much as you want and drink (non-alcoholic) beverages as much as you can consume. Now maybe due to rising costs, the term full-board no longer exists. Meals are confined to one each appetiser, main course and dessert (dinner) and choice of appetiser/dessert + main (lunch). And choice of beverage coffee or tea. Gone are the days where we could have tonnes of their amazing smoothies and ice cream under their hot sun.

Housekeeping - Keeping up to Malaysian hospitality this was what made our stay here so perfect. Turn down service every night and housekeeping does a great job cleaning the mess left behind by our toddler. And from the first night they knew we would consume alot of mineral water, so they had that ready for the balance of the nights we were there. Keep up the good job on this front Tanjong Jara.

Spa - My wife went for their 80 mins massage package. She says it was good, but a wee bit expensive compared to average Malaysia, Thailand or Indonesia spa packages.

Tip - For those driving up from Kuala Lumpur, Tanjong Jara Resort is located in the muslim state of Terengganu which is a dry state. Hence a bottle of beer could set you back USD 6-7. So do stock up you are planning to drive up.

Room Tip: Request for rooms closer to the reception area if you want to be near the breakfast and dinner resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnappyFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for your continued support and for finding the time to share this review. Your feedback is very much appreciated and has been duly noted for our future plans. Thank you very much for recognising the team. We hope to welcome you back here again at Tanjong Jara Resort in the near future.


Regards,


Kevin Eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My simple comments on this resort is tremendous, marvelous and very much suitable for family stay. You just check in and all activity just inside the resort, no need to go outside. Just enjoy the best scenery in the resort, pools, SPA, gym and environment.

I is so awesome to be here and I will be back someday. The price quite high and i think it is match with quality of serving from their receptionist and environment that they serve to you.

I rate this hotel . 5 star for the achievement. The setback,y staying at this hotel all the way it is raining.

Thanks.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Iskandar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for finding the time to share this review. We hope to welcome you back here again at Tanjong Jara Resort in the near future.


Regards,


Kevin Eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
12.5 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
6.5 mi away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
59 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rumbia Resort Paka
Rumbia Resort Paka
#1 of 2 in Paka
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#1 of 10 in Dungun
2 reviews
11.3 mi away
No photo provided
Sg. Paka Hotel
#1 of 2 in Paka
2 reviews
5.4 mi away
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
#4 of 10 in Dungun
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjong Jara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjong Jara Resort

Address: Batu 8 | Off Jalan Dungun, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Price Range: $140 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjong Jara Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronted by palm fringed, emerald seas, Tanjong Jara Resort is a sanctuary of luxury and well-being steeped in the unmistakable grace of age-old Malay traditions. Here, in the comfort of a room furnished in local timber and rich fabrics, guests are lulled by the sighs of waves and the warm tropical breeze. The award-winning architecture of this resort reflects the elegance and grandeur of 17th century Malay palaces, offering an authentic taste of the region’s spirit and an enduring embodiment of gentle Malay arts and hospitality. Seamlessly integrated with the resort is the Spa Village, dedicated to combining the therapeutic properties of natural local ingredients and the innate healing practices of the area, providing a special, restorative experience. Guests can choose to experience an eco-adventure river cruise, explore teeming coral reefs or browse in a night market. Whatever the activity, every breath is pure refreshment, a relaxation of the soul, a pure journey of revival. In Malay we call this Sucimurni, in Malaysia it is Tanjong Jara Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tanjong Jara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjong Jara Hotel Dungun
Tanjong Jara Dungun
Tanjong Jara Resort Dungun, Terengganu, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing