We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family resort or a couples retreat ? The balance is difficult”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanjong Jara Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Certificate of Excellence
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A family resort or a couples retreat ? The balance is difficult”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the end of a tour round Malaysia to chill and relax after many miles, temples and street markets.
The grounds, and the look and feel of the resort is gorgeous - surrounded by some lovely trees and well planted with attractive flowers. The rooms are all facing the see as either single or (mainly) 2 storey 4 room complexes. We stayed in a Bumbung room on a 1st floor. The room was spacious and really nicely furnished - lovely wooden floor, huge bathroom with both large shower and bath plus 2 sinks. Also single bed to accommodate families. The stairs to the room had recently been partially renovated (see other another guests review about the stairs) however could have been done with more sympathy and consistency (stairs were uneven and hadn't been similarly stained/coloured). The large bed, linen and pillows are fabulous and comfortable and the best in Malaysia ! (well compared to 9 other hotels we stayed in). No balcony and hence nowhere to sit outside which was a minor disappointment.
2 pools, the larger being 'family' and the smaller for adults only. The majority of guests appeared to be couples or grown up families and so not sure of the balance between the 2. Far less sun loungers around the small pool and most in shade due to trees so for sun bathing it was either the beach loungers (difficult to secure) or the large pool. Arriving at either pool anytime later in the day did cause issue with finding a space. Bars and eating areas were available around both pools - the food was always good and we thoroughly enjoyed the cocktails ! Drinks prices are not cheap - 'Happy Hour' reduces the price by a little (cocktails 18RM as also Carlsberg - 350ml bottle) - otherwise they are 28RM. This is taking advantage of the guests and the ease of drinking at the resort - as a comparison a 'jumbo' Tiger (700ml) at an equally 'exclusive' resort cost us 28RM. Better beer and much cheaper.
We were hoping to enjoy the highly regarded spa at the resort however the prices were well out of budget - at 355 and 400+RM per session this doesn't compare very favourably to other resorts we went to. What was also disappointing was that there was no 'simple' and cheaper options that we would have preferred rather than going for the complete spa experience.
Food at the resort was also not cheap but was of a great standard and variety and so this we accepted. Would recommend both restaurants - budget 150RM per meal (for 2) with a couple of drinks. Breakfast was a bit busy and frantic - get there early (8 to 8:30)
Went on 2 trips organised by the hotel - turtle watching and the river cruise (both 150RM pp). Both were really enjoyable. We got so see turtle hatchlings and helped their release plus (the highlight) saw a mother nesting and delivering her eggs. Should there be an age limit on attendance ? Appreciate the need for children to experience this however with 20 people all trying to surround the mother it wasn't easy for everyone having an equal view (as the children were always rushing to the front and weren't controlled by the parents). The river cruise (guide was 'Zul') gave us a fabulous insight into village life in and around the river. Zul had great knowledge and this was relaxed and well worth the visit - loads sea eagles and water monitors to see.
All the staff were great, friendly, courteous, and always with a smile. Special note of thanks to Nadia on reception who helped with our flight check-in and Hisham (waiter) who offered advice on food and help plus great conversation.
Overall this was a really pleasant resort and would recommend it for others. There is need for the hotel to consider who they are catering for and to perhaps manage the prices plus the balance of loungers on the beach and pool areas. More on the beach may just take some pressure off the pools.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tanjong Jara Resort.

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your comprehensive review here. Thank you also for your feedback and I am happy to inform that we will be having more loungers on the beach soon. We hope you will return to Tanjong Jara Resort in the near future.


Regards,


Kevin Eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    280
    62
    24
    12
See reviews for
368
688
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Miller Family (Nigel, Karen and daughters Katy (15) and Lucy (12)) from near London in England stayed at TJR for 11 nights from 28th July to 8th August leaving as Ramadan finished and the Hari Rara celebrations were underway.

The resort is beautiful, the reception area tranquil, the adult pool quiet and calm, the larger family pool more lively. The food was fantastic, we were on a full meal plan and this worked very well for us giving us the option of eating in the amazing Chef Anne and Chef Dolis domain or at the more traditionally menued Nelayan restaurant with its sea view. Our adjoining Serambai rooms were excellent and very clean, with comfy beds, great sea view and fantastic bathrooms. Jack the monkey kept us amused on the balcony, watching us closely and mimicking our movements.

The staff at the resort were all excellent, and are undoubtably the greatest asset the resort has. They are not the hovering imposing staff often experienced, they bring a much more personal, friendly approach which we really enjoyed and appreciated. We felt like we were with friends, indeed by the end of the holiday many staff were pretty much that! Real stars were Chef Dolis for the great attention and treats he made/arranged for us, Chef Anne for the fun, advice and engagement she brought us, Anila for her shy humour, giggle and the best cocktails (once we had input our preferences) and Caroline as a friendly client liaison.

So did we have any issues? Well yes sadly there were a couple. Our biggest gripe was that for much of our stay it was almost impossible to get a sun bed, at pool or beach. When you have paid as much as we did to travel from London for 11 nights at a 5 star resort, we were saddened to feel pressured into the behaviour witnessed in some cheap European hotels where 'bagging' a sunbed involves getting up at 6am and placing items on beds to make a claim. We didn't degrade ourselves with this behaviour but we actually saw people going out at midnight to place their towels and possessions on the beds for the next day. We fed back at the time that management need to either fix this (a booking system, and limited absence) or get more sun beds, but nothing improved and so we spent much time without a bed (more fool us) and therefore in our room! We are sure some guests were bagging both beach and pool sun beds and then hardly using either. Very poor behaviour more in keeping with a Benidorm hotel in the 1970's.

Other suggestions we would make for the resort are:

More tea, coffee and milk in room ( more needed when you can't get a bed by pool or beach)
Chairs and table and sun beds on veranda rather than just the single day bed, again useful if you can't sit by pool or beach
More towels at the pool (often none), even more important if you don't have a bed
Restaurant staff training to get drinks delivered - I can't understand why in Nelayan it can take 20 minutes to get a beer to the table (not isolated, we stayed 11 nights)
Free WiFi in room, I don't expect to pay RM500 (£120) extra for my 10 days of WiFi in a 5 star

Fixing these few things really would make the resort a true 5 star, currently it is closer to 4.

Above sounds a bit negative, but all said, the place is fantastic, the staff and accommodation excellent and the experience not to be missed. Thank you to all at TJR, we hope to return one day.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr Miller,

Greetings from Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience here and also via our electronic survey. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortage of sun beds and for the short falls in service. The sun beds have been procured but we faced some unforeseen delays and they should be arriving soon. The suggestions that you have provided is very much appreciated and will be taken into consideration as we make progressive changes to our products and services. Thank you very much for recognizing the team members who have made an impact to your stay. I will share this with them and I am sure it will be a great motivation. As for Jack, we hope to catch him soon as he has been very mischievous.

We are all very hopeful that your hope to return to Tanjong Jara Resort will be realized and we look forward to it.


Sincerely,


Kevin Eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia, Peru
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We read about Tanjong Jara in the papers, saw the beautiful pictures and knew we had to make our way here. We had a busy period at work and were looking for a peaceful, relaxing retreat and found that, and more, at this resort. The hotel is about 1.5 hrs by car from Kuala Terengganu and we had the hotel car pick us up from the airport.

We loved the cabanas which were always available and the sprawling beach which was never too crowded and we absolutely loved that. Both swimming pools (one near the Nelayan restaurant and the other an adults only pool near the Di Atas Sungei restaurant) were lovely and we especially enjoyed the signature Roselle smoothies served there. Our favorite food though by far was served at the Nelayan restaurant which served both Asian and Western cuisine - the local Terengganu set lunch here is a must try and very authentic. With the lovely breeze flowing through the restaurant every lunch time we couldn't ask for more. We were booked on the residents package which offered full board (breakfast and dinner at Di Atas Sungei and lunch at Nelayan) but we always felt that the food at the Nelayan was of a much better quality and so much tastier. The food at Di Atas Sungei could do with a refreshing uplift (especially the breakfast spread) and the restaurant renovated as it looking a bit tired and dark.

The rooms were very well appointed with a great view of the sea. The beachfront from our Bumbung room upstairs was only a stones throw away and the room was very clean and so comfortable. We also had all the comforts of home with great TV and Internet as well. We had such a lovely time strolling by the beach, watching late night movies at the Theatre Under the Stars and the massages at the Spa Village are one of the I've ever had - bar none.

Overall, we never went bored and always had so much to do, see and try! We were even fortunate enough to visit the Ramadan Bazaar to sample the local street food which was amazing. Our only regret was staying too few nights - thinking we'd be bored in 2 nights but we could have easily stayed for weeks!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pippyclearsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Unmistakably Malay Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to share this review. It is very encouraging to know that you found the peaceful and relaxing retreat you needed while staying with us. We hope to welcome you back at Tanjong Jara Resort in the near future for more restful bliss.


Regards,


Kevin Eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

GENERAL SUMMARY
This is not a good resort. If you are not familiar with these types of resorts then you might like it but if you have been to others in Asia then it compares badly.
More suitable for families not couples.
Little opportunity for romantic escape.
Sells itself as high-end, almost boutique, but is nowhere near it as it doesn't have the service or facilities to justify this.
The superior rooms (Anjung Room and above) are definitely not worth the extra cost. The room is bigger but that is absolutely it as there are literally no other perks/benefits. However don't get a first floor room either as many have no balcony/terrace area so you're reliant on beach beds which are hard to come by.
Food is good although relatively pricey for what it is compared to other resorts we've been to; costing about £55 ($82) for two people having two main courses, two desserts and one glass of wine each, including service charges and tax in the Asian restaurant and about £70 ($105) for the Western restaurant- but it is tasty.
You can relax here if you're prepared to compete with other guests and fight for it upfront e.g. Booking restaurant tables, getting sunbeds, finding towels etc.
Owing to the service, ambience and lack of atmosphere when eating (breakfast or dinner) the best part of the day is when you're on the edge of the resort, looking out to sea with the resort behind you. And that is very telling.
Don't walk barefoot on the grassy areas as the staff snort and spit on it a lot.
Don't expect anyone to help you with your cases when you leave. We had to load ours up ourselves and no-one said goodbye.

ROOMS AND FACILITIES
Our room was the most expensive (not including the suite) and it was called the Anjung Room (villa). The room is OK but boring and lacks a little charm. There is no sofa or armchairs to sit in although there is a huge and unnecessary desk to work at! The room is also very dusty. Plants have a reasonable layer of dust on them and the resort has chosen to install wooden venetian blinds (which were broken in some cases and couldn't be raised thus blocking the view to the sea). The problem with these blinds is they attract huge amounts of dust and if not cleaned regularly look very dirty. Our blinds had a thick layer of dust on them all the time we were there. On our first full day no-one came to clean our room and we had to ring housekeeping to ask them to do it, which they did.

Biggest complaint is there are no sun beds with the room which is misleading as the resort's promotional material clearly shows sun beds outside the villa on the grassy area by the balcony/terrace. If they gave these rooms sunbeds it would significantly reduce the pressure for beds on the beach. People expect sunbeds when paying nearly £300 per night. Instead all we had were two chairs and an uncomfortable daybed in the shade for one person.
We noticed that the top of the range villa, The Anjung Suite (which costs a huge amount per night) also has no sunbeds and despite it facing the beach you cannot walk from it on to the beach. Instead you have to walk around the edge of the villa which must be annoying if you want to just pop back. The balcony is literally one meter from the sand so it is baffling why they can't just put steps down to the beach. Again emblematic of the resort's short-sightedness.

The sunbed provision in the whole resort is very poor. People put their things on them the night before on the raised area before the beach and the beach itself. Many people went without beds for the day. On one occasion other people had removed pillows and cushions from our bed in the morning when we had popped back to the villa to get some sun lotion. In many cases although the sunbeds had been commandeered the night before or very early in the morning people did not turn up to use them until midday. In a few cases beds had been commandeered by having books, t-shirts or flip-flops placed on them but were never used all day which is extremely selfish and wasteful. Some families had commandeered beds by the pool AND on the beach and were moving between them during the day so they had the best of both worlds. We spoke to one couple at breakfast who had been at the resort for two weeks and only managed to get on the sunbeds on the beach once! On the final day we spotted a sunbed for the first time that had not been commandeered. We were on our way to breakfast so left our stuff on it. Ate breakfast super-quick and went back to beds 15-20mins later. Our stuff had been removed by other guests and dumped 20 metres up the path. This place is just wrong and the small positive features do not come close to making up for it. If you're here for 4 days my advice is to get yourself down Primark and buy 20 cheap vests or t-shirts and every day leave one piece of clothing on 5 beds. Then you might get one and the ensuing chaos will force the management to do something about it. That is not a joke but a reasoned solution to the problem. This competitive zeal seriously harms the supposed relaxed purpose of a holiday such as you'd expect in a resort like Tanjong Jara. It is like fighting for a seat on a train in commuter-time and not what is expected on holiday. The only redeeming factor is they have an adult pool area which allows couples to be somewhere a little more quiet but most of us would not want to sit by a pool if you have the South China Sea next to you!

MEALS AND RESTAURANTS
There are two restaurants. One the staff call the Asian restaurant the other they call the Western restaurant. Being in Malaysia we thought the Asian restaurant would be best /more authentic. On our first evening meal, we were told that the Western restaurant was full and we'd have to eat in the Asian restaurant but still had to book a table. They told us the earliest we could book a table for was 8.30pm. We had to push to get a table for 7.30pm as we'd been traveling all day and had missed lunch. When we got there there were plenty of seats so not full at all. We asked to sit at a table by the window and were told the one next to the entrance and cash-till was the one with our name tag on it so we had to sit there. At no point did anyone sit at the table by the window so we could have had it. Meals are designed for families so you buy a meal for 2 meaning couples have to eat the same thing or buy twice as much as they need at twice the cost. You buy starters by the item but they are tiny so buy many if you plan on having a sensible stater. All food was served in or on cold plates so the food went cold very quickly. The food was tasty though. You have to ask several times for coffees and wines. The wine always arrived after the food despite many requests. Wine is very expensive and comes in small measures. At one point a family next to us were trying to get the bill, then they were asked if they could vacate the table as other guests were waiting. The lady at the table walked off very irritated as they were trying to leave but couldn't get their bill and yet were still asked to go. This seems typical of the service despite it being friendly it is not often competent or joined up. We were asked for our main course orders after we had eaten our main course, as an example. On one of the nights it was a buffet-dinner in the Asia restaurant with all the competitive nonsense that comes with that. It cost a staggering £30 ($45) per person with service and tax on top and all this without drinks. A couple each having a glass of wine and a coffee plus the service and tax would pay £90 ($135) and a family of four nearly twice that. All for a buffet!!!

It took us a few nights to get a table at the western restaurant which we didn't want but had given up on the Asian one. This restaurant is really nice and the food excellent. It is better for couples although children are also in there too. The prices are very high. We had two mains and two desserts and only one glass of wine as my wife had water and it cost £70 ($105) and we did not order expensive dishes. You could easily spend £100 per night per couple here. What was annoying was that we had not been told about the nature of this restaurant, it was just described as the "Western restaurant" which put us off. Had we known it would be good we would have tried it sooner. The staff did not give us the information.

Breakfast - Get there early. When we arrived at 9.30am it was like a shopping mall food hall. Very busy, competitive and chaotic. It was better when we arrived before 8.00am. Even so we still waited ages for coffee which was usually cold. When a waiter asked if I wanted a refill, on seeing it was a fresh pot I said "yes please" and his mobile phone rang in that moment and he literally ran off without saying a word, looking at me, or giving me the coffee! Eventually he did come back but it was all a little emblematic of the service on display at breakfast. Food was reasonable for buffet breakfast but nothing out of the ordinary.

Wifi is only available in the resort lobby but a signal does stretch to the dining room. It is very weak though and as a result the dining hall is full of adults catching up on internet activity and not talking to each other, further destroying any ambience. Allowing wifi throughout the resort would prevent the dining hall being like an Internet cafe where no-one talks!

POSITIVE POINTS ABOUT THE RESORT
Food is tasty.
The pool areas are also good if you can get a sunbed!
The sunbeds on the beach are good if you can get one! Good luck!
The sea is shallow and easy to swim in although there is a bit of litter around.
Staff bring you chilled water all day when it's hot.
Lots of activities are available - good for families.

Room Tip: Don't pay for Anjung Room as it gives NOTHING extra for the cost. Go for Serambi or Bambung but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlobalZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your helpful and constructive review. It is always disappointing to read that our services did not meet our guests' expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings and inconvenience you encountered. Reviews and feedback are essential to develop services, facilities and products. I have reviewed your comments with the team to construct remedial actions to avoid recurrences:-
1. We will be focusing on our room cleanliness and maintenance.
2. We will be addressing service levels and consistency in the restaurants.
3. We have procured additional sun beds to cope with the high season but we have faced some unavoidable delays with the delivery as these are not sourced locally. Rest assured this will no longer be an issue and will be resolved in the coming weeks.
4. We will be more stringent in enforcing reservations during the high season.
5. Wi-fi is available throughout the resort via transceiver for a nominal fee.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and thank you very much for sharing this constructive review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Tanjong Jara Resort in the future.


Sincerely,


Kevin Eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is no doubt a good resort but the price just does not justify what you get. I would recommend this place only to wealthy friends whom have not been exposed to the Malay culture. If you are somewhat familiar with the Malay culture, perhaps you are better off vacationing somewhere else with that amount of money you pay for the room.

My room was a good size but something needs to be done for the floor as it was sandy and sticky. I had to wear slippers in the room the whole time. I loved the luxurious bathroom and the toiletries provided. If you love sunbathing and swimming, they have 2 great pools; one is more secluded and small compared to the other.

The nearby town is a sleepy place with nothing to do. We spent most of the time in and around the resort. We strolled along the beach in the morning and evening. I loved that it was so well maintained. There are beach beds provided too which was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Unmistakably Malay Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing this review. Your feedback on the floor is very much appreciated and we will look into this immediately. We hope to be able to receive you back here again at Tanjong Jara Resort in the near future.


Regards,


Kevin Eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first stop on our honeymoon around Malaysia in June. After a long trip we were delighted to arrive at Tanjong Jara and we got a warm welcome from Caroline. We stayed in a Bumbung Room. Where do I start! The beach was quiet and beautiful. The restaurants the Nelayan and Di Atas Sungei were great and the staff were so accommodating and helpful. Chef Ann is amazing and we ate in Di Atas Sungei every night of our 5 night stay. We went on the nature walk with Capt Mokh and we also went turtle watching. The haze from the fires in Sumatra was happening for part of our stay so we decided not to go snorkelling but to wait until we got to Borneo. I would definitely recommend snorkelling if you can during your stay at Tanjong Jara. What really makes this place is the staff, they are amazing and so friendly. We can't praise enough the standard of service that we received while we were there. Special thanks to Amira, Shukrie and Caroline. Also I'm so sorry that I can't remember his name but a man from the Nelayan who taught me some Bahasa and looked after my husband when he wasn't feeling well. There are two pools, we used the one by The Nelayan. The spa treatments are wonderful and I highly recommend you go to it if staying there. We had couples treatments and they were perfect for getting us to relax and get into honeymoon mode. The happy hour from 5-8 at Teretai Terrace is great. We had a fantastic private dinner on the beach, the food was superb and Amira looked after us all night. There was an electrical storm during dinner and it was amazing to see the sky lighting up, we were very lucky that the rain held off and we could have our dinner out on the beach. It was one of the highlights of our trip! There is wildlife everywhere, monkeys, snakes and lizards. We loved looking out and spotting the different monkeys especially! I was a bit worried about the mosquitoes when we first arrived but as long as you remember to put on repellent you'll be fine. Thanks to everyone at Tanjong Jara for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladdict041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Pangkor Laut Resort!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for finding the time to share your experience here. I am very happy to note that the team made your honeymoon memorable. We hope you will return to spend your anniversary with us.


Regards,


Kevin Eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband booked this resort, as he wanted to have undivided attention from me. We spend 3 nites and thought we would have loved to stay longer. First impression upon arrival was the quietness, away from the road and secluded. Just what we were looking for. The staffs were friendly and checking in was also fast. We were shown to our room. Such a wonderful ambience.... We were pretty lucky as well as that afternoon, the hotel organised a cultural gathering for the hotel guests. There were traditional dishes and snacks, games that were played during older days, batik painting.....

The room was enormous!!!!!! We were pleasantly surprise and everything in there was all we could ask for or even more. Food was good too. One food, hotel guests should try is Nasi Dagang. It's rice cooked in a banana leaf, and to be eaten with side dishes. yyuummmsss...

Long stretch of white sand awaits us. One can simply walk along the beach and just enjoy the breeze and nature.

Beautiful place for couples, from newly weds to celebrating your 60th anniversary. Unfortunately, I would not advise families to stay at the resort as there isnt much happening for children - my personal opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraSkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for finding the time to share this review. We hope you will be returning to Tanjong Jara Resort soon for more quality time with your husband.


Regards,


Kevin Eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
12.5 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
0.0 mi away
Rimba Hotel
Rimba Hotel
#7 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
18 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Rumbia Resort Paka
Rumbia Resort Paka
#1 of 2 in Paka
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#3 of 10 in Dungun
1 reviews
5.8 mi away
Semarak Beach Inn
Semarak Beach Inn
#3 of 7 in Dungun
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjong Jara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjong Jara Resort

Property: Tanjong Jara Resort
Address: Batu 8 | Off Jalan Dungun, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjong Jara Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronted by palm fringed, emerald seas, Tanjong Jara Resort is a sanctuary of luxury and well-being steeped in the unmistakable grace of age-old Malay traditions. Here, in the comfort of a room furnished in local timber and rich fabrics, guests are lulled by the sighs of waves and the warm tropical breeze. The award-winning architecture of this resort reflects the elegance and grandeur of 17th century Malay palaces, offering an authentic taste of the region’s spirit and an enduring embodiment of gentle Malay arts and hospitality. Seamlessly integrated with the resort is the Spa Village, dedicated to combining the therapeutic properties of natural local ingredients and the innate healing practices of the area, providing a special, restorative experience. Guests can choose to experience an eco-adventure river cruise, explore teeming coral reefs or browse in a night market. Whatever the activity, every breath is pure refreshment, a relaxation of the soul, a pure journey of revival. In Malay we call this Sucimurni, in Malaysia it is Tanjong Jara Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tanjong Jara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjong Jara Hotel Dungun
Tanjong Jara Dungun
Tanjong Jara Resort Dungun, Terengganu, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing