We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanjong Jara Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Booked at first for 4 days 3 nights but fell in love with the place added another 3 days two nights. Paradise!!!!We love this place too coz the staff where superb from check in till check out they made us feel welcome and at home. The restaurants Nelayan and Diatas Sungai was indeed very good and delicious. Special thanks to Chef Ann...!!! we had a superb family holiday...

Room Tip: Make sure you ask the to provide you with rooms in the middle of the property as the resort is rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeto, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Cedric

It is always with pleasure to read our guest reviews, most specially when they had such a wonderful stay. Chef Ann sends her regards.


Sincerely


Peter Neto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is our 4th trip to a YTL Resort. So obviously we have high expectations after our wonderful experience at their top notch resorts at Pangkor and Cameron Highlands.

What we loved about this resort:
1. Service was excellent. Every single staff were so passionate about making our stay an experience to cherish. We have to single out two particular F&B staff, Hamdan & Amira, for their outstanding performance.
2. Food was generally great typical of a YTL resort. We loved the no menu concept for dinner and depended on the Chef's recommendations instead. We were however less impressed with their steamboat which we opted for dinner the 2nd night. The steamboat selection was too basic and we had expected more fresh seafood.
3. We were given a complimentary upgrade from Bumbung to Serambi category. Very thoughtful of the resort as we were were traveling with our 3 month's old baby. However, the guests on top of us (Bumbung category) traveled with their young kids and they were running around their room at 11.30pm and it was not sound proof! We reported this to their staff and I suppose some action was taken as the following night it was all peaceful.
4. The Serambi room was well appointed, spacious and very comfortable.
5. The kampung life experience held at the resort every Saturday is a good way for the guests to mingle around with each other apart from a chance of tasting local delicacies like keropok lekor, cucur udang and apam balik. And not to mention the fresh coconut plucked by the resident monkey Jara :).
6. The beach was generally clean. But there was an oil spill a few days before our arrival and unfortunately some spots at the beach was affected. I accidentally stepped on one.
This resort is still one standard above all other resorts at East Coast of Malaysia. A must try if you have the means. I will definitely be coming back again.

Room Tip: Serambi rooms are located on the ground floor but if you have a noisy neighbor upstairs, you might n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danaliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeto, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear guest

Greetings from Tanjong Jara Resort!

Thank you for the glowing review following your recent stay at our property in particular for the service, food and lay out of the guest rooms. We hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy the Resort again in the near future.


Warm regards


Peter Neto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We took the 3D2N package inclusive of food & it was a luxury n relax trip for new year celebration. We took a flight from Subang to Kuala Terengganu, then arranged a pick up from the resotr.We were glad that we asked for the transport arrangement as it was quite a distance from the Kuala Terenganu airport to the resort.

Room & food was great. Nice pool & loverly sandy beach.

Except :

(1) Reading room with Wii playstation for kids but the games CD was not well maintain.

(2) Some pathway to room are flooded.
As it was raining season when we visit the resort, we have too dip our feet into the mud water in order to go back to our room. There should be some work done to fix this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BlingMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeto, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your review of Tanjong Jara Resort following a stay in December. I enjoy reading you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the feedback in relation to the games room and the flooded paths. Since your visit we have replaced the video games console and need to mention that fortunately the heavier monsoon rains were only felt during the week of Christmas and the weather remained rather dry for most of January and part of February.


Kind regards


Peter Neto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 and found the resort to be absolutely amazing. It was, admittedly, offpeak season so there were only 7 couples in the entire resort at the time of our stay so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. But the staff were outstanding. All staff from groundkeepers to front desk were wonderfully friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble.

The reception area has pools full of fish and turtles and if you are interested, the staff are more than happy to let you hand feed them. The grounds are beautiful and well laid out. There are 2 pools, both with poolside bars. One is a deep (3m) adults only pool and one is a larger shallower pool suitable for kids. Both are gorgeous and the bar staff are wonderful, keeping you topped up with iced water without even needing to ask.

The rooms are large and well furnished, with magnificent bathrooms - a huge rain shower and deep bath. It was my birthday during the stay and when we got back from dinner housekeeping had created a very cute floral display on the bed, with a Happy Birthday pillow and had poured a flower bath for me in the room - totally unexpected but very much appreciated. Their attention to detail for their guests is magnificent.

There is a huge range of daily activities for those interested, even in off-season with hardly any guests they still offered a very large range of activities.

Swimming in the ocean was off-limits during our trip as it was monsoon season and the rip is dangerous but it would be wonderful over the summer. The only downside is that a lot of rubbish washes onto the beach from the South China Sea which does detract a bit from the beauty.

The 2 restaurants serve lovely fresh food. Definitely recommend the all-inclusive package which covers all meals. One restaurant does not have a menu - rather, the chef will come out and personally chat to you to see what you like and then create a meal just for you - absolutely magnificent and the chef is the most gorgeous friendly outgoing woman. All meals were superb.

The spa is a definite highlight - the treatments are on the expensive side but are just perfect, and the spa menu will have you drooling in anticipation.

Well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kerry154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeto, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you so much for your recommendation of our Tanjong Jara Resort following a visit a couple of weeks ago. In particular, thank you for highlighting the special features you enjoyed such as the Restaurants, Spa Village, the activities and feeding the fish and turtles in the ponds. I appreciate as well your understanding that some of the unsightly rubbish wish washes up on the beach at particular times during the rainy season. We do our best to collect the refuse throughout the day and as we near the end of the season, the beach will in the next week or two start looking pristine as it normally does throughout the year. Do let us know if we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.


Sincerely


Peter Neto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is very good. Rooms good, bathroom good, the restaurant very good (and we are fussy eaters, no meat/fis/eggs/milk - nonetheless, they provided excellent food and varied food over the 3 days we were there). The swimming pool area was great and definitely the thing for our daughter (7 yrs old).

The star of the show, though, is the BEACH. It is stunning, a true paradise. Crystal blue & clean sea, golden sand, palm trees, hardly anyone around. Bliss.

I'd recommend it and I will definitely return there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vertigo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeto, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you so much for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We pride ourselves in being child-friendly and I am pleased your 7 year old enjoyed the kids pool, the vast open spaces and leisure areas of the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again.


Kind regards


Peter Neto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

this place is beautiful, where do i start its all amazing the grounds the buildings the views the accomodation and most of all the people are wonderful and very polite and happy i can understand why living here in such paradise. The lovely golden beach is uncrowded the pictures are exactly as shown on the net, unfortunatly it rained the whole time we were there so we decided to go back to kuala lumper for the remaining of our stay with the help of guest liaison manager Danilo Quagliozzi who made it all possible, he was extremely helpful a very nice person thank you once again.
We will defenately go back to this resort in the summer time. Ps this resort does not have a menu but
Anna chef makes up for it she is an amazing person full of life a very jolly lady there is nothing she cannot make for you her dishes are so nice the best, so thank you anna chef.

Room Tip: the bumbung villas are all good but we stayed near to reception so was not far to walk but if you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronniesingh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeto, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you so much for your glowing review after a recent stay with us. Danilo and Chef Ann send their regards and look forward to the opportunity to see you once again in the not so distant future.


Sincerely


Peter Neto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Drove up to Tanjong Jara Resort from Kuantan. It's just north of Dungun in a rural neighbourhood, but it's well signposted along the road so had no difficulty finding the place though the GPS could not really pinpoint the resort. There is free parking available at the resort.

We got the Bumbang room which was located on the 2nd floor. Though this was the lowest room category, the rooms are very spacious and well appointed in contemporary Malay design. I love how they furnished the room with vases and lamps to make it more suited with the theme. Bathroom was very spacious with separate bathtub and rain shower. It was a luxurious experience!

The resort grounds are large, with lush vegetation. There are 2 swimming pools, one seem geared towards adults while the another is great for kids - large area and just by the beach. Beach is not one of the best, but the sand is soft and water is clear and clean! Very tranquil - not many people and it's perfect for a great relaxed getaway. One thing though, there are historic artifacts on display on the resort grounds subject to weathering.. shouldn't it be better preserved?

Checked out Nelayan for dinner, but it was raining and the al fresco dining area was wet and the restaurant had no more space indoors, so we went ahead to Di Sungei Atas Sungei. This is one popular restaurant and we saw locals driving in to eat. We were informed that the place was fully booked, but there were empty seats and eventually, they gave us one of the tables. Lesson learnt: do advance reservations! Food was good by the way, but quite pricey!

It was a relaxing getaway, shame it was only for 1 night. Would definitely like to return again to this paradise for a longer period next time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drunk-on-gin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeto, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us at Tanjong Jara Resort. We strive to be 'one of the best Resorts in Malaysia' and are very happy you enjoyed our Unmistakable Malay approach in looking after our guests.

If your travels bring you to this part of Malaysia in the near future please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance with the booking.


Kind regards


Peter Neto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
12.5 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
6.5 mi away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
59 reviews
0 mi away
Rumbia Resort Paka
Rumbia Resort Paka
#1 of 2 in Paka
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#1 of 10 in Dungun
2 reviews
5.3 mi away
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
#5 of 10 in Dungun
11 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riverbank 101 Dungun
Riverbank 101 Dungun
#2 of 7 in Dungun
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjong Jara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjong Jara Resort

Address: Batu 8 | Off Jalan Dungun, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Price Range: $144 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjong Jara Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronted by palm fringed, emerald seas, Tanjong Jara Resort is a sanctuary of luxury and well-being steeped in the unmistakable grace of age-old Malay traditions. Here, in the comfort of a room furnished in local timber and rich fabrics, guests are lulled by the sighs of waves and the warm tropical breeze. The award-winning architecture of this resort reflects the elegance and grandeur of 17th century Malay palaces, offering an authentic taste of the region’s spirit and an enduring embodiment of gentle Malay arts and hospitality. Seamlessly integrated with the resort is the Spa Village, dedicated to combining the therapeutic properties of natural local ingredients and the innate healing practices of the area, providing a special, restorative experience. Guests can choose to experience an eco-adventure river cruise, explore teeming coral reefs or browse in a night market. Whatever the activity, every breath is pure refreshment, a relaxation of the soul, a pure journey of revival. In Malay we call this Sucimurni, in Malaysia it is Tanjong Jara Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Tanjong Jara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjong Jara Hotel Dungun
Tanjong Jara Dungun
Tanjong Jara Resort Dungun, Terengganu, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing