We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple restaurant”
Review of Wee Seafood

Wee Seafood
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Dungun
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“simple restaurant”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had dinner twice at this restaurant during our stay at Tanjong Jara Resort during the school holidays. They serve simple Chinese food with fresh seafood varieties. Upon reading the reviews, we decided to go for the Jumbo butter prawns and sizzling tofu among other dishes. We were not disappointed. The service is fast even with a busy crowd and big groups. Price wise, it is very reasonable and it is cheap compared to the hefty price tag at TJR and it is a good restaurant to explore outside the resort.
My only complaint is that the dishes are a little heavy on MSG… but otherwise it is great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miki122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    16
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mouth-watering Chinese food at an affordable price”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a very simple, no-frills, family run restaurant. They serve amazingly tasty Chinese food which is by the way halal. We had a wide variety of (very fresh) seafood dishes; some were plainly unique (and tasty) whereas the regular dishes were simply delicious. After having eaten so much, we were pleasantly surprised that we were charged 'the local rates', and not 'tourist rates'. This restaurant is a very short distance from Tanjong Jara resort where we stayed, and the restaurant kind of became our 'in-house' restaurant :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nirmala_BhooPathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in humble settings”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Possibly the nearest restaurant to Tanjong Jara and very well worth a visit if you want a change from the usual fare at the resort. Have tried many dishes and they were all good. The best one that sticks in my head is their butter prawns. Amazing sauce and fresh fish makes it an instant hit on our taste buds. It's easy to reach from Tanjong Jara and takes about 15-20 mins on foot.

The settings are almost cafeteria-like and don't expect posh settings and if you must absolutely have a clean setting, this place is not it. This place is all about the food and is quite light on the wallet as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jbeeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food good service”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The restaurant is clean and welcoming. Our order arrived quickly as we came early before the crowd. The giant prawns was cooked perfectly, fried fish very tasty, calamari and veges were excellent. For two of us, with drinks our meal cost less than RM80. The next day we had fried noodles, beef hot plate and a vege and that came to RM24. Very cheap and good! The place is always busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maclinksgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average average”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant because of the review ! However I think this restaurant is just average. yes maybe nearer to tanjung jara and very convenient however just a few minutes away you can reach dungun town to get better foods. We ordered 2 fishes, one is steam and one is fried but the freshness and the qualify of the cooking didn't not meet our expectation. We love seafoods and had been eating in so many Chinese seafood restaurant however this restaurant is quite a disappointment !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mimidjuliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wee Seafood also viewed

Dungun, Dungun District
Dungun, Dungun District
 
Dungun, Dungun District
Dungun, Dungun District
 
Dungun, Dungun District
Dungun, Dungun District
 

Been to Wee Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing