We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Perhentian Islands
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
173
93
25
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
93
25
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small island long beach kota bharu coral bay shark point crystal clear water ombak resort romantic beach black tip sharks water taxi beautiful corals takes about mins seafood se asia paradise on earth feed the fish sting ray
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 308 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

The perhentian islands are really beautiful. The water is incredibly clear and the long beach on the small island is very nice.
There are a few "cheap" hostels like the matahari (90 MYR/night for the cheapest 2 bed room) but it's the accomodation is old and not really nice, but it works I guess because the alternatives are very pricey resorts all around (pricey in comparison to "normal" malayan prices). Behind and under these huts at the long bay are huge piles of garbage.
For the food you should go to EWANS in the middle of the way from long beach to coral beach, it's less expensive than on the beach and better!

Snorkeling or diving is a must, but some points (like turtle point) are really too crowded.

Take care at the jetti if you're coming from the night busses. If you check around the jetti at around 8 a.m. (it's a short walk from the bus station to the jetti, max. 10 min) you can get a round-trip ticket to the islands and back from 50 MYR. You also have to pay 30MYR tax (since January 2017).
When we got off the nightbus there were two guys who pestered us about a ferry at 7 a.m. for which we should pay one way 70 MYR but we would avoid the tax. They knew we didn't knew the prices at this moment. Don't let them pressure you.

Date of experience: September 2017
4  Thank Siggert92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

ive been waiting to travel to this island. i would have to be better but no. the hotel is overpriced, the food is not that good either. the only good part of this place is to go snorkeling and diving.

i took flight from klia2 to kota bharu for only 1 hour. the airport is small and very basic. if yall looking for reasonable taxi you can contact this pakcik, 0139064503. i recomand this pakcik because he gives us ride not more than rm50 return. he is very friendly and nice. he also take us to buy a boat ticket for only rm55.

Date of experience: September 2017
11  Thank Ct_siti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

Truly amazing beaches. The water was so crystal clear and diving fee was very cheap. However do not expect much on the coral underneath water but it is the must of visiting this island. You will be also taken to the turtle bay which turtle seems to be tamed and feed. The best part of visiting this island when traveling back and forth on the small jet boat from Kuala Besut port - Perhentian. Lastly, do not forget to book the hotel in advance for your own advantage and do not expect much on the cabin hostel or lodge.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank dannytrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

It's a relaxed place to stay, nice beach (not so much shade), but for your own comfort: please do book your stay in advance! We could only book 1 night in advance (Coral beach), the rest was already occupied. However, we heard you don't need to book accommodation in advance, that a lot of hotels on perhentian Kecil don't work with reservations, so we weren't too worried. But, finding a place to stay turned out to be a challenge! We managed, but we saw a lot of people looking for a place to stay... walking up and down the beach with heavy backpacks and frustrated faces. So in july and august, please do book in advance!! There are a few very basic chalets that don't work with reservations, but the more comfortable chalets (the ones with a door between your bathroom and sleeping room, for example) do work with reservations.

Date of experience: August 2017
5  Thank 64reiziger2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

One of the highlight of our travels around Malaysia with wonderfully clear waters to snorkel in! The two islands, which are reached by ferry, are very different. We stayed on the small island, visiting different beaches on both islands, via the numerous water taxis. Lovely to swim off a beach and have an abundance of sea life. We also took a short snorkelling boat trip with one of the tiny companies which turned out to be excellent - some of the larger tours we saw had crowded boats.
A variety of accommodation, beaches and facilities to suit everyone on the two islands.

Date of experience: July 2017
6  Thank Summer1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews