We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't dare wash my hair !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summit Hotel Subang USJ
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Reviewed March 3, 2012

First contact was with the front desk staff when I checked in almost about midnight. Staff was impersonal, lacking in courtesy, not helpful with my requests and seem like she had just woken up to served me. Experience with room was bad as the hot water from the shower was weak and inconsistent, I didn't dare wash my hair. Checked out next day because had to go to Johor. Checked in again the day after and had my nightmare. Used the toilet and after flushing, water could not stop filling up and overflowed onto the toilet floor. Requested for maintenance. After dinner, I did big business and OMG I could not flush because toilet was choked and overflowed slightly. Staff changed me to another room. OK but aircon was noisy. Next day realised that my belt was missing and requested staff to check in the first room. Did not get back to me until on the fourth attempt I was told that he had just been informed that they did not find any belt. Internet was ridiculously expensive and intermittent. I have stayed in this hotel about 4 or 5 times, booked by clients, and I really DO NOT WISH TO STAY HERE ANYMORE. I give up !!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ng K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 170 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

Another reasonable stay at this hotel booked via it's website. Stayed 2 nights.

Check-in takes forever. The room I had was fine, comfortable and everything worked. Shower was good with plenty of hot water. Decent set of shampoo, etc. if that means something to you.

It seems the rooms have been redecorated as they are in good decor order (or at least my last two rooms have been). There were some stains/smudges on the sheets but they were freshly cleaned so I just used them. The room and hotel was clean.

Points to note:

1. Since my last visit the Thai restaurant just outside the hotel has closed;
2. There is a new local style eating place right in front of the hotel which does a decent and cheap plate of noodles;
3. The taxi situation (as others have indicated is a nightmare. If there is a taxi available, they'll rip you off. They know that you have no option. We were charged two different rates for the same trip on two different days - both rates were way over the top and, btw, don't bother to ask to use the meter - they will just laugh.

Useful tips:

1. Hotel charges way ott for wifi. We use the coffee houses in the adjacent mall. Black Canyon Coffee seems to be the better one with more consistent wifi.

2. Walk over the footbridge in front of the hotel and turn left to reach the local center where there is plenty of decent cheap food.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I am 65 years old and have stayed in hotels of varying standards and stars around the world for over 40 years and I can without a doubt say that the a'la carte "international" food served here is the worst I have ever experienced.
I decided to eat here as my guests and I had a diverse cultural background and I thought there would be good food to suit all tastes...big mistake.
We all were appalled so not just me picking the wrong thing or having a bad day
Nasi Lemak ...with Steamed Rice !!! and poor quality rice at that.
Cold Chips !!!
NO Banana split in a country that just about every house has bananas!
NO Beefburgers
A nice comprehensive menu but many "not available"
Chocolate cake that was very dry and must have been days old !!
I would not advise anyone to eat here whatever your background

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 255103Harry666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed 3 nights for conference. Room is worn out, shower hot water inconsistent, spartan amenities and minimal toietries and service. Food is bad and overpriced. Room rate high despite poor value.

The hotel is situated away from anything a tourist expected and taxi servcie is non existent and taxis refused to take us anywhere without cut throat charges and the hotel cannot help the guest to flag taxi. We were being left with no choice but to accept high price even to go a short distance.

The so call attached shopping mall was not great and have very short and inconvenient opening hours.

We will never stay at the Summit Hotel, especaily for the bad staff service in general.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WChanBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

i will not recommend this hotel if you are finding for a 4 star hotel service... overall it is quite clean, but bad lightings and rooms are not sound proof. Plus point is the room is quite large and there is a shopping mall linked to it, so you can get practically everything from there!! And if you are driving, do validate your parking ticket before you leave to avoid paying extra!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The internet works. Staff broadly unhelpful, noisy room (even on 14th floor) from road and Karaoke, breakfast very missable. Booked by work - Ill request somewhee else next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wondering_Haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed here couple of times, rate was good, Room was spacious but bathroom was really small. Tv was still in a box. Bed was a bit too low. Anyhow, overall was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CitYGal2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Subang Jaya hotels
1.4 mi away
Dorsett Grand Subang
Dorsett Grand Subang
#1 of 11 in Subang Jaya
901 reviews
1.7 mi away
Empire Hotel Subang
Empire Hotel Subang
#2 of 11 in Subang Jaya
466 reviews
2.8 mi away
e.City Hotel @ One City
e.City Hotel @ One City
#8 of 11 in Subang Jaya
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ruemz Hotel
Ruemz Hotel
#4 of 11 in Subang Jaya
137 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
2.4 mi away
Geno Hotel
Geno Hotel
#6 of 11 in Subang Jaya
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Hotel Subang USJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Hotel Subang USJ

Address: Persiaran Kewajipan Usj 1, Subang Jaya 47600, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range: $40 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Hotel Subang USJ 3.5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A strategic location can make a big difference. It certainly did for Summit Hotel Subang USJ. Located in Subang Jaya in Selangor, Malaysia, the hotel is less than 20 minutes away from the major cities of Kuala Lumpur, Petaling Jaya, and Shah Alam. Also within close distance are the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and several tourist attractions. With exceptional event facilities and elegant guestrooms to complement a prime location, we have positioned ourselves at the top of Malaysia's hospitality industry. And if you like it at the top, Summit Hotel Subang Jaya is clearly where you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Summit Hotel Subang USJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Subang Jaya
Summit Subang Jaya
Subang Jaya Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing