We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Subang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unpleasant Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We booked to stay a night here in February 2014. Before reaching the hotel was stuck in the jam for an hour though we were only 1 km away. Traffic around this area is very heavy and road signs are confusing. Checking in wasn't easy, they couldnt trace our booking through the name we booked with, only recognize booking reference unlike other hotels that can retrieve bookings easily. We were allocated a room in the old wing. We were unhappy because water fom the tap was yellowish and room smelt horribly stale. Complained and was advised to upgrade room with payment of extra Rm170, with an extra bed offered (total paid, Rm400+). Water from tap was yellowish too. Had no choice but to accept the offer as we were tired and frustrated. Car park was uncovered and had to run in the rain. Wasn't a very good deal compared to the one room suite that we stayed over at Residences, Mid Valley
area, we paid less than Rm500 in December over there. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    329
    153
    68
    38
See reviews for
153
83
58
426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Checked for a short 2 night stay. It was a reasonable stay - decent room, well-maintained, ok view. Breakfast was acceptable with a reasonable selection - only complaint was the refill of food was very slow.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank qiang73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest @ qiang73

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We appreciate for your time writing the review. We are very glad to hear that you had a good experience during your stay with us; especially on the hotel rooms and its views.

Your comments have been shared to all of our staffs from the Front Office, Housekeeping and F&B departments and we appreciate the thoughts very much. We would also like to apologize for the shortcomings on slow refill of food as this may be due to full of guests at the outlet. Nevertheless, we will improve to provide a better service in the future.

We hope to continuously deliver the warm hospitality of our hotel, food & beverages and services to our guests.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Thank you again.


Kind Regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Recent trip at Terazza Brasserie having dinner. Food was OK. The dishes over cook e,g potatoes.taste terrible. The Chinese herb soup is good. for the other food OK.

I notice only got 3 staff on duty. Trainee Chef at Pasta station, have to repeat my order 3 time and slow. during that time is not a busy period. What if busy period how can the Trainee handle? Well i leave this to the hotel.

Compare before Sheraton was good.

Toilet was smelly and dirty.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adpui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest @ Adpui

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

Appreciate your time writing this review as it is essential for us to improve further on our services. Nevertheless, we apologize for the shortcomings you have experienced during your recent trip to our hotel.

We have highlighted your comments to our F&B and Housekeeping department to take corrective measures especially on the food quality, staff management & toilet cleanliness. As for the food, we will ensure to improve the quality in the future. We also hope you could forgive the incompetency of our trainee as they are still learning to excel in providing the best service.

Your comments have been very helpful for our improvement and it is guest like your good self that will make ourselves strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you

Warm regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice for business trips. Shuttle service to sunway pyramid is convenient but not frequent. Concierge is helpful. Room was much better the 2nd time i stayed however breakfast experience was dissapointing and it has not changed comparing to my first stay which was a few years ago! service was really slow. Its hard to find tables which are cleaned and ready. little things like having no salt and pepper annoyed me especially when its difficult to call the staffs. Breakfast selection 3/10 e.g. sausages are bland and beef rashers are hard. And by the way check your bedsheets they might not be washed! yes because i had dirty bed sheets in both stays! Dirty i mean with blood on them! It was worst the first time. So this time i should really leave my honest review and really hope the management could improve this please!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest @ Bubbame

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We would like to thank you for writing this constructive review as it is very important for us to further improve from guest’s feedback.

Allow me to express our deepest regret on the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay at our hotel especially on the breakfast items and bed sheet. We have highlighted the matter to the respective departments especially from Food & Beverage and Housekeeping to ensure that this problem will never happen again. Hence, we will improve further on providing guests with better quality of services and facilities.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to regain your confidence. Please copy me on your next visit to our hotel, at vincent.pillai@dorsetthotels.com, so that I can personally extend you a warm Dorsett welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again.


Kind Regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Been to this hotel for several times. Awesome place to stay. Ample and free parking. The deluxe rooms are nice with an glass panel of the bathroom. You can watch tv while u take your bath!

Fluffy pillows and bed that can make u sleep like there's no tomorrow. The window have awesome view at night but be careful if u stay lower floors as people upper floor than you can watch what you're doing in your room!

Afternoon tea at the piano lounge are superb! Relax and delicious treats. Location wise as there are few shops that are walking distance. The hospital is just around the corner. Recommended and will always come here for a short gateway!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alisyalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest @ Alisyalin

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

On behalf of Dorsett Grand Subang, allow me to express our gratitude towards your kindness in writing this great review. Your uplifting comment have certainly excites our associates especially from the Front Office, Housekeeping and the F&B department. We are also pleased by your recommendation to Dorsett Grand Subang and we hope to continuously deliver the exclusivity and warmest hospitality to our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Kind regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karnal, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

stayed in the hotel for 2 nights the hotel has got 2 wings checked at the hotel was given a room in old wing which had old room and everything outdated had the word with the manger was upgraded to SUITE room in new wing it was amazing the new renovated room in new building is really great so enjoyed my stay .
breakfast is really good had a good selection .
the bar is really good they play live band everyday at night and its really exciting .
the staff is really helpful and really good the upgraded room comes with free wifi for smooth work experience.
pool side is really good in summers u can have a sun bath and enjoy the pool with some good drinks and snacks the service is really good.
the only downside is hotel is far away from the city need t drive for 40 minutes to reach city which cost 50 ringa ....every time other wise all was excellent.

Room Tip: room in new building specially new renovated suite or deluxe room r excellent room on the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amit g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest @ amit g

We appreciate for your time writing this review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience during your stay with us. We have shared the comments to our departments especially from Front Office and F&B. You thoughts have definitely gives us motivation to delivery great services to our guests.

We understand that KL city is quite a distance but our location is actually ideal in being away from the city’s hustle and bustle. Nonetheless, if you wish to go to a preferred destination or touring around the city, our daily shuttle service is always up and ready. Should you want to use the service, please do not hesitate to contact the Concierge desk and they will be more than happy to assist you.

Thank you very much again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in Dorsett Grand Subang!

Kind regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I read many reviews on rooms and comments on renovated and old wing.
I stayed in superior and I learnt, all superior rooms are old! Only deluxe rooms are renovated. Hence, please choose deluxe room.
Superior room is old as well as its furniture and fittings. Toilet is run down. Water is yellowish and I was apprehensive when I gurgled during brushing.
Bed and pillows are good, though.

Location is not good.
To left is another hotel.
To right is hospital.
Opposite is residential housing.
Need to walk around 5 mins to shops.

Nearest shopping mall is Sunway (around 5mins and taxi fare around RM5).
Next is Subang Parade and Empire (around 10mins and taxi fare around RM10).
Hotel provides free shuttle to both malls but limited frequency. I took hotel taxi and it costed RM25 to Empire (2.5times higher).

I was on biz trip and hotel was company's choice.
If returning trip, I'll go for deluxe, surely.
If for private, I don't prefer to stay as location is big minus.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HildaLim72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest @ HildaLim72,

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We appreciate for the time taken by you writing this review as it is very important for us to make better improvements of our hotel through constructive feedback like yours. Thank you for appreciating out comfortable bed and pillows at the same time.

With regards to the shortcomings you experience during your stay with us, we would like to express our sincere apologies. We have highlighted the matter to the Engineering Department for corrective measures of the pluming and ensure you that this issue will be improvised and assure greater satisfaction for our guests in the future. We are in the midst of upgrading our piping systems and enhancing the superior rooms the meet the expectation of guests like you.

Dorsett Grand Subang takes prides in having quiet surroundings and being close to nature for guest to relax and at the same time enjoy shopping at the Sunway Pyramid and Subang Parade.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to regain your confidence. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you

Kind Regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
0.9 mi away
Empire Hotel Subang
Empire Hotel Subang
#2 of 10 in Subang Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
1.0 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ruemz Hotel
Ruemz Hotel
#3 of 10 in Subang Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Subang

Property: Dorsett Grand Subang
Address: Jalan Ss 12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Grand Subang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, Grand Dorsett Subang offers opulence hotel guest rooms and suites in the city's most upscale entertainment hub, shopping district and tourist attraction. Located just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Low Cost Carrier Terminal and Sepang International Circuit, the hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Dining at Grand Dorsett Subang is an endless pleasurable affair with the vast international and local specialities available. For meeting planners and business travellers, the hotel is well-equipped with a full range of facilities and services to cater to every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Grand Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Subang Jaya
Sheraton Subang Hotel
Subang Jaya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing