We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel with new renovated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Subang
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Reviewed February 10, 2014

stayed in the hotel for 2 nights the hotel has got 2 wings checked at the hotel was given a room in old wing which had old room and everything outdated had the word with the manger was upgraded to SUITE room in new wing it was amazing the new renovated room in new building is really great so enjoyed my stay .
breakfast is really good had a good selection .
the bar is really good they play live band everyday at night and its really exciting .
the staff is really helpful and really good the upgraded room comes with free wifi for smooth work experience.
pool side is really good in summers u can have a sun bath and enjoy the pool with some good drinks and snacks the service is really good.
the only downside is hotel is far away from the city need t drive for 40 minutes to reach city which cost 50 ringa ....every time other wise all was excellent.

Room Tip: room in new building specially new renovated suite or deluxe room r excellent room on the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amit g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest @ amit g

We appreciate for your time writing this review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience during your stay with us. We have shared the comments to our departments especially from Front Office and F&B. You thoughts have definitely gives us motivation to delivery great services to our guests.

We understand that KL city is quite a distance but our location is actually ideal in being away from the city’s hustle and bustle. Nonetheless, if you wish to go to a preferred destination or touring around the city, our daily shuttle service is always up and ready. Should you want to use the service, please do not hesitate to contact the Concierge desk and they will be more than happy to assist you.

Thank you very much again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in Dorsett Grand Subang!

Kind regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 911 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I read many reviews on rooms and comments on renovated and old wing.
I stayed in superior and I learnt, all superior rooms are old! Only deluxe rooms are renovated. Hence, please choose deluxe room.
Superior room is old as well as its furniture and fittings. Toilet is run down. Water is yellowish and I was apprehensive when I gurgled during brushing.
Bed and pillows are good, though.

Location is not good.
To left is another hotel.
To right is hospital.
Opposite is residential housing.
Need to walk around 5 mins to shops.

Nearest shopping mall is Sunway (around 5mins and taxi fare around RM5).
Next is Subang Parade and Empire (around 10mins and taxi fare around RM10).
Hotel provides free shuttle to both malls but limited frequency. I took hotel taxi and it costed RM25 to Empire (2.5times higher).

I was on biz trip and hotel was company's choice.
If returning trip, I'll go for deluxe, surely.
If for private, I don't prefer to stay as location is big minus.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank HildaLim72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest @ HildaLim72,

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We appreciate for the time taken by you writing this review as it is very important for us to make better improvements of our hotel through constructive feedback like yours. Thank you for appreciating out comfortable bed and pillows at the same time.

With regards to the shortcomings you experience during your stay with us, we would like to express our sincere apologies. We have highlighted the matter to the Engineering Department for corrective measures of the pluming and ensure you that this issue will be improvised and assure greater satisfaction for our guests in the future. We are in the midst of upgrading our piping systems and enhancing the superior rooms the meet the expectation of guests like you.

Dorsett Grand Subang takes prides in having quiet surroundings and being close to nature for guest to relax and at the same time enjoy shopping at the Sunway Pyramid and Subang Parade.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to regain your confidence. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you

Kind Regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Felt compelled to write a review on this hotel because the excellent service I received contradicts some previous reviews.
On check in reception staff were courteous and upgraded my room from superior to deluxe. Throughout my stay staff were very friendly and helpful. Poolside service of drinks/lunch was much appreciated.
Rooms were well appointed and clean. Very good choice of breakfast. Wifi worked well in my room, within the restaurant and by the pool.
Some communal areas in need of upgrade but I believe this is in progress.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Elle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest @als282014

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

First and foremost, we thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
We are very delighted to hear your great experience during your stay with us especially on the staff, rooms, breakfast and poolside service.

Your delightful comments have been shared to all of our staffs especially from the Front Office, Housekeeping and F&B departments and we appreciate the thoughts very much. We hope to continuously deliver the warm hospitality of our hotel, food & beverages and services to our guests.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We checked in as newlyweds for a short 2 night stay after a long weekend of wedding celebrations. It was a really enjoyable relaxing stay - beautiful room, well-maintained, great view. Loved the bathroom, which looked new, with glass partition and rain shower. Buffet breakfast was yummy with large selection - only complaint was the pastries were quite dry, but hot food was great. Service was reasonable - staff were occassionally a little unprofessional (talking loudly to each other across the lobby, fooling around when they thought there were no guests) but were generally courteous and helpful. We wished we could've stayed longer - maybe next time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank als282014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest @als282014

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

Allow me to start by congratulating you and husband as newlyweds. Also, we would like to express our humble appreciation for your time writing this review. We are very delighted to hear your great experience during your stay with us especially on the rooms and breakfast. Your overwhelmed feedback have been shared to all our staffs especially from the Front Office, F&B and Housekeeping departments and it gives great pride for them to continuously comfort our guests with warm services.

Further, we apologize for the staffs that had taken their work inappropriately. We are always concern on work ethics and professionalism practice in the hotel and as for this case, we have highlighted the matter to our Front Office department on making improvements for the better image to our guests. We will ensure to keep our professionalism presistent at all times.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Second stay for 2 days,, both times excellent experience.
room was renovated with nice view on the lake, shower had a glass partition to divide bath and living room.
check in was even posssible at 7 am without charge
Had breakfast at the lounge, omelettes were great, nice view and good service

Room Tip: Select room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank juergen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest @ juergen911,

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We would like to say thank you for the effort in writing this great review. We are very glad to hear that you constantly had a great experience during your stay with us; especially on the hotel rooms, views and breakfast. Your delightful comments have been shared to all of our staffs especially from the Front Office, Housekeeping and F&B departments and we appreciate the thoughts very much. We hope to continuously deliver the warm hospitality of our hotel, food & beverages and services to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Thank you again.


Kind Regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My family checked in on December 19 and spent the next day enjoying sunway lagoon. We returned at about 5.30pm to take showers prior to a dinner appoint at 7pm. While showering, the drain starts to choke up and water began to fill the shower area. Then the water would not drain at all and began to fill the bathroom. Called the service hotline and they said they will send someone. However, since we were in a hurry, my wife said "tell them to come after we left". Good idea and I told the service person that they should come and clear the choked drainpipe and clean the bathroom after we have left at 6.30pm. On the way out, I switched on the "clean my room" sign and also dropped by the reception to tell them about the problem in my room. Staff said ok.
When we returned at 11pm, we were shocked to find nothing was done but the bathroom is in a mess with foot prints all over the towels we laid out to soak up the water. I called for duty manager and Thelma appeared. She apologised but said the best she can do is for me to switch to another room. We did the change but at 12 mn and we only got to bed at 2am.
I really do not know why this hotel have any service people at all. Might as well convert to a no frills, budget hotel and do everything DIY style. Paying for a 5 star rate and providing such laid back service is really a big scam! I wonder who rated this hotel and gave it its 5 star rating?
I will never recommend this hotel to anyone and will avoid this hotel at all cost!

Room Tip: Insist on rooms in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kmng2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest @ Kmng2308,

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We appreciate for the time writing this review as it is very important for us to make better improvements of our hotel. We deeply regret on the negative experience you’ve had during you stay. We would like to express our sincere apologies.

We have highlighted the matter to the Engineering Department for corrective measures of the pluming and also to the Housekeeping department to highly improvise the quality of room cleanliness. Also, we apologize on the inconvenience of switching your room as we feel that it’s a need for our guest to stay at a more comfort room.

We ensure you that this issue will be improvised and assure greater satisfaction for our guests in the future.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to regain your confidence. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Please copy me on your next visit to our hotel, at vincent.pillai@dorsetthotels.com, so that I can personally extend you a warm Dorsett welcome.

Thank you

Kind Regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Never ever stay in the old wing. Lousy rooms. Toilet was not clean. Urine still in toilet bowl, when we check in. Bed was old. Everything in the room is so dusty with moldy smell. Upon checking in ask receptionist for extra pillows, waited for 1/2 hour.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LenaYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettGrandSubang, Executive Assistant Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest @ LenaYen,

Greetings from Dorsett Grand Subang!

We deeply regret on the shortcomings you have experienced. We don’t have the intention to have our guest feel discomfort. We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere apologies. The matter has been highlighted to the Housekeeping & Front Office department on highly improving the quality of cleanliness and service.

Adding that, we also have been undergoing renovations on our old wing for better improvements and features. We hope to overcome the process soonest possible as to deliver better qualities especially on our rooms for the comfort of our guest. We ensure you that will constantly improve and retain our warm services.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to regain your confidence. Please copy me on your next visit to our hotel, at vincent.pillai@dorsetthotels.com, so that I can personally extend you a warm Dorsett welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again.


Kind Regards,
Vincent Pillai
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
0.9 mi away
Empire Hotel Subang
Empire Hotel Subang
#2 of 11 in Subang Jaya
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
3.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie
0.8 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 51 in Petaling Jaya
906 reviews
1.4 mi away
Summit Hotel Subang USJ
Summit Hotel Subang USJ
#8 of 11 in Subang Jaya
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Subang

Address: Jalan Ss 12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range: $53 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Grand Subang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, Grand Dorsett Subang offers opulence hotel guest rooms and suites in the city's most upscale entertainment hub, shopping district and tourist attraction. Located just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Low Cost Carrier Terminal and Sepang International Circuit, the hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Dining at Grand Dorsett Subang is an endless pleasurable affair with the vast international and local specialities available. For meeting planners and business travellers, the hotel is well-equipped with a full range of facilities and services to cater to every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorsett Grand Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Subang Jaya
Sheraton Subang Hotel
Subang Jaya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing