We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Subang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times before for business, and i can say that after the rooms have been refinished they are much better. They are very comfortable. Thats where the good things stop.
However the service at this place is very poor. It starts from when you arrive at the hotel. The 3 times i have stayed there, not once has anyone helped to take my bags from the taxi. Each time i have to carry it up the stairs into the lobby. This time someone even watched me do it without offering any help. Service at the breakfast area is very poor. No one seats you when you arrive for breakfast, and if you sit in the middle section you will be lucky to find someone to bring you a coffee.
Im sorry to say, but i have seen 3 star places with better service than the Dorset. Not sure how they can call themselves a 5 star.
If you are a tourist i wouldn't stay here, there is nothing to do within walking distance and you can find something in the city for a similar price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for visiting Dorsett Grand Subang. We are happy to know that you had a comfortable experience at our newly refurbished rooms. However, we apologize for not being able to provide you with the best service during your stay with us. Please be assured that your comment has been brought up to attention and we will definitely work on improving our service. We hope you would give us another chance to regain your confidence and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    336
    157
    69
    40
See reviews for
157
85
60
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I'm a regular traveller to KL, the GD is a great hotel. Service is friendly and staff are very helpful. I'm not sure if it is 5*, however the staff make up for the old hotel. Always get the taxi to use the meter or they'll charge 3 times the price. nice walk around the lake area and across to the seafood restaurant on the far side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gray-Cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Subang as your preferred accomodation. We’re delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your compliments and will strive to improve and retain our warm services. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

check in took longer than 20 mts, we were tired after a night flight, still had to sit in the lobby for long until the front office staff managed to find 2 adjoining rooms. Although the booking was made under the same name requesting for adjoining rooms, the request was overlooked by the staff. I dont think they had rooms assigned to us until we appeared at the front desk
Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Housekeeping staff cleaned the room every morning when we were out for b'fast, we didint have to sit in the room while the staff were cleaning.
Swimming pool and spa were closed for rennovations. My husband was offered to use a pool in a nearby hotel. The pool in the nearby hotel was dirty, towels provided were not fit for use.
the dury manager was kind enough to offer us a more spacious room as a gesture of goodwill to make my husband happy. we were happy with the room we had & having a bigger room would not have compensated for lack of a pool and spa which are must features in a 5* hotel.
Taxi price offered from the hotel for a meter is too high.. always remember to ask for a taxi with a meter. they offered us a taxi for 250 MYR and we managed have the same taxi to drive us with the meter running & paid 154 MYR.
there was a wide spread during breakfast. Food quality was reasonably good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitanjali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Subang as your preffered accomodation. We truly regret overlooking your booking and will assure you that this will never happen again in the future. On the other hand, we’re delighted to know that you enjoyed the food, accomodation and warm service from our associates during your stay with us. Thank you for your kind understanding on the renovation issue; we’re glad to inform you that our new swimming pool and spa will be ready by the end of this month and would like to welcome you and your family again in the future to experience our newly refurbished facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have stayed here 5 times and am always impressed by the service and range of facilities. The executive suites are excellent and large. The Chinese restaurant and main buffet restaurant are very good. The concierge car service is very reliable. The walk/run around the lake is great. The spa (spa and pool currently under renovation) and gym are excellent. Great pity the Japanese restaurant is no more. It is also convenient to Subang airport and to Petaling Jaya and the Sunway Pyramid shopping, spa and water park.

Room Tip: Definitely the executive suites. They are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Subang as your your preferred accommodation.

We’re truly delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We appreciate your compliments and will assure you that we will strive to improve and retain our warm services. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unfortunately, I am not impressed with Dorsett Grand Subang. I chose it because of its 5 * rating and beautiful web picture of its lobby, which shows a bright white based area. But it is not what it appears. The lobby is dull, and dated, even the top ceilings at one corner shows big old stains. It seems all the features show utter aging ... peeled of paints, rubbed wood panels. Sorry to say, many of the staffs are obvious experienced ones, who are not quite polished and equipped with contemporary pleasantries and polished mannerism (but they are nice and matter of fact). Having stayed in other 5 * hotels, I know what are the norms. The corridor carpets and rooms are obviously from the olden days, with signs of repairs and patching up. Even the bathroom tabs are of old designs. My bathtub has terribly slow drainage. The breakfast is very expensive at RM 58, serving basically the foods of a 2 * hotel. All in all it is a comfy hotel with old time feel, but it has got to be spruced up in all departments to merit its 5* rating and prices. Will I stay there if it stays the same ? Definite no.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what its ratings claim to represent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Subang as your preferred accommodation. We truly regret that you were unable to experience the best from us during your stay here. However, we would like to assure you that the points that you have highlighted is being taken seriously and we look forward to improve our service and facilities to cater to our guests’ needs. For your kind information, we're currently in the stage of upgrading the facilities and in our property and hope that you would give us a chance in the future to regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was lucky to get a renovated room. Generally, it met my requirement especially for travellers like us, we need to unwind ie TV and the astro channels which kept me company was "starworld":

The only set back about the property is:
1. the frequent drop off of VPN and also single device which hard for us a business person to juggle between our smartphone when on the move and laptop.
2. the most challenging part - the signal even when connected to lan cablle, I lost count the number of time i have to log in VPN.
3. Inflexibility when ccontacted front desk for late check out due to flight delay. What's an hour makes the difference?
4. lastly, as frequent traveller, I am indeed disappointed with the major changes in the hotel management team who are not as warm and understand as old team

The shocking news to me, spa has been shut down. Steambath shut down and therefore, nothing left for me to enjoy when i need to detress!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Grand Subang as your your preferred accommodation. We sincerely apologize for the poor internet service you’ve experienced during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and would like to assure you that the other issues that you’ve highlighted have also been brought up for our perusal to further improve our service. Should you return to Subang, we hope you would give us another chance to let you experience our warm service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Public areas quite nice, rooms and upper floors are showing wear but nicely appointed. TVs - tube type small and remote didn't work - complained and no fix. No bar soap in the room, complained and no fix, no shower jell but two servings of shampoo - complained and they fixed iron in room broken - complaining doesn't work so didn't bother, wi fi in rooms was weak and slow, complaining wont work so didnt bother Bottom line - was not overly expensive but did not live up to the grand pictures of public area and will find a better place next time

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCURT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Dorsett Grand Subang. We are in receipt of your comments dated 21 February 2013 and we would like to assure you that we are looking into your point highlighted especially in terms efficiency of responding to guests comments and needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
0.9 mi away
Empire Hotel Subang
Empire Hotel Subang
#2 of 10 in Subang Jaya
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
1.0 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#5 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Subang

Property: Dorsett Grand Subang
Address: Jalan Ss 12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Grand Subang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, Grand Dorsett Subang offers opulence hotel guest rooms and suites in the city's most upscale entertainment hub, shopping district and tourist attraction. Located just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Low Cost Carrier Terminal and Sepang International Circuit, the hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Dining at Grand Dorsett Subang is an endless pleasurable affair with the vast international and local specialities available. For meeting planners and business travellers, the hotel is well-equipped with a full range of facilities and services to cater to every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Grand Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Subang Jaya
Sheraton Subang Hotel
Subang Jaya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing