We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but in outer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Subang
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent but in outer”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

First of all its not in main KL, so if you are planning to roam around in KL, this is not the hotel for you. Decent rooms and breakfast but the hotel has actually seen its good days already so looks pretty old.

Rooms can be a bit small, also I didn't find the bed comfortable.
Staff is pleasant and will be ready to help in whatever you need. Has 24 hr shops nearby.

Good part is rooms are very quite but lighting is bad needs improvement

Room Tip: Small rooms and lighting is bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranvijayronny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Grand Dorsett Subang. We are in receipt of your comments dated 31 October 2012. For your kind information, we are in the stage of upgrading our facilities to serve our guests better.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    339
    161
    70
    40
See reviews for
161
86
60
446
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I only had one night at this hotel but no complaints. Check in was quick, the room was clean and comfortable with standard amenities. No opportunities to use any facilities at the hotel. Staff arranged my taxis to my business appointments and to the airport. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyTravellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Grand Dorsett Subang and your comments. It's always nice to hear positive feedback from our guests and it is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights.

The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast.

There is nothing special about this hotel, but it is comfortable.

We stayed here as we wanted to visit Sunway Lagoon with our kids. The hotel provided a complementary shuttle bus to Sunway Lagoon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Grand Dorsett Subang and your comments. It's always nice to hear positive feedback from our guests.
And it is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This used to be Sheraton Hotel and retains the double volume grand lobby. Check in was slow and in my opinion, just too long a wait.

The rooms look worn and I don't think the furniture have been changed since renaming to Grand Dorsett. However, it is clean and as well maintained as can be.

Nothing very memorable and would not immediately come to mind or choose to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmeelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Grand Dorsett Subang. We are in receipt of your comments dated 16 October 2012 and we would like to assure you that we are looking into your point highlighted in terms of check in process which longer than the usual time.

For your kind information, we are in the stage of upgrading our facilities and services including the guest rooms.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

When my flight Japan Airlines got cancelled on October 7, 2012 from KLIA, all the passengers were transfered to Grand Dorsett hotel at 2am. The check in process was quick. The rooms are modern and nice. Bed is comfortable. Pillow is thick/fat. Perhaps you can mix the pillows-one soft, and one thick/hard.
Breakfast was amazing - so many choices. Lunch was delicious - too many to eat.
Shower is good. Staffs were humble and helpful.

This hotel is also nearby to many restaurants, within walking distance.

Overall, I was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarala1jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Grand Dorsett Subang. We are in receipt of your comments dated 12 October 2012 and we would like to assure you that we are looking into your points highlighted in terms of cleanliness level in the room and overall hotel.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Love the hotel and the good customer service. Love the room too, so beautiful, clean and neat.

However, I found it strange that there is no switch for one of the light in the room. It's a 5 feet horizontal light on the wall next to the working table.

Another thing is the air-con switch that I found it a bit difficult to lower the temperature. My partner found it hard to sleep as he love to sleep under cold temperature. It would be great if there is a user manual stick next to the switch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessylian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Grand Dorsett Subang. We are in receipt of your comments dated 10 October 2012 and we would like to assure you that we are looking into your points highlighted on having a manual for controlling the air condition temperature.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The lobby was very nice and the niceness stopped there. Upon entering the room it was dimly lit so it looked okay. But turning the lights on quickly changed my opinion. The bathroom had black mold throughout the entire shower. And the mold was even worse on the walls. The black mold on the wall entering the bedroom was unexpected and scary. I was with a tour group so we dealt with it since we only had a short stay. We did have a lot of fun placing a huge dead cockroach in front if each others door. We saw it lying in the middle of the hallway the first night and when it was still there the next night, we decided to have fun with it. But really, if we played with this large dead bug for two days, why did the cleaning people not see it? Maybe because they were not cleaning. As for our view, it overlooked the garbage. That would have not been so bad if they would have put it in the dumpsters but it was all over. I did not get to the pool or spa so no comment there. Te best thing was the breakfast Buffett.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugeneswary, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Grand Dorsett Subang. We are in receipt of your comments dated 7 October 2012 and we would like to assure you that we are looking into your points highlighted in terms of cleanliness level in the room and overall hotel.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
0.9 mi away
Empire Hotel Subang
Empire Hotel Subang
#2 of 11 in Subang Jaya
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
3.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
620 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Subang

Property: Dorsett Grand Subang
Address: Jalan Ss 12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Grand Subang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, Grand Dorsett Subang offers opulence hotel guest rooms and suites in the city's most upscale entertainment hub, shopping district and tourist attraction. Located just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Low Cost Carrier Terminal and Sepang International Circuit, the hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Dining at Grand Dorsett Subang is an endless pleasurable affair with the vast international and local specialities available. For meeting planners and business travellers, the hotel is well-equipped with a full range of facilities and services to cater to every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dorsett Grand Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Subang Jaya
Sheraton Subang Hotel
Subang Jaya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing