We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but they have maintenance issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Subang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but they have maintenance issues”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. I had a mixed experience due to some maintenance issues.
I actually stayed in two different rooms as only a single was available on the first night then I moved to a King the next.
I stayed on the 16th floor which was the premium level. The rooms are very nice here.
The beds are extremely comfortable, especially for Malaysia. They had ample pillows including feather. The bed also had a topper so it was extremely soft and comfortable.
Mini bar was free, but disappointing as it was only 5 choices of juice or soft drink. No alcohol. The premium level also includes free mini bar and access to a private lounge area.
The bathrooms are a good size as well. When the hot water worked, there was plenty of it, it was regular and had good pressure.
On the first night and day there was no hot water. Unfortunately the hotel did not take a pro-active step about this and warn people etc. Further when I raised the issue at reception they just said yes. No reason was offered or solution provided.
I also found the rooms have an unusual smell which I put down to poor drain maintenance.
And the first room I stayed in the shower drained so slowly I cut my shower short as I was worried it would flood the bathroom.
When I spoke to some locals that have been regulars at the hotel, they said the maintenance has gone down hill. Apparently the last manager was very good but since she had left the hotel was not the same.
Breakfast here is very good. The choices are everything from Indian, arabic, malay, chinese, western. The fruit was fresh and they made eggs, pancakes and waffles to order.
I would definitely stay here again. Great breakfast, good beds and good rooms. I just hope they can address their maintenance issues.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade for the Premium rooms. These are on the upper levels and are better quality. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Grand Dorsett Subang. We are in receipt of your comments dated 27 June 2012 and we would like to assure you that we are looking into your points highlighted and these issues has been addressed within our team for further improvement.
It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ need and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    336
    157
    69
    40
See reviews for
157
85
60
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel was "scrapped" by Sheraton and sold off to Dorset. When you visit you'll know why. Old rooms with lack of maintenance and upkeeping. Strong mold smell in room, even airing didn't help. No wifi or internet! Black mold in bathroom and worn off and dirty carpet. Staff reception average, had to struggle to get a non-smoking room. Breakfast is ok, the rest is all negative. Avoid this hotel if you can. Empire hotel is comparatively better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtoholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Grand Dorsett Subang. We are in receipt of your comments dated 24 June 2012 and we would like to assure you that we are looking into your points highlighted and these issues has been addressed within our team for further improvement.

For your kind information, we have refurbished some of our rooms and the remaining rooms are in process of refurbishment.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel was formerly known as Sheraton Subang and yes it has had its hey days. We stayed in the deluxe room , booked 4 rooms for 3 nights and took the connecting room. The room itself is comfortable with good fittings . We had good night sleep. Stayed in many hotels but I must say they have the best hairdryer!
The downside is the bathroom is rather old and the toilet bowl is not cleaned properly. (could see the stain at the side of the rim)The house keeping is not so thorough cause we spilled coffee powder on the tray and it remained there for next 4 days.
Other than that this place is not bad at all, quiet and kids enjoyed the pool .Oh yes and breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracefulgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Grand Dorsett Subang. We are in receipt of your comments dated 19 June 2012 and we would like to assure you that we are looking into your points highlighted and these issues has been addressed within our team for further improvement.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ need and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

went there over the weekend fri-sat. kinda of expensive for being so far out of the city but ok overall. nice pool and great gym. rooms was ok but we stay in the old wing..so jealous of others that had the new wing. food across the street at windmill restaurant wasnt too bad although the restaurant had onekind of smell.
abt 5mins drive from sunway langoon, 15-20mins drive from mid valley and 30 mins drive from the curve..so be prepare to drive.. hv fun!

Room Tip: request for new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Jede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comment dated 13 June 2012. It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ need and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Two weeks ago, my husband and I recently had a one-night stay at the Deluxe Plus Room. We loved the room and it was really comfortable for us, with high-end amenities etc. We enjoyed our short stay there. Furthermore, we're regulars at The Emperor Cantonese Restaurant, we make it a point to visit and have dim sum at least once a month.

But our dining experience last weekend turned out to be a nightmare for us. My husband and I, along with three friends dined at The Emperor Cantonese Restaurant for their dim sum buffet. At the end of the day, my husband and one friend of ours came down with very bad food poisoning that had them purging and vomiting on hourly basis. This condition went on for days that they became dehydrated and had to be put on IV drips for them to slowly recover.

While myself and two other friends were not affected by the food poisoning, we suspected that among the dim sum buffet spread on that day, the desserts were the cause of it as only my husband and my friend had them, and now they're caught with bad food poisoning. It has been four days since our visit. We are greatly disappointed by this happening and have great doubts in returning again as we question the food quality and the level of hygiene that is being maintained there.

I'm afraid this experience has scarred us and made us disregard the past good experiences that we had at your hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sheha_Almahdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Grand Dorsett Subang.

We are indeed disturbed to learn of the food poisoning incident encountered by your husband and his friend on the day that you have dined at the hotel’s Chinese Restaurant. As this has been an isolated incident, we have since carried out our investigation based on your comment received.

Based on our findings, we would like to highlight that the standard procedure for food safety and handling method, ‘longan’ with sea coconut and lychee pudding are being prepared ½ hour before served chilled at the dessert station. This procedure of handling technically should not contaminate the ‘longan’ with sea coconut and lychee ‘pudding’ and is practiced throughout hotels. Pursuant to this, we have also sent some food samples to the laboratory for testing and the results show positive.

As a five star hotel, we would like to assure you that we only deliver and serve our best in terms of quality products and services. Food hygiene and safety remain as our top priority which will not be compromised.

Once again, Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Grand Dorsett Subang again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I had checked in here with my parents for two days in May 2012 during our holiday to Malaysia. This came as a part of the package so we couldnt help the location. Located alomost 16 kms away from the city centre...this hotel charges a 5 star rate but the rooms are very very average...I had booked for a triple sharing and the rooms were tooooo small for a triple sharig with hardly any space to move around. Rather the hotel should not take triple occupancy bookings at all. Also the service was very bad with the staff (concierge, bell boy) very very rude. They were very stingy on providing even three bottles of water for three people staying in the room. The room had very old furniture and upholstery with a very very age - old television.

Not at all value for money or star property!

Room Tip: Don't take the ground floor rooms at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masooma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo K, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Indeed, I have taken note of your recent stay and received your valuable comments. I gather that you did book with a group a package,hnece you were accomodated in one of our superior rooms-which are the old rooms.I'm pleased to inform you that we have newly renovated rooms -de luxe plus rooms- which are very modern and very cosmopolitain. Unfortunatly during your stay these rooms were all occupied.I do agree with you that the concierge and bell boys are the flront-liners and as such should be pleasant and courteous and provide the charming Malaysian service.Let me assure you that we will address this with the department.
With a triple occupnacy we shall ensure that three bottles of mineral water are also provided.
Yes, the room furniture is dated,the good news is that we will start to renovate these rooms by january 2013. Once again, thnak you for your valuable commnents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I spent almost a week at the Grand Dorsett on a business trip and I'm very glad my company's travel agent found it. The staff were helpful and friendly right from the start and the 16th floor room was peaceful and comfortable, with all the facilities you'd expect.

I was particularly impressed with the extra services that came with a "premier" room: free laundry and internet, breakfast and evening drinks in the premier lounge and a free (non-alcoholic) mini bar. The breakfast in the lounge was especially good, with fruit juices and eggs prepared to order and a wide selection of hot and cold dishes in the buffet.

Getting into Kuala Lumpur is not difficult, the hotel runs a shuttle bus to the nearby commuter station several times a day. It's also possible to walk to and from the station as well as nearby shopping malls and restaurants.

My only complaint was that the airconditioning was a little over-enthusiastic and the staff didn't seem to be able to raise the temperature.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views of park next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrangeWindies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo K, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Subang, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
I was very pleased to read your recent stay at our hotel was both pleasant and enjoyable.
As you are aware the premier club floor rooms are are all nelwy renovated and have a very modern and cosmpolitain feel.It is good to hear that you enjoyed the club floor services ie breakfast,internet, evening cocktails and non alcoholic mini bar. Yes, the breakfast selction does provide a full compliment of yummy dishes,fresh bread and deliciously prepared eggs.
I had a word with the Chief engineer to train/brief all our housekeeping associates on "how to operate the thermos control switch. Incidently, we are increasing our shuttle service frequency to four times a day for sunway,empire and commuter station. Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
0.9 mi away
Empire Hotel Subang
Empire Hotel Subang
#2 of 10 in Subang Jaya
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
1.0 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#5 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Subang

Property: Dorsett Grand Subang
Address: Jalan Ss 12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Grand Subang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, Grand Dorsett Subang offers opulence hotel guest rooms and suites in the city's most upscale entertainment hub, shopping district and tourist attraction. Located just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Low Cost Carrier Terminal and Sepang International Circuit, the hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Dining at Grand Dorsett Subang is an endless pleasurable affair with the vast international and local specialities available. For meeting planners and business travellers, the hotel is well-equipped with a full range of facilities and services to cater to every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dorsett Grand Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Subang Jaya
Sheraton Subang Hotel
Subang Jaya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing