We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empire Hotel Subang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was there only for one night and was sharing a suite with a couple of friends, but I must say it exceeded my expectations. The rooms were clean, service is very good, buffet breakfast is satisfactory (the coffee is not the best, but get a cappuccino - it's better). Truth is, lifts are slow, but no biggie. Coffee Bean downstairs and a few other restaurants. Plenty of choices. The also have a gym and a swimming pool, but didn't get to use them.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Silviu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Silviu T
We are glad that we had exceeded your expectations. We do apologise for the slow lifts & are working to resolve this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 446 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is well appointed with comfortable rooms and an excellent buffet breakfast included in the price. There are two malls right there which offer restaurants, coffee bars, groceries etc. Also it is within walking distance of the train station which takes you to KL central. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyLJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear tTacy
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is located in the centre of the city Subang and part of big shopping complex 'Empire', the entrance of the hotel is little confusing as the reception/lobby is on the 2nd level. Well the hotel is good to stay as they have good ambience once you reach lobby. They have good rooms but the main problem is that all rooms on the north side get direct Sun rays and early morning 6 o' clock you will be woke up with bright light. Also the direct heat will make your room more warmer as the Aircon's are not big enough to challenge the heat. Though we stayed in our room only for few hours but still it was quite difficult to stay for longer period.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are better and less warmer, avoid taking room on north side as direct sun he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matharoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Matharoo
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We have taken note of these issues and will take the necessary steps to address them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is my second stay in Empire Hotel. Staying for one night in a family room. Lift is slow as usual but staff is helpful to assist with another lift. Super fustrated when tried to call operator to send extra amenities but it never send up after few hours and we had to called again. Same as we tried to call for maintenance to check for tv. Remote control were not working as well when tried to adjust the volume. The most angry part was my mom had found an USED & DIRTY UNDERWEAR hiding behind the basin area. We did not call to complaint as it was too late and we were so tired for the trip. So upon check out I had mentioned to the female staff at reception but she just said "sorry". It was totally unacceptable to see the reaction of the staff and I think they should improve their service skills. I wish to come back to stay because my parents like the hotel (very convenient) but I think I will not come back anymore

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuenling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear chuenling,
We are deeply sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience during your stay with us.
There are no excuses why we did not check the cleanliness of your room carefully & ensured that everything is in working condition.
It is also not acceptable that we were slow in fulfilling your request for amenities.
We hope that you will allow us to redeem ourselves, please contact Ezhwan Haizill for your next booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you rely on the internet do not stay at this hotel. If you manage to get connected you will be provided with an incredibly slow connection which is almost as good as no connection at all.

This is a hotel where the owner must have set out to spend as little as possible and just uses "cool design" to enable them to take nice photos to justify relatively high room rates. Unfortunately the beauty is skin deep, and in this case the skin is very thin.

Staff overall were all nice and accommodating, although ordering room service at 10pm after a long flight was a little frustrating with the order taker answering the phone "Hello? long pause... me: I'd like to order room service. long pause. me:hello them: Yeah, what you want?" I felt sorry to inconvenience them placing a food order. However the food was delivered promptly and was delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Matthew P,
Thank you for taking the time to write to us.
We are sorry to hear that the internet was slow & the Room Service order taker was unenthusiastic.
We have taken note of these issues & will take the necessary steps to address them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Overall a good stay. Over a period of 4 days, I finally managed to know some of the staff. Quite a friendly bunch, if one makes the effort.

The room cleanliness was there, except that the room attendant forgot to replenish the face towels.

One bane of most rooms from my frequent stays here is the poor quality signal from the in-room WiFi and the cable TV (inc channel selection). More can and should be done. Today's business travelers rely substantially on WiFi and news/sports channels.

Like I said, it's almost there, but the last bit of effort requires some work from the hotel's management to make the last mile.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Shawn L,
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to know that your towels were not replenished. We will ensure that our Housekeeping service is better in future and will look into upgrading the broadband speed in the rooms and increasing our TV channels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was really expecting a lot more from this hotel, given the location and cost.

Staff - the guy checking us in was so unfriendly and moody. Not even a smile. The concierge on the other hand asked too many questions that bordered on intrusive. Check in and check out took forever eventhough we were the only guests.

Room - very cosy but the tv channels were very disappointing. And you had to pay for extra music and movies!!!! For the price you pay for the room, all that should have been free!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Sabyj,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for highlighting your comments, we will enforce service excellence training for our staff on a more regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
0.9 mi away
Dorsett Grand Subang
Dorsett Grand Subang
#1 of 11 in Subang Jaya
856 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
1.9 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#5 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
1,445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
699 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#4 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Subang

Address: Jalan SS16 / 1, Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range: $51 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Subang 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Empire Hotel Subang Suite escapes. Shopping high. Stylish sophistication. Subang Jaya's new modernist masterpiece is the epitome of 21st century cool. Presiding majestically over the Klang Valley's most vibrant, youth-fired urban enclave, Empire Hotel Subang welcomes jetsetters and fashionistas alike as a dazzling icon for discerning, cultured and hip spirits. We have 198 rooms that are tastefully decorated and equipped with the latest amenities. Sitting on top of Empire Shopping Gallery, we provide the convenience of having many retail outlets and supermarket just downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Subang Hotel Subang Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing