We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Empire Hotel Subang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I travel for business monthly and am loathe to leave a bad review, but this is the worst hotel experience I've had. I was willing to overlook the flakey internet that I had to reconnect to every 5 minutes, the phone in the room that was impossible to hear anything, the lift that took forever (and I mean forever), cold food from the breakfast buffet (and pretty awful), even the shower that only stayed hot for 3 mins ... but having a hotel staff member call my room at 4am in the morning was the last straw! I checked out after two nights and found somewhere else - suggest you don't make the mistake I did.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubymajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, e-Commerce Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Dear Rubymajik,

We are deeply sorry to learn of your unpleasant experience at our hotel recently. We take your dissatisfaction seriously. The issues that you have encountered during your stay with us have been brought to the attention of several key managers of the hotel, in particular the front office and maintenance department. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and away from the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for a lackadaisical attitude on the part of any of our employees.

As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again by creating company training sessions to make sure all our staffs comply with the hotel’s policies and procedures, as well as to uphold our hotel guests’ comfort at all times. An internal auditing team has been formed to further look into this area seriously. Besides, we are in the midst of installing additional 2 units of elevator to up keep our hotel services. We are confident, as a result of these actions; Empire will emerge as a more reliable and even more customer responsive hotel than ever before.

On behalf of Empire Hotel, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not giving you the high standard of hospitality, which is the general norm of our hotel. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this.
May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Empire Hotel as your preferred hotel in Malaysia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 466 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

The hotel has a unique and sharp design, unlike those very ordinary one. Sports bar is fun and entertaining, as we can spend our time at the open air area with a good view. Staffs are helpful and friendly. Very convenient as the shopping center is just downstairs. I enjoyed my stay and I would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank myPetonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Dear MyPetonearth,

Hello from us at Empire Hotel, Malaysia.

Our aim is to be recognized by you, our valued guest, for achieving outstanding service excellence. We are always interested in suggestions that would allow us to improve our level of hospitality services, hence thank you for taking the time to write and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the relevant team members who have contributed in making your day.

With these happy memories of Empire Hotel, we look forward to serving you again when you return to stay or dine with us in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stay in one of the room and it was remarkable special.

i love the design and the environment of the hotel.

The staff was so nice and the food was so great.

Keep it up guys.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
Thank ruby1194700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Dear Ruby,

Hello from us at Empire Hotel, Malaysia.

Our aim is to be recognized by you, our valued guest, for achieving outstanding service excellence. We are always interested in suggestions that would allow us to improve our level of hospitality services, hence thank you for taking the time to write and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the relevant team members who have contributed in making your day.

With these happy memories of Empire Hotel, we look forward to serving you again when you return to stay or dine with us in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Really is a poor choice in KL.
Poor staff worse amenities.
This hotel is a poor choice and would be a good one to avoid unless you are looking for low end services.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dunnekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Dear Dunnekk,

Hello from us at Empire Hotel, Malaysia.

The issues that you have encountered during your stay with us have been brought to the attention of our Front Office Department. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and away from the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for a lackadaisical attitude on the part of any of our employees. We are sorry for the inconvenience this incident has caused you.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Checked-in on a business trip, and found this new hotel to be a great option for business and leisure alike.
The entrance is a bit tacky with the lobby on a large area across an upper floor. The Hotel forms a part of one of the towers of a large Shopping Development. The advanrage of that is one has a large option for eateries nearby, just after exiting or when one is about to enter the hotel. The tough bit is if the lift were non-functional (which did happens once while I was there - probably a teething issue for the new property), one has to lug one's handbag across to the Mall entrance end to take down the alternate elevators.

Room that I checked-in was ample - not too large, but enough with even a quieter ante-room to catch on any reading or writing work. The pool and gym were not functional yet, so arrangements were available at the other residential tower for this.

Breakfast spread was nice and with a wide varierty. Some of the rooms on a particular room may have constricted view for they would look into the blank side of the adjoining residential tower.

The hotel is located off one of the main highways connecting highways into the main touristy area of KL.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianFlaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

Dear Indian Flaneur,

Hello from us at Empire Hotel, Malaysia.

Our aim is to be recognized by you, our valued guest, for achieving outstanding service excellence. We are always interested in suggestions that would allow us to improve our level of hospitality services, hence thank you for taking the time to write and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the relevant team members who have contributed in making your day.

With these happy memories of Empire Hotel, we look forward to serving you again when you return to stay or dine with us in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I stayed in this hotel purely for fun and a good night's sleep. I walked in pretty late (9pm)as I had no prior intention to stay there, it was all spontaneous. The check in staff were prompt and polite. I got a good deal for a basic room and was allowed to check out at 3.30pm the next day.

I was quite surprised to find how big the basic room was. It was very spacious and the decor was very nice.. everything was still pretty new at this point. The bed was heaven and I loved the floor to ceiling windows that looked out onto part of Subang and the Federal Highway. I must however note that at night, you can hear the sound of music coming from a bar or club nearby. It sounds pretty faint but if you're a light sleeper like myself, you definitely won't be dozing off too quickly.

The sound didn't bother me all that much though.. what I'm really curious about is the source of the sound. I don't think I know of any club or bar located in Empire Gallery or the neighbouring Subang Parade. Regardless, the sound for me is a minor hiccup. Everything else is pretty good. Parking is free and service is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

Dear Travelling Tisy,

Hello from us at Empire Hotel, Malaysia.

Our aim is to be recognized by you, our valued guest, for achieving outstanding service excellence. We are always interested in suggestions that would allow us to improve our level of hospitality services, hence thank you for taking the time to write and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the relevant team members who have contributed in making your day.

With these happy memories of Empire Hotel, we look forward to serving you again when you return to stay or dine with us in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Appalling hotel. Bar opposite plays loud loud music till 2.00 am. You will not sleep. Absolutely horrendous.

Hotel looks good but is cheap and nasty. Nothing works. Everything designed badly. Water drips from air con. Floors filthy. Paint crumbling. Shoddy workmanship. Lifts always broken.

Never ever again. Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 42slarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_eCom, Manager at Empire Hotel Subang, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

Dear 42slarty,

Hello from us at Empire Hotel, Malaysia.

The issues that you have encountered during your stay with us have been brought to the attention of our Maintenance Department. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and away from the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for a lackadaisical attitude on the part of any of our employees. We are sorry for the inconvenience this incident has caused you.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
0.9 mi away
Dorsett Grand Subang
Dorsett Grand Subang
#1 of 11 in Subang Jaya
900 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
4.2 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie
1.6 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
861 reviews
4.2 mi away
e.City Hotel @ One City
e.City Hotel @ One City
#8 of 11 in Subang Jaya
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Subang

Address: Jalan SS16 / 1, Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range: $57 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Subang 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Empire Hotel Subang Suite escapes. Shopping high. Stylish sophistication. Subang Jaya's new modernist masterpiece is the epitome of 21st century cool. Presiding majestically over the Klang Valley's most vibrant, youth-fired urban enclave, Empire Hotel Subang welcomes jetsetters and fashionistas alike as a dazzling icon for discerning, cultured and hip spirits. We have 198 rooms that are tastefully decorated and equipped with the latest amenities. Sitting on top of Empire Shopping Gallery, we provide the convenience of having many retail outlets and supermarket just downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Empire Hotel Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Subang Hotel Subang Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing