We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for functions and leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bluewave Hotel Shah Alam
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Shah Alam
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Ideal for functions and leisure”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Located in the city centre of Shah Alam, this hotel is popular for social and business functions. Unfortunately, it is not convenient for guests who want to do shopping as the malls are quite a distance away. The hotel is great with excellent facilities: comfortable rooms, good views and clean. For drivers, the basement car parks provide ample spaces but the narrow entranc can be quite challenging. Visitors from other states may find this hotel suitable as a base from which they can visit the busier Kuala Lumpur city and nearby attractions in Klang and Putrajaya.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    57
    47
    13
    13
See reviews for
36
20
6
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Easy to shopping & located in the heart of Shah Alam city. Room refurbished with modern & stylish concept. From the moment you arrive, you'll be delighted with the attractive facilities, the convenient location with outstanding panorama. Staff was freandly & very helpful. Buffet breakfast & varieties. Sure I will come again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlessandroNesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great hotel located in the city centre of Shah Alam. The room was spacious and newly refurbished. Very clean, comfort and of course safe. The amenities are quite better compared with some hotels in the area. The view of green field near hotel and magnificent Blue Mosque make it more interesting to stay in. Exclusive and clean swimming pool. Jakuzzi and steam room also not bad. The buffet breakfast is amazing with a lot of choices international / local dishes. Pleasant friendly staff. There is a 3 different malls near by for shopping.

Room Tip: Suite room was nice with living hall and at corner side. There is a few differents floor - enjoy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegaliaAgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a night stay at grand bluewave shah alam,the room are new and comfort, food at coffee house name semarak is good and tasty. Surrounding is quiet.and we had a very good night sleep ,really enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Check in 24/09 late everning, receptionist not freindly (maybe due to tiered). Room quite old design. WiFi only available upon request. Suitable for short distance stay for business purposes. Breakfast just simple nothing special. Check out 25/09 early morning after breakfast. Not recommended for leisure vacation stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitoradvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The rooms are big enough and I got a room with good view of blue Mosque. When I prefer staying at this hotel, I visited the hotel to reserve my room (and to have a look at the hotel) but I was told that there are no rooms available. But at the same evening I was able to book the room on-line. There’s no public transportation nearby and the taxis outside the hotel will charge you high to go to the city. There are no restaurants close to this hotel. I walked out of the hotel and found a road side one (When you come out of the lobby, turn left and walk for 50 meters and turn right at the signal - walk for 100 meters you will see a street food stall near the museum). The complimentary breakfast was with good variety of western and local food. Wi-Fi is not free.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mageshwaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed at Grand Bluewave in February last year. This was the last leg of a self-guided tour of Asia and I intended to use it to wind down and exercise. for a 5 star resort, I thought I was getting an amazing deal for a little over $100AUD/night.

I had arranged a limo (don't expect a limousine, that is malay for clean cab). The driver showed up 1h 25m late. My arrival time to GBW was around 9:45pm and after checking in, I was informed that the bars were closed. I was told that I could get a cab to a convenience store about 20 minutes away, but declined. There was no minibar in my room, so I hit up the gym (small and not air conditioned) and went to bed.

Their laundering service was very pricey and service time was not acceptable.

I went for a walk around the lake and to the blue mosque, it's pretty. The remainder of my stay I spent poolside. Shah Alam is boring and not a holiday destination.

WiFi was charged at $30AUD for 2 days. I didn't enjoy this!

Also, I got chased by people for taking photos of the them praying in the mosque. Don't do that, They don't like it.

The nicer things I have to say about the hotel are:
the pool is really nice;
the breakfast is great;
they accept AMEX.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shah Alam hotels
0.8 mi away
Concorde Hotel Shah Alam
Concorde Hotel Shah Alam
#1 of 26 in Shah Alam
806 reviews
2.0 mi away
Acappella Suite Hotel & Residences
2.6 mi away
Best Western i-City Shah Alam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie
2.3 mi away
Best View Hotel Shah Alam
Best View Hotel Shah Alam
#17 of 26 in Shah Alam
1 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel de Art @ Section 19
Hotel de Art @ Section 19
#8 of 26 in Shah Alam
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bluewave Hotel Shah Alam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bluewave Hotel Shah Alam

Property: Grand Bluewave Hotel Shah Alam
Address: Grand Bluewave Hotel Shah Alam 14 Persiaran Perbandaran, Shah Alam 40000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Shah Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Shah Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bluewave Hotel Shah Alam 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is the first 5-star hotel in the heart of Shah Alam. With 341 luxurious rooms and suites. Ideal for business travelers travelling to Shah Alam in Selangor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Bluewave Hotel Shah Alam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing