We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel (if you are golfer)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Shah Alam
Jakarta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice hotel (if you are golfer)”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Plus:
+ nice clean & comfy rooms
+ nice views overlooking golf course
+ feels like a resort, quiet and away from hustle bustle of KL city
+ good & courteous service
+ near from Subang airport (if you are taking Firefly flights)

Minus:
- located quite far from KL city, no public transport available so must rely on taxi (although there is free shuttle to Kelana Jaya LRT station)
- nothing much to do except golfing
- no minimart, restos/cafes or convenient stores around hotel area

Summary:
Nice, quiet, reasonable priced and comfortable hotel, with great views of golf course. Unless you are going there to relax or play golf, it is inconvenient and located too far from shopping malls and restos.

Room Tip: ask for rooms overlooking golf course for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herjanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Greetings from Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie.

We would like to thank you for the review and we appreciate your kind compliments on our rooms and that our team are courteous. However, we are sorry for any inconvenience during your stay with us.

We hope we will see you again anytime when ever you are in Kuala lumpur.


Best Regards,

Yvette Wee
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    239
    107
    26
    17
See reviews for
111
90
45
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Glenmarie hotel on a number of occassions. I keep on coming back because this charming, clean, comfortable environment is staffed with the most wonderful folk.

From the warm, smiley, friendly welcome by the front desk staff (Relina, Nuril, Marie, Izree, Yvette, Haza and Ramish to name but a few) who go out of their way to ensure I feel like a VIP, to the consistent excellent customer service in the executive lounge (Lyn and Fahmi on this occassion) I could not wish for more.

On the night before check out I had trouble accessing the internet connection in my room. Within minutes of my 'phone call requesting assistance, Rosy (senior night manager) came to the rescue. She was professional and competent and sorted out the problem in no time.

The hotel is away from the city centre which makes it the perfect place to relax and unwind. A shuttle bus is available should you wish to see the city lights/

A customer focused hotel, good value and excellent service - I would highly recommend this lovely place to any traveller. Thank you to all

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Greetings from Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie.

We thank you for the great feedback and delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay. It gives me a great pleasure to share this with the team.

The entire team of HIKLG are looking forward for your next visit.


Best Regards,

Yvette Wee
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As mentioned in other reviews, this hotel is far from the main city. If you can take the advantage of the free shuttle service you can save a good amount of money on your transportation. The hotel itself is nice and quiet with a nice view of Golf course. If you are interested in golfing then this is the place to be. Pool is ok. The staff is the highlight (Most of them :) ), very helpful and courteous

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashish b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Greetings from Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you staying with us again in the near future


Best Regards,

Yvette Wee
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Location wise this hotel is tucked far from Kuala Lumpur. There is a shuttle service however to Kelana Jaya which is a train stop that connects to the monorail for downtown KL action. The rooms are good. WiFi is excellent. The view from our room is very scenic with the golf course and somewhat KL skyline in the distance. The free buffet breakfast is okay though service spotty and food ran out without being filled. Initial reception service is very good though later on checking out, a staff tried whilst handling my checkout called another guest out asking him his problem, that evolved into a complaint about mosquitoes that went to and fro. Wouldn't it be easier finishing mine first and give the other your 100% later.

Room Tip: Get the room with the golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Greeting from Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We have noted your comment about the front desk staff, thank you for this observation. We are glad that overall, you have enjoyed the hotel’s facilities.

See you on your next visit, hopefully soon.


Best Regards,

Yvette Wee
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

So near to the business district and will always stay there for business. Very good service even during fasting months. However, it is far for amenities and the roads outside can be dark and unsuitable for females travelling alone. Just be careful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graifdiggaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Greeting from Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie.

We would like to thank you for your review and continuous support. We apologize that you felt unsafe and we want to take this opportunity to assure you that the safety of our guests is of utmost importance. To maintain the security of our complex and to provide a safe stay for our guests and patrons we have two security patrols at all times and a manned CCTV monitoring center that oversees the entire complex 24 hours a day. Further to this all patrons leaving the complex to visit nearby attractions can be assured all taxis manning our taxi rank are vetted by our transport management company before gaining formal approval to transport our guests.

Thank you for providing your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.


Best Regards,

Yvette Wee
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Having stayed in Holiday Inn Glenmarie for the first time last year, I'd decided that this will be the hotel that I will stay each time I'm in town for business at Shah Alam area.

And throughout the year, I'd stayed probably 4 or 5 times, and each time I enjoyed my stay.
Although there was some hiccups, but overall, Holiday Inn Glenmarie is still the choice for me when in KL.

I'd also enjoyed some room upgrades a few times, and most enjoyable one, was the duplex suite, with a nice big balcony overlooking the golf course!

Having tried their in-room dining, which was prompt & had some great food on the menu, its great for me who have to work through the night and needed some food at weird hours.

The location enables peace & quiet for a good night rest after a long day of work, so I do appreciate it being far away from everything.

I'm back for the many times, and I'm definitely continuing my stay each time in this area!
Thank you Holiday Inn Glenmarie for all the great stays I'd this year!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Greetings from Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to accomodation and we are delighted to know you will continue to choose HIKLG for your future travel needs.

Thank you for your continuous support and we are looking forward for your return stay.


Best Regards,

Yvette Wee
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The room and the service is good but the location is very bad. It is just convenient for those guest who driving. Cant even get the food nearby. The breakfast choices is very less. We still have to staying here for 1 weeks and the room is not providing the free wi-fi as alot of guest getting the access. hope tht our following day can get free wifi as other guest does.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Greetings from Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie.

Thank you for your review and we appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. Our hotel provides complimentary shuttle to nearby shopping malls. It is regrettable that this was not communicated to you during your stay with us.

Please contact us if we can assist with a future reservation.


Best Regards,

Yvette Wee
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shah Alam
2.1 mi away
Acappella Suite Hotel & Residences
3.7 mi away
Concorde Hotel Shah Alam
Concorde Hotel Shah Alam
#1 of 26 in Shah Alam
800 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western i-City Shah Alam
1.7 mi away
Dorsett Grand Subang
Dorsett Grand Subang
#1 of 10 in Subang Jaya
819 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Bluewave Hotel Shah Alam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie

Property: Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie
Address: 1 Jalan Usahawan U1/8 | Seksyen U1, Shah Alam 40150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Shah Alam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Shah Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie is the only international hotel in Shah Alam with sprawling 450 acres of landscape neighbouring to Glenmarie Golf and Country Club. Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie is a tranquil retreat 3 km from Shah Alam, 35 km from central Kuala Lumpur, and 45 minutes drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. We're a convenient base for business in Shah Alam, Petaling Jaya, Subang and Port Klang. All rooms are tastefully appointed overlooking the golf course. The hotel has 260 guestrooms, an Executive Club Wing with private lounge, 6 food & beverage outlets, business centre, 24-hour room service, complimentary shuttle service, Olympic sized swimming pool and wireless internet. The hotel offers 14 fully equipped meeting rooms and 2 impressive ballrooms with space for up to 500 guests makes us a good choice for corporate meetings, weddings and team building activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie Hotel Shah Alam
Holiday Inn Shah Alam
Shah Alam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing