We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money but ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Art

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Art
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Shah Alam
malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Value for money but ....”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed in a no-window triple room at Block C above Mydin supermarket. Decent room and good breakfast at Hailam Kopitiam included in price of room. Worried that there is only ONE entrace/exit to hotel rooms. Fire hazard? Other drawbacks are smell in room and sounds of doors opening/closing can be heard, disrupting my sleep. Otherwise, the hotel is ok for the price.

Room Tip: Get a room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Greetings kseng,

Thank you for choosing Hotel de ART as your preferred stay during your visit to Shah Alam.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast!

We will rectify the issue with the smell and sound proofing immediately, thank you very much for your valuable comment.

We want to let you know that there is actually a fire escape in the building that connects to the ground floor. You probably missed that. Please be assured that we adhere strictly to the guidelines and requirements of the Fire Department in Malaysia as our guests safety is our first priority.

We appreciate your kind feedback and am looking forward to seeing you again if you ever visit Shah Alam again. Do choose a different theme next time for a different experience!

Take care and be well

Warm regards,
Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
8
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First of all, it's a budget hotel, so don't expect much. But it's worth the money spent.
Art-themed, yes correct. You can choose whatever theme they have as long as it is available and suit your number of people.
The lake view isn't really a "lake view". It's blocked by roadside trees. I suggest they shouldn't charge extra for these "lake view" rooms. After all it's not even a lake, just a retaining pond.
Facilities are good and feel new. Bathroom is simple and adequate, right for the price they offered. Lift is a big bonus for a budget hotel.
Noise level is a little bit high during morning rush hour, but can be very quiet at night. Pleasant staff and a welcoming lobby.

Room Tip: Avoid the lake view room, unless the pricing is the same as others. No point taking it if there is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aljohari_hashim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Greetings aljohari_hashim,

We thank you for your support and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay at our hotel and also fully utilized our facilities and services. We continue to strive and work hard in bringing the best value to all our guests and your comments are important to us in helping us achieve this.

We agree with you that the view of the lake from the room is not very clear as it is obstructed by some of the tall trees. However, they are only slightly more expensive (RM10) than the other rooms not just because of its view (more greeneries) but also because they are larger in size (as they are corner rooms) and also of the large wardrobe that comes with the room. These are the reasons of the slight price difference.

We thank you for sharing your thoughts and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Do choose a different room theme next time for a different experience!

Take care and be well :)

Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Location just nice. Not too crowded except during nights where peoples are looking for nearby restaurants for dinner.
Parking spaces quite messy as surrounded by local cafes and restaurants and local convenient shops (mydin)
Rooms just nice for one or two person. No cupboard or wardrobe but provided with a space for hanging your clothes for less than a week stay.
Clean toilet. Water from taps and shower are good enough.
For muslims, qiblat direction shows clearly and praying mat @ sejadah provided.
Tv channel with selected channel.
Breakfast provided for two at a cafe downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balkidzhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Greetings balkidzhunny,

We greatly appreciate your time in posting such positive reviews about our hotel. All of us here are very happy to hear that you had a memorable stay - this is how it should feel at Hotel de ART! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and do choose a different room theme next time for a different experience!

Thank you, take care and be well

Regards,
Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

At 1st good location (nearby i-city), good impression from the hotel outlook and reception service, welcome drink, good security access, special design in every room; but we find out that when night time is bit hard to sleep well due to sound proof weak, due to business purpose we check out at the next day morning 6am, but having billing problem with the receptionist (maybe he was dreaming). Conclusion: May have a visit for this hotel for future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Greetings AnthonyGoh,

Thank you for choosing Hotel de ART as your preferred stay during your business trip and we appreciate your time in posting your review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad that you've enjoyed our hospitality and services and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Do choose a different theme next time for a different experience!

Thank you, take care and be well

Warm regards,
Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I booked De Art for 1 night in May. We intended to stay overnight because we have a wedding on the next day nearby the hotel. Probably it's a school holiday, or not I find that the rate is expensive. But, consider the look of every rooms the website publish I thought this hotel would be nice. Check in is fast. I don't have a problem with parking. I hoped to get a room in same building with reception, but I didn't and it's quite frustrating. The other building where my room is located didn't have elevator. Instead, we need to carry our bags and sons to 2nd floor which is tiring. My room is at the corner of the floor. Surprisingly, it's so small for triple sharing. I admit, it's very nice room but sooo small. They don't even have a closet. Most reviewers said it suitable for business traveler. How would you tell me that triple sharing room would rate RM219net with breakfast of Old Town standard??? Even my son asked, why we had breakfast here? I've been in few hotels that have similar rates with De Art. But, they were worth it. They call De Art a budget hotel, but comparing the rate with room & service, I don't think so. Definitely won't come back here or recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Wifi is bad Iron Board is suck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummy_fiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Greetings mummy_fiza,

We thank you for your time and appreciate the great feedback - this level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

We apologize for the lack of elevator in our second block and we are sorry to hear that you have to carry the luggage to the second floor. We have already addressed this issue by asking our staff (at hotel and restaurant) to lend a helping hand to our guests anytime they need help. Regarding the lack of a wardrobe in the room, we figured we have to maximise space in the room hence providing clothe hooks instead in the room. And as for the breakfast please be assured that we have already added more variety to our breakfast menu.

Please contact my office directly for your future stays.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences.

Take care and be well

Warm regards,
Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hotel and room looks new as of 2013. Similar to many other budget hotels, this hotel is actually a shop lot modified as a 3 floor hotel (ground level has no guest rooms AFAIK) with a single lift. As the name implies, this hotel is decorated in stylish and art theme, which suits well for a budget hotel. I was given a 'Lady Gaga' room, with 2 portraits of her. Overall, nice and cute room. Free breakfast and some food vouchers for nearby restaurant are also given (but expensive restaurants). Situated in Section 7 Shah Alam, it's very near to i-city and thus there are lots of shops& services nearby. WiFi available. Parking lot is abundant though those are actually under the local municipal (DBSA) except only 2 slots reserved for the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolahYusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Greetings SolahYusuf,

Thank you for choosing Hotel de ART as your preferred stay during your visit to Shah Alam.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as we always place a priority on customer satisfaction.

We appreciate your kind feedback and am looking forward to seeing you again if you ever visit Shah Alam again. Do choose a different theme next time for a different experience!

Take care and be well

Warm regards,
Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My parents came to town to surprise the birthday boy. It was literally a full house at my place so my sister booked a room at this hotel on the shortest of notices. The staff were very accommodating.

For a 2-year-old hotel, the lobby looks brand new. The concept of the hotel is quite interesting, with quirky names given to each and every room. My parents were very happy when we got to our room, it was spacious, clean and cosy. I know someone who would appreciate the shower head (big and high up, like you are showering in the rain!) There is no kettle in the room, but we were fine as we were leaving early the next morning.

The hotel provides ASTRO in each room and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast is provided too in Hailam Kopitiam.

Although we were near to the main street, plus the Hailam Kopitiam downstairs, we slept soundly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFish_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Travelling_Fish87,

Thank you for staying with Hotel de ART during your visit to Shah Alam. My team and I are extremely happy to read of your delightful stay at our ART rooms and are honoured to have shared a memorable occasion with your family as well. We place high priority on our rooms cleanliness and comfort, many guests are happy with our large shower heads as well! Please be assured that we have addressed the issue with the kettle. We have also installed hot and cold water filters on every floor for the convenience of our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and my look forward to serving you very soon. Do choose a different theme next time for a different experience!

Take care and be well

Warm Regards,
Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shah Alam hotels
0.5 mi away
The Tree Boutique Hotel
The Tree Boutique Hotel
#13 of 27 in Shah Alam
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best View Hotel Shah Alam
Best View Hotel Shah Alam
#18 of 27 in Shah Alam
1 reviews
4.2 mi away
Acappella Suite Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel de Art @ Section 19
Hotel de Art @ Section 19
#8 of 27 in Shah Alam
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN i-City Shah Alam
2.5 mi away
Concorde Hotel Shah Alam
Concorde Hotel Shah Alam
#1 of 27 in Shah Alam
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Art

Property: Hotel de Art
Address: No 3, Jalan Kristal AS7/AS | Section 7, Shah Alam 40000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Shah Alam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Shah Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel de Art 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the pioneer art-themed hotel in Malaysia, all 58 rooms in this trendy boutique hotel are wonderfully designed. Be it modern contemporary or classic imperial to even ancient Egyptian style, you will find each room decorated with a unique concept to impress all guests. Provided with a wide range of amenities, guests are sure to experience utmost comfort. While staying here, you are within close proximity from the famous i-City, blue mosque, museums, galleries, botanic gardens, agricultural parks, theme parks, shopping centers and many more. Whether for business or leisure, guests guaranteed a luxurious stay at affordable prices. So come by, check in and discover our spaces. One thing we promise, you haven't seen anything like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing