We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Art

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Art
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Shah Alam
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Stay!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Over night stop over! If you are driving, with GPS! Finding this Hotel and spending a night's stop is a great choice. Clean. Booked before arrival. Ask for a Window Room....

I used "AsiaRooms" to make a reservation, so the instructions to reserve a Window Room was lost along the way!

Room Tip: As in all Small Shop-house Hotels in Malaysia. ALWAYS ask for a Window Room. (** You never want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHeng53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Greetings ChrisHeng53,

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience - extremely important to hear what our guests has to say and how we can improve. Please accept our sincere apology for the room type issue, we have already addressed the problem and will make sure this will not happen again. We are delighted this did not deter you from having a good time at Hotel De Art!

Once again, thank you very much for your valuable comment. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Shah Alam.

Take care and be well

Warm regards,
Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
40
8
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Bharu
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel was on a shoplots building. There was a coffee shop on the ground floor called 'Hailam Kopitiam' where they will give coupons for you to have breakfast once you checked in at the hotel. The reception was lukewarm and not that friendly. We stayed in their family room for RM180. There were two queen sized beds. The room itself was quite small but understandable as it was after all on shoplots building and not meant for a hotel. There was an LCD TV with a few cable channels. We had the lakeview but not that much a view actually. Bathroom was spacious. The hotel prided itself with the themed rooms and I think it was very cute and nice. There was no wardrobe in the room because of the size so you kind of have to hang your clothing out in the open. Furniture was also showing signs of wear and tear maybe because of low quality. Overall I would rate this hotel an average with the plus of the cute themed rooms.

Room Tip: you dont want the room with a boulder in it. makes the room smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AiNGEL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Aingel83,

Warm greetings from Hotel De Art!

Thank you for your time in writing this review. We are glad that you like our cute themed rooms! We are in fact the first Art hotel in Malaysia and we aim to provide a unique experience from other generic hotel. We apologize for the signs of wear and tear of our furniture, we want to let you know that refurbishment plans are in the pipeline and we hope you will be able to enjoy the new environment on your next visit.

Take care and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel De Art!

Warm regards,
Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is my 1st time(16/9/12) stay at HOTEL DE ART, for me,all the things at hotel is good,receptionìst nice and helpful also,just the problem is,the taxi that reception help me to call to go BERJAYA TIMES SQUARE is really very MELAMPAU EXPENSIVE,the taxi driver cost me RM70,since that is just 35mins distance and no traffic jam! I hope that the hotel management will pay more attention on it,so that this unhappy thing wiil not happen again,thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grape522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear grape522,

First of all thank you very much for your compliment and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for bringing up this issue with us, we will check with the taxi driver to solve this issue to prevent this from happening again. Thank you for your time in posting this valuable review!

Once again, thank you for the review and look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Shah Alam. Do choose a different room theme next time for a different experience!

Take care and be well

Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Arrived at the hotel at 12 am and the staff were expecting me already. I realised that the car park was open space so there is no security guards to guard the cars. There is an active coffee shop beside the hotel entrance which is open 24 hours, which may help to mitigate some safety concerns. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood with terrace houses nearby so my Msia friends told me it should be a safe neighborhood.

Back to the hotel, I booked a lake view room. Since the hotel is only 2 floors high, I could see the lake from my room but i couldn't see much anyway. In any case, the room was nicely decorated and there was cable TV provided. Wi-fi service is barely usable. I could connect to the service, but it just wouldn't open websites. I gave up after a while. There was a standalone swing in the room which adds to the ambience. Beds were ok but the pillows were too thin. As I went during the Euro Cup season, the coffeeshop was full of people and made a lot of noise throughout the night. Also thee were noisy motorcycles driving by sometimes which woke me up during the night.

Breakfast was ok, coffee was splendid!

Did not see any swimming pool or fitness centre because I was out most of the time.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pngpcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear pngpcy,

We thank you for your support and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

All of us here are very happy to hear that you had a great stay - this is how it should feel at Hotel De Art. Glad you love our coffee on the breakfast menu, they are specially roasted from aromatic coffee bean. Sorry you are bothered by the noise from our coffeehouse, please accept our apology as there was Euro cup going on and the crowd was overly excited!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Shah Alam. Do choose a different room theme next time for a different experience!

Take care and be well!

Regards,
Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Room is clean, nice with artsy designs. Bed are comfortable. Toilets are clean & OK.

Overall worth it for the budget hotel category. Exceed expectation.

Room Tip: Choose the one facing the lake, as it is less noisy & does not face the main road nor noisy shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaizFaizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear FaizFaizz,

We greatly appreciate your time in posting such positive reviews about our hotel and are glad to hear that you had an excellent experience. Do stay with us again and choose a different room theme next time for a different experience! My team and I look forward to welcoming you back. Take care and be well!

Regards,
Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Hi..I had my stay on this hotel last week. I am supposed to stay there for 2 days, but I checked out in one day due to the following reasons:

a) I was given the back room which is facing the back row of the shops. My room was just behind a restaurant. It was damn noisy till 3am as they were cleaning their kitchen & washing plates. The staffs were screaming and laughing all the way till 3am.
b) The entrance to the rooms corridor was damn smelly. Understand that the management just completed the painting of the wall.

Appreciate the management could look into this seriously as the noise through the night was really annoying. Anyway, the hotel is beautiful with colourful arts everywhere, including rooms. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anitha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Greetings Ms Anitha,

First of all, thank you very much for your time in sharing this valuable feedback and we would like extend our sincerest apology for the unpleasant experience. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

We apologize for the paint smell because you are right, we just repainted the walls and the doors during that time, and we underestimated the time needed for the smell to go away. Please be assured that the smell has already gone.

Thank you for your comments about the noise issue - our management take this issue very seriously and we have decided to hire experts to replace all the windows facing the back row to thicker layer windows with better noise insulation. The work is set to be done in 2 weeks time and once the work is completed we would like to invite you to revisit our hotel and let us know what you think.

Once again, thank you for the great feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Take care and be well

Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Visit Art hotel on march,found this hotel true the internet,saw the picture of it and it was quiet intresting,so decided to visit it.When first arrive nothing much you can say about it.It's just a normal shop house renovated to become a hotel.But when we saw the room we were quiete suprise,all the room have diffrent design and it was cool :)....The only thing is that the room have abit adour and when i check in to my room the floor was wet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaShimar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyLiow, General Manager at Hotel de Art, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Greetings MaShimar0,

We thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. We are delighted that you had a wonderful surprise with the room designs and a pleasant experience at Hotel de Art.

We apologize for the condition of the room when you checked in. The management will look into that and retrain our housekeeping staff to be more alert. Please rest assured that this will not recur.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Shah Alam.

Take care and be well

Jenny Liow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shah Alam hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel de Art @ Section 19
Hotel de Art @ Section 19
#11 of 27 in Shah Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tree Boutique Hotel
The Tree Boutique Hotel
#12 of 27 in Shah Alam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best View Hotel Shah Alam
Best View Hotel Shah Alam
#18 of 27 in Shah Alam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Acappella Suite Hotel & Residences
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN i-City Shah Alam
2.5 mi away
Concorde Hotel Shah Alam
Concorde Hotel Shah Alam
#1 of 27 in Shah Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Art

Property: Hotel de Art
Address: No 3, Jalan Kristal AS7/AS | Section 7, Shah Alam 40000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Shah Alam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Shah Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel de Art 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the pioneer art-themed hotel in Malaysia, all 58 rooms in this trendy boutique hotel are wonderfully designed. Be it modern contemporary or classic imperial to even ancient Egyptian style, you will find each room decorated with a unique concept to impress all guests. Provided with a wide range of amenities, guests are sure to experience utmost comfort. While staying here, you are within close proximity from the famous i-City, blue mosque, museums, galleries, botanic gardens, agricultural parks, theme parks, shopping centers and many more. Whether for business or leisure, guests guaranteed a luxurious stay at affordable prices. So come by, check in and discover our spaces. One thing we promise, you haven't seen anything like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing