We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in friendly neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empress Hotel Sepang
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Reviewed June 5, 2014

From LCCT, we were approaching residential areas when this hotel popped out our way. Not your fancy-type hotel even not conforming with the surrounding use. The great thing here is – you get to mingle with the locals, try their eateries, their hamburgers in rolling van (Ubens) and various small shops (pets, books, etc.).

The hotel is big to offer hundreds of rooms but has little to offer amenities (pool is small, restaurant is small). Rooms are somewhat smelly. It appears like all guests are smoking (we don’t smoke that’s why) you see cigarette ashtrays in common areas and traces of cigarette burns on the carpet.

Hotel staffs are helpful enough to answer your concerns. The massage chairs in the lobby area and strong wifi and Internet connections while waiting for your private tours are pleasurable. It’s a little bit far from KL but near the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ECLadines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 337 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel was in good condition and treated well. Hotel staff were very helpful. Reasonable for the money paid. I was there in 2009 April, but trip advisor doesn't allow me to add a date before last year may. Buffet breakfast was wonderful as well. Hotel rooms were clean and well maintained. Trave ltime between the hotel and the airport was not more than 30min. Nothing else to add. Try to stay in the empress sepang next time you visit Kuala Lumpur Malaysia.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank umedhah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We booked the hotel for the formula 1 grand prix, it was the only one in the area with availability as we had left it until the last minute I suppose that says it all really!
The reception public areas are ok and the breakfast although not good is edible. There is a rooftop pool with a nice view of the area which looks much better from a distance.
The rooms themselves and the corridors are pretty grotty and need a complete refurbishment
Our main gripe was the staff were unhelpful and seemed to be using the busy period purely as an opportunity to make extra money for themselves or the hotel.
The taxi fares were exorbitant when booked from the hotel as were the shuttle vans to sepang race track more or less double the price if you managed to book direct.
It is in a pretty run down area where taxis do not usually cruise for custom so the hotel staff take advantage of this.
There is a KFC .nearby much cheaper and better than UK and the family run café opposite the hotel served us the cheapest meals ever £4 for five meals and soft drinks no alcohol available though. There is another one that does serve beer opposite and the food is good but not as cheap..
I thought it would be better to book a hotel close to the track and airport as we were travelling home after the race but with hindsight this was unnecessary. Given the opportunity again I would book a decent hotel in central KL (available for the same price) and travel out by taxi with baggage. You can get a good deal negotiating with drivers in KL. There is secure storage available next to the stadium.
Take your custom to somewhere it is valued, not this place.
We had a brilliant time both at the F1 and in KL but this hotel is just not nice at all.

Room Tip: choose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Good size room and very powerful shower. Wish mine at home was as good. Clean and tidy.
Breakfast was ok, and pretty much what you would expect from a buffet style. Wifi in room was very very slow. Massage chairs in reception are fab and really worth a try. Only a few mins walk from a KFC and ATM so didn't try the hotel food. Make sure you book a taxi and call down before you leave your room to make sure they are going to be on time. Only about £10 in taxi to airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Close to the international airport with a shuttle bus. Clean, pleasant staff, comfortable bed. The air con was a bit weak and the hot showere was hot. I did not stay for breakfast. For a stayover between flights it is reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Room was okay and clean and of course it needs a big refurbishment. The hotel is far from centre and it will cost RM250 for a return trip. Staff during day time weren't helpful, they seemed too busy to ask guest if needed any help. Basically I was grabbing one of them for an attention. I guess they were busy with ipad and cellphone. Would I book again? A big NO.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Disapointing from the website. Old smelly rooms, small pool, no free airport shuttle.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The price is reasonable but everything is old and smelly.
There is a very good chinese restaurant accross the street on the corner but chck out the price carefully before you order.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denisoldpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sepang hotels
6.0 mi away
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
#4 of 14 in Sepang
1,889 reviews
1.0 mi away
the youniQ Hotel
the youniQ Hotel
#7 of 14 in Sepang
670 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sama-Sama Express klia2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Qlassic Hotel
Qlassic Hotel
#8 of 14 in Sepang
46 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
1.0 mi away
Sky Star Hotel klia klia2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel Sepang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel Sepang

Address: 88 Jalan ST 1C/7 Medan, Sepang 43900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range: $29 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel Sepang 3*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Empress Hotel Sepang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepang Empress Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing