We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ZenHotels.com
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveler rating
15
96
133
74
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
15
96
133
74
71
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 389 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is more of a place to stay for the MotoGP and not a place to have fun as there are very little things to do in and around the hotel. The pool isn't big enough to do laps, just good for dips. There aren't many English channels on the cable TV and ESPN isn't available. Wifi in rooms are slow and you have to wait a few hours to get connected and then be disconnected all of a sudden. You need to go down to the lobby to have a secure wifi.

If you're on a budget, you can always try the local food around the area. There are three local restaurants that's just a walk from the hotel. There's a KFC just in front of the complex, you just need to walk around to look for it. There's also a nearby convenience store for your water supplies. No need to worry about toiletries, the hotel provides, shampoo, soap, and toothbrushes.

Getting to Sepang International Circuit is possible through a shuttle provided by the hotel. It costs around 40MYR (2 way). You can also get a taxi and split it with other hotel goers. The great thing about the hotel is its just 8kms away from the track. But then that's just about it. You can stay here probably for the Saturday-Sunday run of the Race and spend the rest of your vacation in KL where there are a lot of things to do.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just stayed at the Empress for the MOTO GP. After booking I read the terrible and poor reviews. Rooms were good. Breakfast was tops. If you can't find something to eat then you are just fussy. Service was very good, rooms done every day. Staff great. Transfer to track and airport very good. Area around the hotel is typical Malaysia......where do some people think they are? Restaurant food was good although we only ate one night and had the buffet, so can't comment on the menu food. The buffet was value for money. Can't comment on pool or gym as too busy to use them.

Room tip: It is a way from KL, so don't book if you want to see the capital, but great for the racing and airport.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a very basic hotel which is suitable for those on transit. It is approx 20 minutes from KLIA and is approx 30 minutes from LCCT.

The room size is reasonable, can fit approx 4 pax at one go. The bathroom facilities are basic. Breakfast is served but they will pack for you if you need to leave for an early flight.

Parking is available at the basement and in front of the hotels. There are plenty of shops in the hotel area but all shops are closed by midnight. There is a convenient store across the road which also closes by midnight.

The hotel provides airport shuttle, just make an arrangement at the front office. If you book via online, just print your booking confirmation to ease the check-in process. They provide internet facilities at the lobby, with fee and a free wi-fi if at the lobby. Somehow, my colleague was able to detect the wireless network from 8th floor during our stay.

Iron and iron board is placed at the corridor-way for use on a sharing basis.

You will hear noises from outside, even at 1am.

Sleeping experience - average.

Overall experience - average.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazzerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

we decided to stay here due it is supossed proximity to the airport. big mistake. We bused LCCT only to be told by the information desk (that didnt even have a phone) that there was no hotel transfer there, only from KLIA. so we bused to KLIA, and again were told that a hotel shuttle did not exist. finally we gave in to a taxi, and arrived at the empress - which really is in the middle of no-where. we found our first room had a problem with the aircon that made it sound like roadworks were going on in the room. we complained and got to move rooms - they said it was a problem in numerous rooms. the second room was much better. then the next morning they ordered us a taxi that cost a crazy 60ringit to the airport. honestly as the airport shuttles from KL central are good and only cost 10ringit it is far better to stay in the centre and just brave the trip.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Not what we hoped to arrive to after travelling 30 hours from Melbourne. We owe thanks to Malaysia Airlines for putting us up in this hotel, travelling with young children and first time travellers - this was not the destination we had planned.
Where to begin. Checking in to a hotel located in an unsafe area or opening your hotel room to other guests already staying in there. The smell walking through the hallway was overwhelming, not by flowers but cigarettes. The beautiful stained linen sheets, clearly not 1,000 thread count that J.LO would sleep on. I don't know what is worse stained sheets or cobwebs and dust in the vents, I think the cleaning lady was on holiday that year. And not to forget the toilet that clearly had not been unblocked for a few months. We should've packed a tent as this would have been safer.
May I suggest, look further than this and as another member has already suggested - it was definitely Faulty Towers.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews