We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice, but somewhat tolerable if you're in a pinch”
Review of the youniQ Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
the youniQ Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not a good choice, but somewhat tolerable if you're in a pinch”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Had an early morning flight out of KUL and came in the night before from Borneo. It was one of the last places open with mediocre review so we gave it a try. Not real close to the airport (30 ringget to get there-buy the ticket inside the airport-it's a flat rate instead of haggling with the guys outside.) They do offer an hourly shuttle to the airport for 5 ringget per person.

The downsides (of which there are many): thin walls, obnoxious people trying to be cool and "party" all night-it caters to this type of behavior/atmosphere-so it's hard to sleep. The bathroom is designed poorly-cant even reach the toilet paper, have to go into the shower for hand soap, no shower door but our shower head was next to the opening so the floor gets soaked, functionality is compromised in an effort to try to look cool. Hair dryer must be checked out, annoying room alarm that goes off to easily, everything is dark so it's hard to tell if anything is even really clean, water pitcher smelled funny, general shadiness, not much nearby, the neighborhood is really bad behind the place (Seriously, it's not a safe area-would not stay in the whole area-don't unless you have no other option than sleeping on the streets there.)

The upsides: the staff phoned the room a few minutes before 4am to make sure we didn't miss our shuttle, checkout was easy, bed was tolerable (although we were exhausted,) wi-fi worked fine

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ourdogrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    244
    226
    73
    51
See reviews for
121
240
113
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The large room with bunk beds seem like they have paper thin walls. Spent the entire night forced to listen to every single thing going on next door. Every single word, every single sound. Street noises also kept my son up (his bed was closer to the window).

Staff were kind enough to replace our room the next two nights with 2 smaller rooms in quieter location. But still didn't get good sleep because of voices and foot steps from other rooms and corridor.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k4r3n90h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sepang hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Do not stay here! Location isn't even that close to the airport. Never thought I'd ever be stuffing wet toilet paper down my ear canals just so I could block the noise. Noise from the highway traffic which thanks to wafer thin walls and a 2cm gap in a pointless, fibro, unusable door it felt like trucks were driving through our room!
The air conditioner had a consistent rattle all night, a phone kept ringing out in the hallway all morning which was difficult to hear over the noise of everyone else, probably also complaining about the noise.

I'm usually a very good sleeper also. This place is not worth the money they charge. I'd rather stay on a bench at the airport.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed here one night whilst between flights. The hotel is around 15 minutes from the airport and offers a low priced shuttle service which was prompt.

The rooms are clean and of a good standard. There isn't much in the area other than a small shop which is part of the hotel. overall a recommended place to stay between flights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jecheon, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night between flights. Comfortable, clean and helpful staff. Airport transfer was quick and cheap. Hotel design is funky and modern. Not great for restaurant access, but there are 2 places 5 minutes walk away. Definitely recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Poipet0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Wife and I stayed here 1 night during a layover. It fit all of our needs and provides everything it advertises - clean, affordable, close to the airport, wifi, tv, and laundry! Nothing fancy by any means, but not the selling point of the hotel. Approximately 15 minutes from the airport - read from other reviews some issues with the pick-up so we took a taxi to the hotel ($10 USD). The next day we took the airport shuttle which went seamless ($1.50/pp).

Decor is a bit odd with the neon lights, but room are nice sized and clean.. It was great having laundry access (free!!!). They only have 2 washers and 1 dryers so a bit limited (although we were the only ones using it so no issues on our end).

A bit in the middle of nowhere so don't expect to be eating at any fancy restaurants. They do have a small "cafe" at night that sell some snacks, noddles, etc. Perfectly suitable for a transit hotel. We had a simple dinner with noddles/eggs for under $5.

5 stars for value, location, rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights to be close to the Sepang Track. It's a small boutique hotel that's boasts groovy modern decor.

Staff are lovely and helpful. Room is clean and comfortable.

A small breakfast of toast and coffee was available, as was a computer with Internet connection in the lobby.

Just take note there's not alot around in the way of food and getting a taxi would be difficult from here. I think you'd need the taxi app on your phone or ask the hotel to call one for you. We had a hire car so it wasn't an issue but this hotel is in an unused industrial area near the aviation school. There's a service station across the road where you could buy some snacks but be careful crossing 6 lanes of highway traffic!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AussieAbroad011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sepang hotels
5.1 mi away
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
#4 of 14 in Sepang
1,792 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sama-Sama Express klia2
3.7 mi away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sky Star Hotel klia klia2
0.1 mi away
Qlassic Hotel
Qlassic Hotel
#7 of 14 in Sepang
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Empress Hotel Sepang
Empress Hotel Sepang
#12 of 14 in Sepang
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the youniQ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the youniQ Hotel

Property: the youniQ Hotel
Address: No. 42 Jalan 2 | Bandar Baru Salak Tinggi Business Park, Sepang 43900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the youniQ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the youniQ Hotel is located about 10 min drive from KLIA & KLIA 2. the youniQ Hotel is a 4 story building comprising of 60 well-equipped concept designed Ensuite rooms. Our property also comes with laundry facility and a Mini Cardio gym. We are a young hotelier and we are distinctively youniQ in our space designing style. Our experimental concepts and convention-shattering design challenges us to create a sensible space which brings much comfort and affordability to the masses. We take pride in giving more to our guests. We know we can do better for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your the youniQ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing