We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Book Early
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Sepang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The guest services team was good and give us a good seaview Family Room.
The rooms have private balconies. Nice place to unwind and the restaurants are good. Free buggy rides from rooms to main building and vice versa.

Room Tip: Recommend the family room for small family gathering or reunion with friends/relatives. Very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kspillai57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad you spend your weekend getaway with us. It’s been a pleasure serving you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the resort. Your positive comments will be shared among our associates to keep them inspired. We would like to announce that the resort will be in its second phase of refurbishment soon expected to complete by end of 2014. Refurbishments includes a new second pool, food place ‘Straits – The Art of Street Food’ and Kid’s & Teen’s Club. We look forward to your next visit to experience an extended resort with more facilities and food varieties, please drop me an email at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    563
    295
    94
    91
See reviews for
666
494
22
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dawhat al Qatar, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family and I had a wonder and memorable 4 days stay at Avani Sepang Goldcoast Resort, in August 2014.
I don't have to repeat what others had to say about the resort. What came clear and loud was the fact that they had wonderful staff who 'manage your experience', by managing the resort in the best way possible. Very friendly staff, who went the distance to make your stay comfortable and memorable. They helped us with additional information which was so valuable. Of particular mention was Sampada Singh Thakuri, who took the roll of a good host and treated us as if we have been visiting her home. She has a pleasant personality and a helping nature, which is a valuable asset to any hospitality organisation.
We will surely visit this resort again, and hope Ms. Sampada is still there.
-Patric Rozario. Doha, Qatar-

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Patric,

Thank you for your kind review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your family holiday with us and it’s been a pleasure serving you. Your positive comments will be shared among our associates and the team especially compliments to Sampada. It’s great to hear that you will be visiting us again. We are pleased to announce that the resort will see new additions which are expected to complete by end of 2014. We will be building a new food variety place ‘Straits – The Art of Street Food’ to replace Sepoi Sepoi, Kid’s & Teen’s Club and new second pool. Please come again to enjoy more food options, new facilities and activities. Kindly, sent me an email at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit and we will be sure to arrange another enjoyable holiday for you.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The staff at the Avani Resort are amazing, nothing is to much trouble, always polite, kind and smiling. Making you feel very welcome. FIVE STAR SERVICE
The room we had 832 was excellent very spacious, clean & very comfortable beds.
The weekend was very crowded as it is a great weekend getaway for the Malay's.
So best book from Monday to Saturday.
Great holiday destination, very relaxing.

Room Tip: We are n the 8th branch of the Palm end unit 832 great choice. Lovely balcony to view sunset. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurnsBeachbnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you had a relaxing holiday with us. It’s been a pleasure serving you. AVANI is all about detailing to our guest needs and we truly appreciate your kind compliments which will be shared among the team to keep them inspired. Every encouraging review helps us to acknowledge areas of comfort to our guest and we will be sure to maintain quality standards to make our guests feel welcomed. We are pleased to announce the resort will be in its second phase of refurbishments soon with a new second pool, food variety place ‘Straits – The Art of Street Food’ and Kid’s & Teen’s Club, all expected to be completed towards the end of 2014. Please come again to experience an extended resort. Kindly, send me an email at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit so we can plan a delightful stay for you.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we stay here. The first time was great and it was under difference owner then.
The services gone down hill for the price we paid. The bed was not even probably made. Towers were old. Don't ever stay near the bar as the singing starts at 9:30 pm and stops at 11pm - very loud. The food there is over priced and doesn't taste good at all. Better off drive to the near by towns like tajung sepat which has tons of good eats or just walk outside of the hotel, they are a few local eats - and only cost less than 1/3 you will pay at the hotel.
However, they do have new vans to drive you to and return to the parking lot. Swimming pool design is romantic but too small and sometime with too many kids in the pool do nothing romantic about it anymore. The whole hotel look is beautiful, quiet location but lack of customer services and great food.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank irene_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor. We appreciate every feedback from our guest. Your comments are well taken note of and shared with our associates for quality service and also a mention to kitchen and the F&B team. Rest assured the areas reviewed will be discussed with the team and designated departments. We are pleased to announce that the resort will be building a second new pool and seeing a new food variety place ‘Straits – The Art of Street Food’ plus Kid’s & Teen’s Club, all due for completion by end of 2014. Every negative review impairs the resort and all associates and we would have wished to get things right while you were on site. We would like to invite you again to experience a well rounded resort with more facilities, activities and food options. Kindly, sent me an email at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit so we can best serve you.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

From start to finish we had an amazing holiday!!!
The check in was easy, our bungalow....on the end of a trunk, was roomy and beautiful, with a balcony that looked out over the ocean.
We used all the dining outlets at the resort and they were fantastic, especially the Chinese restaurant and Perahu.
The staff over the whole resort went above and beyond, no request was to small and I would like to make special mention of Sook Chan, Swikriti, Pooja and Bunty.
And a definite must....the spa....amazing!!!
It was a great holiday and we would recommend it to anyone, and love to return!!!

Room Tip: A bungalow on the end of a trunk....perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Billie,

Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you had a relaxing holiday at the resort. We appreciate every feedback and your kind reviews will surely inspire us to excel even better. Your positive reviews will be shared with our associates especially Sook Chan, Swikriti, Pooja and Bunty. We would love to have you with us again, please visit us in the near future to experience an extended resort with more to do, savour and see. The resort will be in its second phase of refurbishments soon with a new second pool, food variety place ‘Straits – The Art of Street Food’ and Kid’s & Teen’s Club, all expected for completion towards the end of 2014. Kindly, sent me an email at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit, so we best serve you.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hotel is quite a distance if you're travelling from KL/PJ. But once you're there, you'll love it. There's bicycles and buggy to hop on anywhere in the hotel vicinity and if you enjoy walking, you can walk from the lobby to your room while enjoying the view. Stayed in the two bedroom villa, big and comfy enough for the three of us. The terrace was spacious and a nice place for some beers/smoking sessions. The bed and the sheets are definitely one of the best things there. The breakfast and dinner buffet has a decent variety of food.
P/S: love the pasta station during dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elinong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you had a relaxing holiday with us and enjoyed walking around the resort. We appreciate every feedback and your kind reviews is well noted to further enable us to enhance our guest experience. We would like to invite again to experience an extended resort with more to do and see. The resort will be in its second phase of refurbishments soon with a new second pool, food variety place ‘Straits – The Art of Street Food’ and Kid’s & Teen’s Club, all expected to be completed towards the end of 2014. Kindly, send me an email at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit and we will be sure to arrange another enjoyable vacation for you.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit to this property. We came with high anticipation as we had a really goo experience on Xmas day 2013.

However, we wish to express our extreme disappointment this time .

We understand that today is a weekend hence we decide to come in later so that we can avoid the crowd. We arrived at the hotel at 445pm for check-in. To our dismay, the room was not ready. We were promised with a room at 530pm but it was still not ready. We only got the room at 6pm.

Upon entry into the room (823), we were shocked to note the following:
1) the sofa bed n sofa were stained. Itchiness after I sat on it
2) room was stuffy
3) aircon was down
4) bathroom door was spoiled
5) floor was dusty
6) table was stained
7) no bathroom slippers
8) tv was not working

Called to rectify, staff only came 1.5hours later. They could not improve the situation and changed a room for us (423) & promised that it is in good condition.

Came into the room to find this:
1) Remote control was not working properly
2) cigarette bud in the toilet bowl and ashes on the floor
3) light not working
4) table in the living area badly stained and shaking
5) no luggage rack in the room
6) bed room sliding door could be opened even though it is locked. Security issue.

We spoke to the duty manager and was told that he will send the house keeping manager to rectify the issues. However, a lady who claimed to be a supervisor came and could not assist any assitance. Not only that, she contradicted herself by telling us that she is the supervisor and after a while, she claimed to be a small small and low profile manager. Why is there such designation in a 5 star property?

Raised our extreme unhappiness and they promised they will fix the issues. We waited from 745pm till 845pm but they could not rectify the light. Hence, they will changed another room (419) for us. Till now at 915pm, we have yet to go into the room.

For the past hours, we have been changing from room to room and did not manage to get to enjoy the hotel facility.
Not only that, we have not had our dinner yet.

I thought the hotel will be better after their rebranding exercise. But it actually became worst. With all the inconvenience caused to the guest, there isn't any recovery service.

I am extremely disappointed with how the situation was managed given that this is a five star property. It is worst than a 2 star motel.

I think the management should seriously look into this matter and to have better experience staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Caswy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor. Every review is important to us as we look forward towards detailing to our guest needs. Your comments are well noted. As per our resolve on your experience, we appreciate that we were able to communicate amicably and look forward to your next visit to experience a well-rounded resort. We will be in phase 2 of refurbishments soon which includes a new second pool, food variety place ‘Straits – The Art of Street Food’ and Kid’s & Teen’s Club, all due for compilation by end of 2014. While we would have wished to get things right while you were on site, we thank you for your kind understanding and patience, See you soon.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepang
8.2 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 32 in Port Dickson
4.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
11.9 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 32 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 32 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
0.4 mi away
Seri Bayu Resort
Seri Bayu Resort
#9 of 12 in Sepang
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
#5 of 12 in Sepang
3.5 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Property: AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Address: Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort stretches out from the Sepang coastline, almost a kilometer into the sheltered waters of the Straits of Malacca with 392 luxuriously appointed over water villas that shape a palm tree. This new upscale resort offers guests a wide range of sports and entertainment activities as well as great food & beverage outlet selection. Located in the district of Sepang, in the southern part of the state of Selangor, AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort is a short 35 minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The resort is also conveniently located close to the Sepang International Circuit - home to the Malaysian leg of the F1 race. Inspired by Polynesian and Maldivian architecture, blended with contemporary Malaysian interior design, each over water villa showcases a range of features that will ensure you take full advantage of the relaxed comfort, knowing we have the details covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Hotel Sepang
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing