We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insane value - we loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stopped at Avani for a week on our way through to Europe, having booked a ridiculously cheap package (it turns out half the resort had!!) last September! In the meantime we had read some terrible reviews (and some good) so we were a little concerned about the standard we might find... We couldn't have been further off the mark - it was brilliant! I have no idea what the whingers are on about, it far surpassed all our expectations. Sure there were a couple of flies at the table... Hellooooo, you're eating outdoors, what do you expect?!?!
Seriously, we could barely fault our stay. We must pay special mention to Eddie (who, in his own time and in his own car, went above & beyond and drove us to the nearest village to buy beers and simple food supplies) - he looked after us daily by the pool and was always ready and willing to help with a smile. Kaye, too, with her breakfast smile, was a highlight of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble.
We had room 315 and it was perfect - not too close to the hub to hear any noise, but close enough to the action. The room itself was great, we had one side and our 5yo princess the other (she loved having her own "quarters, incl full bathroom and balcony!) split by the comfy living area... and we loved the vaulted ceiling :-)
From the meals to the massages, from the endless pool to Smiley Beach (the kids activities over there were a hit with our daughter), from the "pick up/put down" bikes proved for self-transport to the buggies when you were feeling lazy... It was ALL fantastic.
We seriously loved our stay and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great value escape from a Melbourne winter!!!! To the whingers? Get a life!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time at the resort. Thank you for your feedback and it's great to hear you had an enjoyable time at the beach and relaxed at our spa. We would like to share that the resort will begin refurbishment works in August and expected to complete late November 2014. New additions would include 'Straits - The Art of Street Food', second pool and Kid's & Teen's Club. We would like to invite you again to visit a newly refurbished resort. Please contact me at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,468 - 2,474 of 2,841 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to end our 3 week trip through Malaysia with some luxury and still be close to the airport. We only booked for one night.
When we arrived at the lobby a team of 5 people grabbed our bags and we got a really nice introduction of the hotel and surrpundings.
The bungalows were great, they looked clean and neat.
After these first impressions, things started to fall apart. We wanted to arrange our taxi to the airport for the next day. We had to pay 65RM from the airport to the 'resort'. We were charged a whopping 150RM to get back to the airport (even in the Netherlands it is cheaper to get to the airport by taxi), we were totally blown away by that price, so we asked if they could call us a local taxi. We were told that we should get a phone number of a taxi driver ourselves and then they would call them. Great hospitality right?
We chilled a bit at the pool (super small for the amount of guests they can handle) and afterwards we went by all the restaurants to check what they served. We visited the bar and 2 restaurants near the kids place. Food was relatively cheap for a 'resort' at those venues. But the drinks were crazy expensive. 11RM++ (means +6% gov tax and 10% service) for any softdrink can. Beers and cocktails are more expensive than your main course.
We decided to eat near the pool, we said no to the buffet (65RM++) and wanted to eat a la carte. We ordered a caesar salad, spaghetti and a pizza. They forgot the chicken and bacon on our salad and the croutons were huge bits of old brown bread. NOT what you would expect of a 'resort' where you pay 4 times a much for the food. Our spaghetti was almost drowning in water and the pizza was so so. We kindly stated that we didn't liked the meal and that the prices were outrageous if compared to what you get.
Later that night we wanted something to drink, and in your room you'll find a minimart express card, with stuff you can order and they will bring it at your doorstep (so they say). Opened from 23:00 to 18:00 (weird opening times if you ask me) BUT, from 18:00 to 23:00 you could call the room service, but they don't serve you what's on the card, still 11RM++ for a drink. Hospitality right.....

All in all, this place was very very disappointing.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank ThoiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor and we apologize for the inconvenience, your comments are well noted and will be shared among our associates. The price for a private limousine to the airport is lower than in any hotel in KL for the same distance to drive. The Resort has usually 1-2 taxi on call or stand-by and metered taxi can be ordered with prices governed by the authorities. Food prices at the resort are very reasonable, though imported Beverages are generally higher especially alcoholic drinks due to high tax surcharges in Malaysia, thus a can of beer even in Supermarkets is close to triple then overseas. We appreciate your kind understanding and patience on these matters. We would also like to share that the resort will be building a second pool beside the new food variety place ‘Straits – The Art of Street Food’ and Kid’s & Teen’s Club, all due for completion by end of 2014. Every negative review impairs the resort and all associates and we would have wished to get things right while you were on site. For matters alike and to all future guest who might read this, please do get in contact with us directly during your stay, so we can best assist you to your immediate requirements.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spent a 7 night stay at the Avani sepang goldcoast resort, Malaysia. We would like to thank all the staff for making our stay a wonderful experience especially Dilla, Eddy, Again, Reggie and the rest of the beach activity team. We always felt welcomed by the smiling staff and recommend this resort with flying colours.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unkn0wn333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your positive review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and will share your kind feedback with Dilla, Eddy, Agan, Reggie and the team. We will be in our second phase of refurbishments soon in August and expecting total completion by the end of November 2014. The resort will see a new food variety place 'Straits - The Art of Street Food', second pool and Teen's & Kid's Club. We look forward to having you with us again. Please contact me at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just returned from a week at Avani and loved it. The resort is quite spread out so you get a lot of incidental exercise. If you don't want to walk or catch a buggy, there are plenty of bikes. Most of the bikes are in disrepair, but that adds to the adventure. It became a game to see who could get a bike with both brakes and steering! Highly recommend the Mangrove Tour. The 'pontoon' is a little rickety getting on to the boat but miraculously it held up. We went well over time and saw otters, sea birds, mud skippers, monkeys, monkeys and more monkeys. Such good value for money. See 'Grandpa' at the tour desk. He's hysterical and full of information. See him within the first day or so to plan your week as the tours do book up early. He will get you sorted. Utilise the bus into the local town of Sungai Pelek. You only get an hour and it's mostly so you can get supplies but we enjoyed a quick look in the local shops too. Great handbag place there. The locals are all really friendly and we even ended up buying shower roses from the local hardware as they were so cheap. The bus only holds 11 so you have to plan ahead if you want to go. We needed to go in to the pharmacy as my husband was really sick with 'Malay belly' and got a car as there was no room on the bus. It cost 60 RM and the driver waits for you for the hour and brings you home. The staff make this resort what it is. Special mention to the amazing Kay who seemed to be rostered on every time we ate, no matter where we ate and to the gorgeous Manish from front desk who just couldn't do enough for us. A bit of a language barrier at the resort and we struggled for a few days getting them to understand there were 5 in our villa so needed 5 towels, 5 bottles of water and 5 chairs for the balcony etc. The food at the resort tends to be a bit repetitive. The menu at Sepoi Sepoi, Billa Billa and even room service was virtually the same so after 8 days we had pretty much tried everything a few times between the 5 of us. The Chinese restaurant is fantastic. The bus into KL takes far too long. The first time it was a minimum of 2 hours going in and 3 hours coming out. It's a very long boring journey and by the end of the day you've spent upwards of 5 hours on a bus. Our bungalow was massive, comfortably sleeping the 5 of us. With 3 teenage boys, space is important and it fitted our family really well. Smiley Beach is a bit of fun but the mini golf and croquet areas really need to be fixed up. We played them anyway and it just added to the fun. The pool there was great and rarely had people in it. Gold mine for us! The Extreme Park was great for the boys. It costs extra but not too much and they used it 4 times over the 8 days. You can buy cheap ice creams from the men on the Motorbikes as you walk back from the Extreme Park. They'll toot their horn......they're not hard to miss with the the big esky on the back! People have mentioned that the pool is quite small and I can imagine that in peak season it might be a problem. We never had an issue over the week though. The guys working at the pool will do their best to get you seated ASAP. They keep on eye on when people get up to go and get you a lounge or a 'cabana'. We never waited longer than a few minutes for some where to lounge. In all, we loved this resort. We would definitely stay there again but might do a few days in KL rather than do the bus trip from the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sezalou619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Having just arrived at this resort, I have taken my time to review past guest feedbacks, and I was glad to see your overall review of the hotel was a positive one!
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay on Tripadvisor, it gives me great insights in what our guests feel when staying at the resort, areas where we perform well, as well as certain areas where improvements can be targeted.

Rest assured that any positive feedback will be shared with the team for their positive encouragement, as well as constructive feedback utilized in the most positive sense to review opportunities.

We do hope to welcome you back to our resort in due time and remain at your disposal for assistance if so required.

Kind regards,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

So much to do. You need to see the tour guide the first day you arrive, so you can sort out/plan what you want to do. Our resort villa was quiet and a fair disatance away from the central area (Billa Billa), but this wasn't a problem with bicycles everywhere. The challenge was to find a good bike, otherwise, a pleasant walk to the Billa Billa. The pool was well used, the gym was small but sufficient (though a barbell and dumbbell set would be good). The staff were excellent and very helpful. The pamphlets don't show how much of a difference there is between high and low tide marks, but again this is well utilised by the non powered activities (windsurfing carts at low tide and wind surfers, kayaks, stand up paddle boards at high tide). The resort could use a bit of TLC in places (the putt putt golf should be on fake greens), but overall we stayed a week and never ran out of things to do. The variety, quality and amount of food was amazing. The staff do make this resort what it is. Special thanks to Aswad (our resourceful Butler), Sindi (one of the tour guides), Nic the barman, Pooja and Switika the Billa Billa restauruant staff. The local bike tour in the afternoon is great for some relaxing exercise and a great chance to see some monkeys and other local wildlife.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the centre of the action, get a villa near the Billa Billa, but if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Duggem62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and it's a pleasure serving you. Thank for your positive feedback, we will share them with the team to keep them inspired. The resort will be refurbishing in August and extending on F&B, a second pool and Kid's &Teen's Club. Renovations are expected to be completed towards the end of 2014 and we would like to invite you again to visit us. Kindly, sent me an email at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have just returned from Malaysia and I had booked the Avani Sepang to finish off our holiday. The brochures are quite deceiving with blue water but all we could see was murky water! Our bungalow was very far from the main reception but you can get picked up by buggies which wasn't as bad. The staff were very friendly and accommodating but the breakfast didn't have a lot of variety and was covered in flies. I think they should've had covers over the food as it turned me off eating it. They had a pool which wasn't very big and not many deck lounges. The resort was quite comfortable but a little tired. We will not return.

Room Tip: All the bungalows look the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dancer1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2014

Dear Dancer1955,

Having recently arrived here at the property, I have reviewed past feedbacks from guests and was sadened to see your feedback.
Rest assured that your comments have been noted and will form part of my follow ups to ensure product and service will continuously improve at this resort.

Thank you for having taken the time to provide your thoughts / opinions.

Kind regards,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We enjoy our stay here very much, hotel staff are friendly, varies sports activities eg. BlogCart/cycling/beach football, comfortable sofa bed/cot at beach side "we love it very much" with peaceful environment may relax our mind & sleep w/o disturbing. Room are big, fantastic with a balcony where you can relax & sit wz a cup of coffee. Bila-Bila restaurant seafood pizza is yummy cos the prawns & squids are fresh & full wz cheeses.
Avani Sepang GoldCoast we will visit u again cos it's a wonderful gate away from KL.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TeohSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the activities at the resort. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to your next visit. New extentions are expected in August and estimated to complete by end of November 2014. We will have more food varieties at 'Straits - The Art of Street Food', a new second pool and Kid's & Teen's Club. Please contact me at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepang
8.3 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,234 reviews
12.0 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,480 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Seri Malaysia Bagan Lalang Sepang
0.0 mi away
Seri Bayu Resort
Seri Bayu Resort
#11 of 14 in Sepang
27 reviews
8.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Address: Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range: $83 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort stretches out from the Sepang coastline, almost a kilometer into the sheltered waters of the Straits of Malacca with 392 luxuriously appointed over water villas that shape a palm tree. This new upscale resort offers guests a wide range of sports and entertainment activities as well as great food & beverage outlet selection. Located in the district of Sepang, in the southern part of the state of Selangor, AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort is a short 35 minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The resort is also conveniently located close to the Sepang International Circuit - home to the Malaysian leg of the F1 race. Inspired by Polynesian and Maldivian architecture, blended with contemporary Malaysian interior design, each over water villa showcases a range of features that will ensure you take full advantage of the relaxed comfort, knowing we have the details covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Hotel Sepang
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing