We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation plus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sepang
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxation plus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Tomorrow we head for home after a relaxing and wonderful week at Avani Sepang goldcoast resort. Our Butler, Crystal was amazing. What a professional and helpful young lady! We can see her going a long way in the hospitality industry. We are sure she has a long and successful career ahead of her.
Just as our week is coming to an end we have had the great pleasure of being waited on by such talented young people as Sampada, Pooja, Swikriti, Rajesh, Santosh and of course Zakry. Sadly we cannot recall the names of countless others who also deserve a mention and who also did an amazing job. So much talent all round. This resort must be proud of the calibre of the staff they employ in every category of employment. We have had a wonderful week - restaurants were fantastic with chef Henry Tan controlling much of the delicious food that was presented to us day in, day out. Yum!! What a great choice of eating venues with at least 5 top class restaurants. this is the first time that I have come across a gym in any resort, that is so well equipped with each piece of equipment fully functional. The day spa was an absolute pleasure to attend as we claimed our vouchers that were included in our package. The staff there were fantastic and all had the patience above and beyond the call of duty. (Some of the customers I saw did not always show much respect!)
I will, without any hesitation, be recommending this resort to all of my friends. I will make sure that no one misses out on such a great and relaxing holiday. We feel truly pampered at the end of our week. This is just the sort of holiday we needed on this occasion and we are going home relaxed and refreshed.

Room Tip: we were in Villa 611 which is halfway along Trunk (which is really a frond). this was a perfect loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jograeme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Having just arrived at this resort, I have taken my time to review past guest feedbacks, and I was glad to see your overall review of the hotel was a positive one!
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay on Tripadvisor, it gives me great insights in what our guests feel when staying at the resort, areas where we perform well, as well as certain areas where improvements can be targeted.

Rest assured that any positive feedback will be shared with the team for their positive encouragement, as well as constructive feedback utilized in the most positive sense to review opportunities.

We do hope to welcome you back to our resort in due time and remain at your disposal for assistance if so required.

Kind regards,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    797
    448
    154
    144
See reviews for
1,038
670
29
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

A unique experience to stay at Avani Resort as if you are looking at sea from balcony of a ship. One can enjoy such a difference amicably.

Only difficulty we faced personally was due to absence of variety of vegetarian food. However, the staff was really worried because we were unable to have proper lunch and Dinner. We really appreciate the services rendered by these three stewardess namely Ms. Sampada, Ms. Puja and Ms. Swikriti who have looked after our food requirements coordinating with the hotel Chef.

We would really like to suggest the management to make sure that proper vegetarian food is provided since there are many tourist from India nowadays. The resort has faced similar problems with previous Vegetarian guests as well. So to avoid any similar problems in future they can rectify the issue asap.

Apart from this the place is a heaven. One must go and visit the place himself to experience its beauty and all the facilities and activities for all ages.

We have really enjoyed our stay at Avani Resort and look forward to doing the same in the future.

Regards,

Rajendra Chodhry

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R_Chodhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a unique experience at the resort and will share your positive review with our associates. Thank you for your feedback and well noted on special food requests. We are pleased to announce that the resort will be in it's second phase of refurbishment soon in August and expected for total completion by the end of November 2014. Guests can enjoy food varieties at 'Straits - The Art of Street Food' and expect a second pool and Kid's& Teens Club. We look forward to your next visit and do send me an email at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next holiday.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We are midway through our seven night stay at Avani Sepang gold Coast Resort. We are having a fantastic time with no significant complaints at all. We came here for a week of rest and relaxation and we hare loving it. The Staff have been so helpful. I feel bad naming some because we have had wonderful people looking after us for the whole of this experience to date. The staff that spring to mind immediately are Crystal (our butler - we can go to her with any problem and she works as hard as needed to resolve issues for us!!) Malaysian Airlines lost my luggage and Crystal persevered until it was found and returned to us much later in the evening of our arrival. Then there is Sampada, the Nepalese waitress who will do anything to make sure we are having a happy stay.Sampada's friend (whose name I don't know) also from Nepal is also great. Then there is Fion in the Spa who gave the best reflexology therapy I've had in a long time. Her caring attitude and friendliness made me feel so comfortable and relaxed. Our evening meals at the Stimbot restaurant and also at Perahu were memorable occasions because of the friendly service by Dayah. The Hau Sang Lou Restaurant as well as the Sepoi Sepoi were fantastic. This resort is staffed with so many friendly and welcoming people but unfortunately I can't recall all their names. the bikes are enormous fun as well as providing a bit of exercise. I would recommend this resort to anyone, but make sure you come here on a deal which is much cheaper and it includes almost all your meals - all breakfasts, four evening meal vouchers, two lunch vouchers, a free pizza which was enormous as well as 8 spa vouchers! And from what I hear some people had even more freebies than our deal. So shop around and enjoy your stay. Congratulations to the Management and Staff. We love it here!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the fronds (they call it trunks but I think the trunk is from reception along the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annahoj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor. We are truly glad that you had a 'Fabulous Holiday' at the resort and will share your positive feedback with our associates especially with Crystal, Sampada, Fion and Dayah. We are pleased to announce that the resort will be in it's second phase of refurbishment in August and expected to complete by the end of November 2014. The renovation will involve a New variety food place 'Straits - The Art of Street Food', second pool and Kid's & Teen's Club. We welcome you again to experience a refurbished resort and do contact me at tfehlbier@minornet.com should you require any further assistance.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our family (4 of us including 7yr old and 5 yr old kids) stayed here in late June and early July 2014 and had a fantastic time. Our 2 bedroom villa was a good size, with an extra study which the girls used as their room for colouring and reading when they needed a bit of downtime. In particular, the ensuite to the main bedroom was very large and the main bed was a king size. The resort needs a little bit of maintenance work, but the new owners are clearly working on this already and have plans for new developments, which will make it even bigger and better.

Some of the (many) positives:
- beautiful infinity pool area, including cabanas
- plenty of activities for the family, including canoeing, paddle boarding, go-karting, archery, henna tattoos and art and craft
- great restaurants, especially Sepoi Sepoi and Hai Sang Lou
- buggy service to get around the resort and guest bikes if you want to get about under your own steam

A few things that would make the resort even better:
- a bit more variety for lunch time meals would be nice. The lunch and dinner menus seemed to be the same in each restaurant, which after a week, made us want some other choices
- an organised schedule of kids club activities, where parents could book their kids in for a morning or afternoon and know they would have supervised activities. The existing kids club looks and feels like a childcare facility (eg has a ball pit) rather than somewhere the kids can go to do art and craft etc in a supervised environment.
- the butler service is a wonderful idea but it was a little difficult to get a buggy sometimes to come and pick us up

Overall, we had a wonderful time and would definitely consider going back. There have previously been some negative reviews on here for this resort, however my view is enjoy it for all it is worth, have a wonderful time and bearing in mind you are on holiday, don't be fussed if it takes a little longer than you would like to get drinks or room service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Having just arrived at this resort, I have taken my time to review past guest feedbacks, and I was glad to see your overall review of the hotel was a positive one!
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay on Tripadvisor, it gives me great insights in what our guests feel when staying at the resort, areas where we perform well, as well as certain areas where improvements can be targeted.

Rest assured that any positive feedback will be shared with the team for their positive encouragement, as well as constructive feedback utilized in the most positive sense to review opportunities.

We do hope to welcome you back to our resort in due time and remain at your disposal for assistance if so required.

Kind regards,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We recently had a Deals.com 7 day visit to this resort.We had a beautiful Villa on Trunk 8 with everything we needed.The staff were excellent particularly Cedric,Nishan,Airil...they couldn't do enough to ensure our visit was appreciated as it was our respective birthdays.We had the balcony dinner to celebrate in our Villa which was memorable...great young Nepalese trainee attending to us superbly, Chef Henry with great Aussie lamb and some good wine to wash it down and watch the sun go down. We wanted to escape and have a good relaxing break and it did that. The various restaurants,activities and outings and spa treatements allowed us to appreciate and enjoy the resort, its facilities and staff. Well done!!!!!

Room Tip: All villas are well located and provide easy access by bikle or golf cart to facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad that you chose AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort as your relaxing get away to celebrate your birthdays. Thank you for your positive feedback and we will share them with the team especially Sedrick, Nizal, Airil and Chef Henry. We would like to announce that the resort will be in refurbishment works in August which will complete by the end of November 2014. New additions would include 'Straits - The Art of Street Food', second pool and Kid's & Teen's Club. We look forward to having you visit us again. Please contact me at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We went there for one night in order to enjoy the place and the facilities. Actually if you come there it's only for that purpose because the landscapes here are amazing but the beaches around are very dirty. One thing to know is that the ocean is not here during the whole day so you have to wait 4-5pm that ocean is back to enjoy kayaking, etc.

Positive points:
- The place is amazing: looks like a village totally apart
- The Chinese restaurant upstairs at the central point of the resort is just excellent. Perfect service very helpful in recommendations, very smiley and nice. One of the most amazing experience in this hotel. Fyi: order the butter prawns which are just exceptional.
- The service generally is very nice, helpful and try to make everything possible to help. They cared on my luggages, etc.
- Rooms have a lot of charm even if there are some stuff to improve. The terrace has an amazing view.
- Check-in and check-out very easy
- The gym place is wonderful with an excellent view on the ocean
- Limo service to the airport nice

Negative points:
- Beaches around very dirty
- WIFI very low... too low for a 5-star Hotel
- Breakfast buffet which is for me not a 5-star one
- Service in the restaurant at the pool who is not as efficient as expected (waited more than 15 minutes for my Dragonfruit Mojito)
- The swimming pool is small and not so clean
- Have to invest in new bicycles
- The main restaurant at the pool is proposing simple food as pasta or pizzas, not so recommended because no taste...
- SPA always fully booked... Book in advance!
- No bathroom in our room... found very disappointing for a 5-star hotel service

At the end, I would like to recommend this hotel if you are here to enjoy the pool, facilities for a relaxing stay. Nice experience, a little bit expensive I think but if I find a great deal on internet, would definitely return.

Room Tip: FYI: When you book for one room only, don't expect to be at the end of the tree resort. All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZCora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your review in the TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful landscape and amazing view. We appreciate your feedback thank you, and will look into maintaining quality standards. We are pleased to know you have plans to return and would like to share that the resort will begin refurbishment works in August and expected to complete late November 2014. New additions would include 'Straits - The Art of Street Food', second pool and Kid's & Teen's Club. Please sent me an email at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our family of 4 holidayed here for 7 nights in a 2 bedroom over water villa using a pre-purchased luxury escapes voucher. Our holiday wasn't perfect but we were impressed with the exceptional management staff at Avani and how they continually strove to improve and meet our expectations.

Avani Sepang is quite remote with little surrounding facilities so we were grateful that we had most meals included in our deal. We loved that the layout of the resort led to us gaining incidental exercise to compensate for the abundance of food provided especially on the breakfast buffet. The vouchers included in our deal afforded us the opportunity to try all the restaurants and we particularly enjoyed Perahu and Hai Sang Lou. The pool side menu and food was also very good.

Our villa was spacious, well appointed and quiet. We would have liked the facility either in the villa or shared laundry room to wash own clothes/bathers. The lighting in the villas could also be improved. Internet access throughout the resort was excellent. Our children especially liked the addition of free movies on demand.

We loved the Monday night welcome drinks which not only gave us the opportunity to meet Thomas (GM) and other Managers and learn of the proposed future developments at Avani but most importantly meet with other guests and families which truly made the remainder of our week exceptional.

Our children loved the freedom to roam around the resort, the beach and adventure activities. When the new beach pool and family area is complete I think this will certainly alleviate the congestion around the small main pool.

The spa was probably the biggest let down of the resort and because of the high prices charged for services, we would not have used it had we not been given vouchers. I did not find the treatments relaxing or enjoyable.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if the opportunity presented to return at the end of all the proposed redevelopment of the hotel and surrounding area we would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APVCmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Having just arrived at this resort, I have taken my time to review past guest feedbacks, and I was glad to see your overall review of the hotel was a positive one!
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay on Tripadvisor, it gives me great insights in what our guests feel when staying at the resort, areas where we perform well, as well as certain areas where improvements can be targeted.

Rest assured that any positive feedback will be shared with the team for their positive encouragement, as well as constructive feedback utilized in the most positive sense to review opportunities.

We do hope to welcome you back to our resort in due time and remain at your disposal for assistance if so required.

Kind regards,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepang
8.2 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 36 in Port Dickson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
8.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seri Malaysia Bagan Lalang Sepang
9.7 mi away
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
#4 of 13 in Sepang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Property: AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Address: Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort stretches out from the Sepang coastline, almost a kilometer into the sheltered waters of the Straits of Malacca with 392 luxuriously appointed over water villas that shape a palm tree. This new upscale resort offers guests a wide range of sports and entertainment activities as well as great food & beverage outlet selection. Located in the district of Sepang, in the southern part of the state of Selangor, AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort is a short 35 minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The resort is also conveniently located close to the Sepang International Circuit - home to the Malaysian leg of the F1 race. Inspired by Polynesian and Maldivian architecture, blended with contemporary Malaysian interior design, each over water villa showcases a range of features that will ensure you take full advantage of the relaxed comfort, knowing we have the details covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Hotel Sepang
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing