We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time at the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second time at the resort”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just got back from my second stay at this resort - the first time was still under the name of Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort. I think not too much has changed.

The good:
- the restaurant for breakfast looks better and cleaner
- they have valet parking

The bad:
- the overall quality is still the same like before
- cleanliness is worse then before

This is a mediocre hotel, the staff is friendly but they need guidance to perform better in all aspects.

The management should take action, especially on clean rooms and food quality - that is qhy people go to hotels and if both is below standards of even a 3 star hotel there is no need to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms are great, but the one close to the main restaurant are the best. Easy to take breakfast to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PetChr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, Marketing Communications Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Firstly, thank for visiting us again. Your comments are well noted to our team and the respective departments. We would like to share that it is highly unusual that we receive such negative feedback on cleanliness, however, perhaps an overlook on our side, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We are all about detailing guest experience and will work towards upkeeping quality standards. Thank you for your kind understanding.

Best Regards,
Angeline Chooi
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    915
    515
    189
    169
See reviews for
1,237
755
32
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

A very wonderful place to spend with family or lover dating.The rooms are spacious and very clean and good seaviewing.The king size bed extremely comfortable and the best pillow I've ever slept on..hahahahha..just imagined...how sweet dreams i had.The staff very helpful and most helpful I have ever come across.6 stars to all of you.My kids enjoyed the pool max.What an amazing resort.People from all age group were cycling which was just wowwwwww!!!!!!...awesome...getting around is very easy.Shuttles and buggy run around constantly.Trust me..it was:
Fantastic
Fun
Amazing and we had a great fun
My kids requested for another vacation here.You will definitely not be disappointed...over all i give 9.9/10...yeyyyyyy

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Noraida D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your reiew in the TripAvisor. We are glad you had an amazing time and comfortable stay at the resort. We appreciate your positive feedback and will share them with the team to keep them inspired. We would like to share that the resort will be in refurbishment works soon in August and estimated to be ready by end of November 2014. We look forward to having you with us again to experience a newly extended resort with more facilities and food varieties, i.e 'Straits - The Art of Street Food', second pool and Kid's & Teen's Club. Please sent me an email at tfehlbier@minornet.com prior to your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our villa was delightful - roomy, a comfortable bed, great bathrooms, all we could hope for. Our indulgence package was a good buy. It included some meals (listed as "fine dining", but they were just normal resort eateries), some massages, breakfast each morning, a transfer from the airport, the use of a helper to make our bookings and an invitation to a cocktail party to meet other guests and some of the staff.
We also booked a "private balcony dinner". A lot of fun with our own chef and waiter, cooking and serving us on our balcony, and much better value for money than some of the other dining options. I wish we had asked for it again with a different menu.
The alcohol was very expensive. Understandable considering the culture, however a little disappointing for us as we like a glass of wine with meals and we avoided doing this because of the cost.
The resort provides a shuttle each morning to the local town and word of mouth passed very quickly that this is the way to go for some alcoholic drinks. Beer from the supermarket, wine and spirits from the shop opposite the Shell garage, way down the back of the shop. A compromise but still not able to have a glass of wine with dinner.
We were very happy that we brought some duty free alcohol with us.
The coffee from beans (Black Ivory) that have passed through the digestive system of elephants was fun too. From the coffee shop at reception.
Staff who stood out were Sedrick (Food and Beverage Manager); Sous Chef Azman (our balcony dining chef); and Zakry (our balcony dinner waiter). All the breakfast staff were obliging and friendly - the waiters and the chefs.
As it was local school holidays the pool was well used by children. We understand another pool is to be built and that is very necessary.
As a week by itself with airfares to and from Australia? No, we wouldn't do it that way again. However, as week added onto a trip to South East Asia - yes an excellent idea.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Having just arrived at this resort, I have taken my time to review past guest feedbacks, and I was glad to see your overall review of the hotel was a positive one!
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay on Tripadvisor, it gives me great insights in what our guests feel when staying at the resort, areas where we perform well, as well as certain areas where improvements can be targeted.

Rest assured that any positive feedback will be shared with the team for their positive encouragement, as well as constructive feedback utilized in the most positive sense to review opportunities.

We do hope to welcome you back to our resort in due time and remain at your disposal for assistance if so required.

Kind regards,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The design of this resort is unique with units spreading outwards like branches towards the sea.The view from the balcony is nice but unfortunately, the murky water and warm breeze and the ugly beach make this resort the stay there uncomfortable. How nice if this resort can be moved to the eastern part of peninsular Malaysia.

We were given room 416, the receptionist said this was an upgraded room. On entering and staying there for 3 nights, we realised the following:
1. We set the aircon to 20 degree C but the room felt like 28- 30 degree with 3 fans in operation.
2. The door cannot open fully without scratching the flooring (see photo).
3. The sliding door cannot be locked due to catching plate missing (see photo), unless you have
to press the door tightly together. Need a man to do this job. No lock can means access for
children to the balcony and the danger of falling into the sea.
4. The sliding door partition for the bedroom disintegrate from the other panels leaving causing it
to hang precariously from the upper track. (see photo). This is dangerous as it weighs at least
more than 10kg. Should it land on the children, it can be fatal or seriously injured.
5. No safe deposit box in the room. You have to request for it.
6. Views from the toilets are interesting. They have clear panels for you to look through outside
and also for people outside to look at what you are doing in the toilet. Except for exhibitionists,
pull down the blind. Seems the housekeeping always lift up the blind after cleaning. See
photos.
7. Long bath water stopper cannot work. See photo.

As detailed above, it seems the maintenance of this resort is poorly maintained. For the sake of privacy, safety and security, kindly ....

Bicycles are available for free but be warned, they are not maintained. My daughter fell down and injured her legs due to loose chain.

Seemed the management are not pro-active or I am a non-white. Arranged for a feedback appointment with the resort management but to date there is no communication from them on the above problems.

Prices of food are 6-star, more expensive than Coffee Terrace in Genting Highland and the varieties only 1/6 of those at Coffee Terrace.

For cheaper food, I suggest going out of the resort until you reach the circle, turn right towards the beach and then, left along the path. You should be able to get some local food at the food centre there.

For swimming at the beach, the murky water does not look inviting.

Room Tip: Based on the 2nd and third digits, the bigger the numbers, the quieter and farther into the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank new88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, Marketing Communications Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our resort and for the time taken to review on TripAdvisor. The resort is uniquely built in the shape of a palm tree and every unit is an Over Water Villa overlooking the sea. We would like to share that the resort is surrounded on both sides by the Mangrove river which explains the murky water and some would find this as a unique feature as we do provide Mangrove tours for our guests too. We apologize for causing any inconvenience during your stay and haven taken note on your comments. We will be sure to share this with our maintenance team. We are all about the experience and look forward to serving you better in the future in a better facilitated and maintained resort. Appreciate your kind patience and understanding.

Best Regards,
Angeline Chooi
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Everybody working there should be sacked. They don't even deserve a one star rating for a resort! We reached at 3pm, the first room we got didn't have working air conditions. After many calls the technician turned up at 430 and told us there's a prob with the blower. N they will fix it. We were told enjoy their facilities n by the time we get back, everything will be fixed. When we got back at 7pm, the Ac still did not work. Called manager on duty by the name of Steven, he in turn told me that they will prove that it was our mistake in not knowing how to adjust the temperature. After much screaming, Steven decided to change our room. N the buggy came to pick us up at 8pm n ushered us to a room which was next to the clubhouse which had loud music blasting. We had not gotten any good rest for the past 5 hours. Steven tried to make amends by telling us he has arranged a nice dinner for us. When we went to the cafe at 830, the so called special dinner was a buffet with no one attending to us. We were treated like beggars for their food. We hardly ate cos we were disgusted at their treatment when we saw the same guy who ushered us to our table was treating a Caucasian couple as if they were royalty to the resort! When we got back to our new room, the fan in the master bedroom sounded like it was gonna collapse from the ceiling. Again, we had to call for the technician. N Abby, the manager on duty attended to us. The technician told us nth could be done n suggested to us he will inform the front desk to change our room. We waited in frustration till 1030, no one turned up. N when we spoke to Abby, she apologised profusely n the best she could do was reserve a table for the next morning's breakfast. At 11pm, 2 boys turned up insisted to move our bags which by the time we were sick to our stomach with the whole resort. We decided not to change room n just wanna go home next day. Guess wat, the next morning, no table was reserved for us. N it took them 45mins to send a buggy to pick up our luggage for checkout.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, Marketing Communications Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Slyvia,

We sincerely would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us as it is also during our peak season. We have taken note of your comments and will share them with our associates. We are disheartened to hear such reviews and will surely look towards these matters to serve our guest better. Please understand that it is not intentional. We hope to serve you better in the near future. Thank you for your kind understanding.

Best Regards,
Angeline Chooi
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just returned from resort after a fantastic 7 night stay in a 122 sqm villa. The accommodation was excellent, very spacious and definately 5 star. Both bathrooms were flash a very spacious.
Restaurants were great and the on site "balcony dinner" at our villa was very special and well prepared.
The bikes are average, but not an issue as there was regular golf buggies runing up and down as well as the walk did us well due to all the food and drinks we were consuming.
All staff were friendly and curtious. Those people with adverse comments need to get a life !
The resort is relaxing and unique, but about 1 and half hours from KL - free coach ride into town if you want it.
All four of us really enjoyed the over water expierence.
regards Dave of Perth

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, Marketing Communications Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi David,

Thank you for your review on the TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next trip. AVANI is all about the details and we are always looking to improve on services and especially upkeeping on our guest experience. Your positive comments will be shared among the team to keep them inspired. We are pleased that you enjoyed the 'balcony dinner' and would like to invite you to the resort again as we are always having new promotions and attractions for guests. Until your next visit, Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards,
Angeline Chooi
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I just came back from the hotel and can't resists on sharing this. I arrived at the hotel on a Sunday evening and thought will be a relaxing stay, hell not! First the lobby and reception was terrible, the guests arrivals and departure was really chaotic as there were signs how the traffic is being directed. Having to unload my family, I was told to join the area where people are boarding buses where people are leaving the resort. I refused to as there are really confusions whom might have taken our bags with them. No one came to attend to our luggage needs even though we've checked in. Bad services! We managed to track do a service person and she helped arrange for porter services and unloading of our luggages from the car. I was told the only parking available in the resort is valet parking and a free parking is available outside. Reluctantly I went to look for the free parking however the distance from the free parking to the hotel is rather far hence I decided to pay the price of RM20 for the valet parking. When I return, the parking attendant has
going missing and I decided to self park within the resort. I had to tell the guys, I self parked myself and paid them the RM20 for just being within the resort!

As you can read, I've already been exhausted before evening arriving at the room and that's even a worse experience. First, the air conditioning in the room is NOT working at all, and it feels like a sauna in the room. Having complaint to the front desk many time, nothing has been done and they kept saying the hotel is full and will come back which they had not! The maintenance guys came and some work for about 1 hour, but that does not help as the air conditioning is really in a bad shape. As I was watching the maintenance guys working, I spotted few other more faults with the room!! There were dusts everything in the room, on the toilet mirrors, the door ventilation panels are really really dusty!! I found cigarette butts and food droppings at the sliding door rails!! My wife later discovered that a piece of the bathe tub tiles were loose and the baskets used to hold used towers were dirty!! and I mean BLACK and stained!! I decided to threw that out at the balcony as it's really disturbing having that in the shower area.

Not having much hope anymore with the hotel, we are just trying to continue with the holiday and venture out for dinner. No to our suprise, the dining let us down as well. The waiter was not responsive and never been seen responding to our call for service. Luckily the food was alright and we managed to get some bites before continuing to explore the resort.

The next morning, without having much expectations with the breakfast we venture out. First, tables are not immediately cleaned once the guests leave. There are really a handful of uncleaned table when we arrived. Manage to get a table while having to wait for the waiter to clear it and clean. He never came back with the cutleries and we resorted to set the table ourselves. The food is ok, thought we did managed to see many empty servers and flies!! Survived through the breakfast, and found many people resorted to setting their own tables as the waiter are REALLY busy. I did see 2 management staff did a check around the breakfast area, but they did nothing! The dirty plates was just lying in front of them! I even have to clear my own plates as things was piling too on my table and to my surprise, the waiter just ignored me coming with my dirty plates!!

After breakfast, we were strolling around the hotel without much expectations, I found a manager telling the guards why he did not stop people racing with their bicycle in the resort? To me I just felt the guard would not care anymore as it's really mess the way the hotel is running and management aren't doing anything at all to help the situation.

The hotel does have real problems with the management as well as logistics wise, as many are complaining there are no buggy services running between the satellite building and the main lobby, especially during the peak hours.

All I want at the end of the day after visiting this hotel just to head home and rest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kaveiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on the TripAdvisor. Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at the resort. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and to assure you that guest happiness is at the top of our priority. We have taken note of your experience and will look into these areas as it is during our busy season. It is highly rare that we receive such negative feedback from any guests and will try our best to continously upkeep to desired standards. We hope to serve you better in the future and appreciate your patience and understanding.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepang
8.2 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 36 in Port Dickson
1,177 reviews
12.0 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 36 in Port Dickson
1,423 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#3 of 36 in Port Dickson
510 reviews
3.2 mi away
Seri Malaysia Bagan Lalang Sepang
10.0 mi away
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
#4 of 14 in Sepang
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Property: AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Address: Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort stretches out from the Sepang coastline, almost a kilometer into the sheltered waters of the Straits of Malacca with 392 luxuriously appointed over water villas that shape a palm tree. This new upscale resort offers guests a wide range of sports and entertainment activities as well as great food & beverage outlet selection. Located in the district of Sepang, in the southern part of the state of Selangor, AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort is a short 35 minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The resort is also conveniently located close to the Sepang International Circuit - home to the Malaysian leg of the F1 race. Inspired by Polynesian and Maldivian architecture, blended with contemporary Malaysian interior design, each over water villa showcases a range of features that will ensure you take full advantage of the relaxed comfort, knowing we have the details covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort And Spa
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Hotel Sepang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing