We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even if we r paid, we will never stay there ever again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Everybody working there should be sacked. They don't even deserve a one star rating for a resort! We reached at 3pm, the first room we got didn't have working air conditions. After many calls the technician turned up at 430 and told us there's a prob with the blower. N they will fix it. We were told enjoy their facilities n by the time we get back, everything will be fixed. When we got back at 7pm, the Ac still did not work. Called manager on duty by the name of Steven, he in turn told me that they will prove that it was our mistake in not knowing how to adjust the temperature. After much screaming, Steven decided to change our room. N the buggy came to pick us up at 8pm n ushered us to a room which was next to the clubhouse which had loud music blasting. We had not gotten any good rest for the past 5 hours. Steven tried to make amends by telling us he has arranged a nice dinner for us. When we went to the cafe at 830, the so called special dinner was a buffet with no one attending to us. We were treated like beggars for their food. We hardly ate cos we were disgusted at their treatment when we saw the same guy who ushered us to our table was treating a Caucasian couple as if they were royalty to the resort! When we got back to our new room, the fan in the master bedroom sounded like it was gonna collapse from the ceiling. Again, we had to call for the technician. N Abby, the manager on duty attended to us. The technician told us nth could be done n suggested to us he will inform the front desk to change our room. We waited in frustration till 1030, no one turned up. N when we spoke to Abby, she apologised profusely n the best she could do was reserve a table for the next morning's breakfast. At 11pm, 2 boys turned up insisted to move our bags which by the time we were sick to our stomach with the whole resort. We decided not to change room n just wanna go home next day. Guess wat, the next morning, no table was reserved for us. N it took them 45mins to send a buggy to pick up our luggage for checkout.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, Marketing Communications Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Slyvia,

We sincerely would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us as it is also during our peak season. We have taken note of your comments and will share them with our associates. We are disheartened to hear such reviews and will surely look towards these matters to serve our guest better. Please understand that it is not intentional. We hope to serve you better in the near future. Thank you for your kind understanding.

Best Regards,
Angeline Chooi
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,719 - 2,725 of 3,031 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just returned from resort after a fantastic 7 night stay in a 122 sqm villa. The accommodation was excellent, very spacious and definately 5 star. Both bathrooms were flash a very spacious.
Restaurants were great and the on site "balcony dinner" at our villa was very special and well prepared.
The bikes are average, but not an issue as there was regular golf buggies runing up and down as well as the walk did us well due to all the food and drinks we were consuming.
All staff were friendly and curtious. Those people with adverse comments need to get a life !
The resort is relaxing and unique, but about 1 and half hours from KL - free coach ride into town if you want it.
All four of us really enjoyed the over water expierence.
regards Dave of Perth

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, Marketing Communications Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hi David,

Thank you for your review on the TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next trip. AVANI is all about the details and we are always looking to improve on services and especially upkeeping on our guest experience. Your positive comments will be shared among the team to keep them inspired. We are pleased that you enjoyed the 'balcony dinner' and would like to invite you to the resort again as we are always having new promotions and attractions for guests. Until your next visit, Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards,
Angeline Chooi
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I just came back from the hotel and can't resists on sharing this. I arrived at the hotel on a Sunday evening and thought will be a relaxing stay, hell not! First the lobby and reception was terrible, the guests arrivals and departure was really chaotic as there were signs how the traffic is being directed. Having to unload my family, I was told to join the area where people are boarding buses where people are leaving the resort. I refused to as there are really confusions whom might have taken our bags with them. No one came to attend to our luggage needs even though we've checked in. Bad services! We managed to track do a service person and she helped arrange for porter services and unloading of our luggages from the car. I was told the only parking available in the resort is valet parking and a free parking is available outside. Reluctantly I went to look for the free parking however the distance from the free parking to the hotel is rather far hence I decided to pay the price of RM20 for the valet parking. When I return, the parking attendant has
going missing and I decided to self park within the resort. I had to tell the guys, I self parked myself and paid them the RM20 for just being within the resort!

As you can read, I've already been exhausted before evening arriving at the room and that's even a worse experience. First, the air conditioning in the room is NOT working at all, and it feels like a sauna in the room. Having complaint to the front desk many time, nothing has been done and they kept saying the hotel is full and will come back which they had not! The maintenance guys came and some work for about 1 hour, but that does not help as the air conditioning is really in a bad shape. As I was watching the maintenance guys working, I spotted few other more faults with the room!! There were dusts everything in the room, on the toilet mirrors, the door ventilation panels are really really dusty!! I found cigarette butts and food droppings at the sliding door rails!! My wife later discovered that a piece of the bathe tub tiles were loose and the baskets used to hold used towers were dirty!! and I mean BLACK and stained!! I decided to threw that out at the balcony as it's really disturbing having that in the shower area.

Not having much hope anymore with the hotel, we are just trying to continue with the holiday and venture out for dinner. No to our suprise, the dining let us down as well. The waiter was not responsive and never been seen responding to our call for service. Luckily the food was alright and we managed to get some bites before continuing to explore the resort.

The next morning, without having much expectations with the breakfast we venture out. First, tables are not immediately cleaned once the guests leave. There are really a handful of uncleaned table when we arrived. Manage to get a table while having to wait for the waiter to clear it and clean. He never came back with the cutleries and we resorted to set the table ourselves. The food is ok, thought we did managed to see many empty servers and flies!! Survived through the breakfast, and found many people resorted to setting their own tables as the waiter are REALLY busy. I did see 2 management staff did a check around the breakfast area, but they did nothing! The dirty plates was just lying in front of them! I even have to clear my own plates as things was piling too on my table and to my surprise, the waiter just ignored me coming with my dirty plates!!

After breakfast, we were strolling around the hotel without much expectations, I found a manager telling the guards why he did not stop people racing with their bicycle in the resort? To me I just felt the guard would not care anymore as it's really mess the way the hotel is running and management aren't doing anything at all to help the situation.

The hotel does have real problems with the management as well as logistics wise, as many are complaining there are no buggy services running between the satellite building and the main lobby, especially during the peak hours.

All I want at the end of the day after visiting this hotel just to head home and rest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank kaveiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

We appreciate your feedback on the TripAdvisor. Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at the resort. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and to assure you that guest happiness is at the top of our priority. We have taken note of your experience and will look into these areas as it is during our busy season. It is highly rare that we receive such negative feedback from any guests and will try our best to continously upkeep to desired standards. We hope to serve you better in the future and appreciate your patience and understanding.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

service was atrocious. Staff was rude and only nice to europeans. A menu for lunch took 10 minutes. They take 15 minutes to come take an order and when asked, the response: "i was waiting for you to come". on the first night we changed rooms 3 times. Air conditions didn't work and sinks were clogged. in the last room, the doors were stuck. we decided that no room has no defects. we finally unpacked at 2am. With a 9 year child, this was crazy. we slept in hence we only caught the tail end of breakfast but staff rushed to take away food.
we cancelled a night's stay as we just could not take much more. We are not returning and will spread the word that it's a horrible place. In all this, the general manager did not once approach us but his staff, Abby, Eddie and Farisol tried their best. Kudos to them.
apart from this, the views were magnificent

Room Tip: As the view of the straits were magnificent, choosing water chalets away from the club house is a mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Joanne,

Firstly, thank you for staying at our resort and once again Happy Anniversary. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Perhaps an overlook on our side due to the busy Malaysian School Holidays, we would like to assure you of this rarity as we always take priority to our guest needs. We appreciate your kind understanding.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Self-contained resort with reasomable variety of food, spa and an incedible infinity pool. Peaceful and serene stay. Worth going back if you require a quiet stay away from home. Excellent service by staff too. However relatively far away from outside world. Need to take the day tours provided by the resort. Overall great resort.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jin Hui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, Marketing Communications Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on the TripAdvisor, we are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable and peaceful stay with us. We appreciate your kind reviews and will share them with our associates. The resort is indeed secluded away from the hustle and bustle of the city yet easily accessible and an hour plus from Kuala Lumpur city centre. We are glad to hear that you will be back and would also like to announce that in phase two, guests will be experiencing a New Infinity pool and extended Sepoi Sepoi restaurant alongside with the New AVANI Kid's & Teens Club. Looking forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
Angeline Chooi
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

What an amazing resort. We booked and upgraded to a suite, closer to going we read some unfavourable reviews on here. All negative reviews were unwarranted. We had a brilliant time. The chalet was simply amazing, clean, well appointed and the a/c worked wonderfully. The restaurants were all amazing with our favourite being the Hai Sang Lou. The staff at the whole resort were extremely friendly, spoke English exceptionally and were very helpful. A must is the private balcony dinner. What a way to end our week long stay, 2 chefs and a waiter just for us 4! Honestly it exceeded our very high standards with ease. We can't remember a more relaxing enjoyable week (especially with a massage every day!). You will definitely not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Half way down an arm. We had room 615 -exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, Marketing Communications Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hi Melissa,

Thank you for your positive feedback on the TripAdvisor. We are glad that had a wonderful experience at the resort and appreciate every kind remark which will be shared among our associates to keep them inspired. The Private balcony dinner is indeed a favorite among romantics or for guests seeking a private cozy setting among close friends and loved ones. Our team at Hai Sang Lou are pleased that you enjoyed the food and service and will continue to upkeep to such standards. The resort will be in it's second phase soon with a New swimming pool, extended Sepoi Sepoi Restaurant and New AVANI Kid's & Teen's Club. We look forward to having you with us today.

Best Regards,
Angeline Chooi
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here from 30/5 to 6/6/2014 we were greeted by Nido the driver who went out of his way to explain things to us on the way to the resort, stopping for us to take photos of the Grand Prix circuit & then some monkeys by the side of the road. We arrived early at 10.30 am after telling Bard about our over night flight were given our Villas at 12 he also did a suggested program for the week which he delivered to our villa with our vouchers. I must make special mention of some staff that went out of there way to make our holiday so special greeting us with smiles and chatting, & that little extra like earl grey tea at breakfast each morning, these staff members were Henry Tan Chef, Cedric food & Beverage manager, Catarina whom seemed to at every breakfast & saying good night to us at 8 pm. Also Hazam with his smile at Sepoi Sepoi & Tulaasi at the coffee shop. The 2 bedroom villas very roomy however the are in need of refurbishment & some extra care needs to be taken with the cleaning. Pool great & once the new one is built will cater better for the number of villas, great go kart area with quad bikes, archery, paint ball,etc.

Room Tip: If you want a quite villa ask for the end of a trunk we had villa 724 great slept like babies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melowen1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, Marketing Communications Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for the time taken to review the resort on the TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and will share your positive reviews on service with the team with special mention to a few of our associates from our Chef, F&B and Training Staff. We have also taken note of your other comments and will work towards providing better overall maintainance. AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort will be in its second phase soon, a New Swimming pool, AVANI Kid's & Teen's Club and extended Sepoi Sepoi. We look forward to your next visit. See you soon.

Best Regards,
Angeline Chooi
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepang
8.3 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,257 reviews
12 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,521 reviews
3.2 mi away
Seri Malaysia Bagan Lalang Sepang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
8.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#3 of 37 in Port Dickson
542 reviews
10 mi away
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
#4 of 14 in Sepang
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Address: Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range: $99 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort stretches out from the Sepang coastline, almost a kilometer into the sheltered waters of the Straits of Malacca with 392 luxuriously appointed over water villas that shape a palm tree. This new upscale resort offers guests a wide range of sports and entertainment activities as well as great food & beverage outlet selection. Located in the district of Sepang, in the southern part of the state of Selangor, AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort is a short 35 minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The resort is also conveniently located close to the Sepang International Circuit - home to the Malaysian leg of the F1 race. Inspired by Polynesian and Maldivian architecture, blended with contemporary Malaysian interior design, each over water villa showcases a range of features that will ensure you take full advantage of the relaxed comfort, knowing we have the details covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Hotel Sepang
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing