We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, limited food selection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Nice and spacious room with a very good view. The bed was very comfortable.

The food selection is limited and not as good as expected (there are only two restaurants and a bar). We stayed three days and ordered room service for most part of day 2 and 3.

/ Breakfast was okay. I wished they had better scramble eggs.
/ Stimbot (steamboat) was so-so.
/ The western food was bad and expensive

Good variety of water sports and not too bad spa ;)


Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback in the TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The resort prides in comfort and relaxation. We have in total seven F&B outlets (i.e Sepoi Sepoi, Bila Bila, Perahu, Stimbot, Hai Sang Lou, Bayu Lounge and Selat Bar, however operation hours differs for each outlet serving guests day and night. We will look into your comments on food selection and hope to serve you better during your next visit. We will be into our second phase of expansion soon which includes a new pool beside Smiley beach and the AVANI Teens and Kid’s Club. We look forward to see you again.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,701)
There are newer reviews for AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,561 - 2,567 of 2,701 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed at this property few days back and had a great time.We were staying a three bedroom suite.
The experience which hotel have tried to create is like Male but drastically in a lower pricing.
During the day time at the resort when there is low tide the water use to almost vanish away below the bungalows, and evenings water use to be back.
The suite was beautiful with amazing sit-out balcony and service was just ok.
There were not too many food options for vegetarians. The good part is they an amazing activity center which has Go-karting,Paint ball etc....!
I would recommend everyone this property if you are going to Malaysia to go for a day or two and enjoy the water bungalows at amazing prices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Abhiyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback in the TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and compliments to our unique villas. We have taken note on your comments on our food selection for vegetarian varieties and look to serve our guests better. We hope you will come and visit us again after the second phase of our expansion which will include a new pool beside Smiley beach and a Teen's and Kid's Club.

Best Regards,
Thomas Fehlbier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Isolated, and not a lot to do, took two teenagers with us, and they were very bored,they tried
the go cart racing, and swimming in the very small overcrowded pool, and that was about all for them to do.
We spend 8 days there in January, right on the takeover now named AVANI RESORT
staff not very compentant, after checking into our villa, we waited for nearly2 hours for our luggage, after 5 phone calls to reception, we were told they had lost our luggage. Only for it to
turn up 1/2 hr. later. Also had problems with the toilets not flushing , and sliding door to balcony
broken latch, and couldnt lock. We requested Ocean views, and were placed facing the land, and
limited views to the ocean, so asked to be shifted, which we did, and were given a much nicer
villa. Also reception very slow, had to phone 6 times over a period of 4 hours to obtain a Australian adaptor, I think the changeover confused the staff a bit. Also the main area under
reconstruction, and building going on, completely closed off to the public, Restuarants not in operation in that area, so a few less places to eat. a A lot of villas being renovated .Mind you they badly need doing, as getting very tired with quite worn and smelly curtaining . A shuttle leaves for K.L. twice a day, at 8.30am and 2pm, but it is a long trip taking 1 hr. 50 mins each way, one journey back from the city took 2 hrs 15 mins, so not a journey you would want to do very often, in a sub standard bus.No toilet facilities on board, so quite a few toilet stops on the way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOY255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We are pleased to announce that we had end our first phase rebranding activities and will continue with the second phase at the second quarter of the year. Please accept our sincere apologize for the inconvenience caused you had encountered during your stay. We had addressed this matter to a respective department for an immediate improvement. We apologize for the miscommunication with regards of your luggage. We strike for the best in our services and it is our regret the staff did not conveying the right services that it supposed too. It is for your kind information apart from having tripped to KL we also had mangrove tours as part of tourism spots, and so as variety kind of beach activities at our resort and it is all free of charge. We will begin our second phase of refurbishment which consists of the new 517sqm swimming pool and AVANI kids and teens club. Above all kindly accept our sincerely apologies for the inconvenience caused you had encounter and we hope that this will not deter you from coming back. Kindly give us a call prior to your next visit and let you experience the best stay with us along with the new facilities.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Views & concept are absolutely luxurious the resort in general is amazing and has many fantastic qualities going for it. The only thing letting it down I would say is the rooms are looking a little tired and run down and need a freshening up. Cleanliness was average as the room my family was in had a half smoked cigarette in the bathroom and ash all around the bed. The two rooms that we stayed in a 1 bed and 2 bed both of them the aircond didn't work very well. Staff are very helpful and friendly, new reception area will be lovely. Restaurants are nice. Bed is comfy and bathrooms are nice. Lots of activities available, Spa was lovely, Pool is nice. Prices are moderately reasonable. With a little freshening up to the rooms and aircond servicing this hotel would be 5*.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayLuva79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We are pleased to announce that we had end our first phase rebranding activities and will continue with the second phase at the second quarter of the year. We are apologizing for the inconvenience grounds you had encounter during your stay with us. We had addressed this matter to our housekeeping and engineering department for an immediate improvement and please accept my apologies on behalf. Your kind remarks will definitely be shared with the rest of associate to encourage them to keeps on deliver the best services. Thank you again for staying with our Iconic Resort and we are looking forwards to welcome you back and let you experienced the best stay with us.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

there was a terrible experience on this resort, when we reach there at standard check-in time 2.00pm the frontoffice tell us the room not ready and need to wait until 4pm. after we surfing aroung and come back, they still cant get the room for us, and tell us have to wait until 8pm. it was totally spoil the pleasure of my family holiday trip. the services of the front office again showing unfriendly face when we request the compensation. i cant imagine we spending around RM2500 to getting such terrible experience.
further more, beside cycling and swimming pool,i think there are lack of activities i can go for.
Anywhere, the scenery still consider amazing as we are staying at the ROYAL SUITE with direct face to the sea view.

Room Tip: Royal Family Suite - very huge room, direct face to sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CHEESELOKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your feedback on Tripadvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for the checked in experience you encounter during your stay with us. Our staff represent the resort identity, we are truly apologies for not extending the right service to you. In order for us to find out more about the described scenario which we were not aware of and would like to follow up, please get in contact with us personally at nsahrudin@avanihotels.com for further clarification with regards of this matter. For Royal Villa bookings are personally assigned to one of our Butlers from the Guest Experience team and therefore we are disappointed to hear about your experience from August last year. Kindly contact us and we hope that this will not deter you from coming back to our Iconic Resort.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The resort was just perfect for a wonderfu vacation, the facilities and options you can do there are excellent, using the public bike to move within the resort is a great idea, the staff is so friendly, specially Dyla at the beach and art corner..i would definitely go there again and again if i can

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yasser N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor, I am pleased to know that you had a good time during your stay at our iconic resort. Your feedback will be shared with Dyla and all other associates. We look forward to welcome you back and experience our newly renovated facilities. Please be invited to get in contact with me directly (gm@goldenpalmtree.com). As of February we will be rebranding to AVANI Sepang GoldCoast and soon our beach will be upgraded with a large scale Family pool and many exciting new built facilities.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

1. Transport

Pick-up service from airport to hotel is punctual, efficient, polite and flawless (esp. considering that I have arrived early coz i didn't check in any luggage so no time was wasted @luggage belt).

Hotel provides daily free round trip shuttle bus service with a big cozy coach (with powerful air/con) between the hotel & the heart of KL city (Twin Towers). It leaves hotel at 8:30am, drops you off at the Twin Towers at 10:30am allowing plenty of time for city shopping & sightseeing; then picks you up @Twin Towers again at 5:30pm, and brings you back to hotel at 7:30pm. I personally dun like the kinda cramped tiny inn room in the city center so this trade-off of distance for spacious villa by the sea is more than pleasant for me.

2. Beach

All beach activities are free of charge. Hotel provides plenty of sunbathing chairs under umbrella & shower areas free of charge (unlike Santosa of Singapore which charges you a fortune for just a few hours on their sunbathing chairs).

Various kayaks, canoes, stand-up paddle surfing boards (SUP), a sailing boat, etc are lined up on the beach for guests to pick. Their staff did the sailing and i just hopped on the sailing boat and enjoyed a ride under sunshine & breeze. It's all in the hotel's private beach area, which is separated from the public beach area. Remember to check the high/low tides timing if you wanna try all these in one go within a single afternoon.

Sand is not snow-white and has gray mud. But the sand is very fine and comfy to walk on (much better than Thailand Krabi's rocky "sands" if you know what i mean). Not recommend to swim here as water looks muddy gray. There are over hundreds of crabs (from 1cm to 15cm in size), fishes, shell-fishes… on the beach during low tide - maybe fun if you hv kids.

3. Room

Room is nice, clean, bright, and air-conditioning is good. Breath taking views if you love sun, sea & sky. Each villa is standalone - you can't hear what your next-door neighbor is doing. Each villa has private balcony to let u enjoy sea view, pose for photo shooting etc without stepping out of your room.

4. Hotel facilities

Every toilet is clean and pleasant. None of their restaurants charge you for a glass of water (unlike some hotel restaurants that force you to pay for water). Clubhouse behind the "infinity swimming pool" is under renovation so dun be surprised if you see workers / some noise. Souvenir shop is very reasonably priced - after sun lotion is just RM10/HKD25, fish snack is just RM4/HKD10, souvenir Malaysia white pepper in gift packing is just RM10/RMB20, etc.

Special thanks to the highly professional hospitality and catering arrangements and superb service from Thomas, Conrad, Steven, Syara (very caring arrangements) and Elango.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie11220986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you had a great stay at our resort and grateful for your optimistic comments of our resort and services. Your kind remarks on the friendliness of our associates are truly appreciated and this will definitely be shared with all. With reference to the “Swimming by the beach” we thank you for your comments and want to highlight the fact that the fine sand in the water that causes the “muddy look” is caused by the two mangroves river that are located left and right of the resort. The Water quality itself is regularly checked in laboratories and always found to be of good and clean quality. Thank you again for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you back and experience our new facilities. Please contact us prior to any of your future visits to the beautiful Sepang GoldCoast.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepang
8.2 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,202 reviews
12.0 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,454 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Seri Malaysia Bagan Lalang Sepang
8.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
520 reviews
10.0 mi away
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
#4 of 14 in Sepang
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Address: Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range: $91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort stretches out from the Sepang coastline, almost a kilometer into the sheltered waters of the Straits of Malacca with 392 luxuriously appointed over water villas that shape a palm tree. This new upscale resort offers guests a wide range of sports and entertainment activities as well as great food & beverage outlet selection. Located in the district of Sepang, in the southern part of the state of Selangor, AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort is a short 35 minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The resort is also conveniently located close to the Sepang International Circuit - home to the Malaysian leg of the F1 race. Inspired by Polynesian and Maldivian architecture, blended with contemporary Malaysian interior design, each over water villa showcases a range of features that will ensure you take full advantage of the relaxed comfort, knowing we have the details covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Hotel Sepang
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing