We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISSAPOINTED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DISSAPOINTED”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Isolated, and not a lot to do, took two teenagers with us, and they were very bored,they tried
the go cart racing, and swimming in the very small overcrowded pool, and that was about all for them to do.
We spend 8 days there in January, right on the takeover now named AVANI RESORT
staff not very compentant, after checking into our villa, we waited for nearly2 hours for our luggage, after 5 phone calls to reception, we were told they had lost our luggage. Only for it to
turn up 1/2 hr. later. Also had problems with the toilets not flushing , and sliding door to balcony
broken latch, and couldnt lock. We requested Ocean views, and were placed facing the land, and
limited views to the ocean, so asked to be shifted, which we did, and were given a much nicer
villa. Also reception very slow, had to phone 6 times over a period of 4 hours to obtain a Australian adaptor, I think the changeover confused the staff a bit. Also the main area under
reconstruction, and building going on, completely closed off to the public, Restuarants not in operation in that area, so a few less places to eat. a A lot of villas being renovated .Mind you they badly need doing, as getting very tired with quite worn and smelly curtaining . A shuttle leaves for K.L. twice a day, at 8.30am and 2pm, but it is a long trip taking 1 hr. 50 mins each way, one journey back from the city took 2 hrs 15 mins, so not a journey you would want to do very often, in a sub standard bus.No toilet facilities on board, so quite a few toilet stops on the way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOY255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We are pleased to announce that we had end our first phase rebranding activities and will continue with the second phase at the second quarter of the year. Please accept our sincere apologize for the inconvenience caused you had encountered during your stay. We had addressed this matter to a respective department for an immediate improvement. We apologize for the miscommunication with regards of your luggage. We strike for the best in our services and it is our regret the staff did not conveying the right services that it supposed too. It is for your kind information apart from having tripped to KL we also had mangrove tours as part of tourism spots, and so as variety kind of beach activities at our resort and it is all free of charge. We will begin our second phase of refurbishment which consists of the new 517sqm swimming pool and AVANI kids and teens club. Above all kindly accept our sincerely apologies for the inconvenience caused you had encounter and we hope that this will not deter you from coming back. Kindly give us a call prior to your next visit and let you experience the best stay with us along with the new facilities.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    937
    526
    197
    177
See reviews for
1,272
774
33
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Views & concept are absolutely luxurious the resort in general is amazing and has many fantastic qualities going for it. The only thing letting it down I would say is the rooms are looking a little tired and run down and need a freshening up. Cleanliness was average as the room my family was in had a half smoked cigarette in the bathroom and ash all around the bed. The two rooms that we stayed in a 1 bed and 2 bed both of them the aircond didn't work very well. Staff are very helpful and friendly, new reception area will be lovely. Restaurants are nice. Bed is comfy and bathrooms are nice. Lots of activities available, Spa was lovely, Pool is nice. Prices are moderately reasonable. With a little freshening up to the rooms and aircond servicing this hotel would be 5*.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayLuva79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We are pleased to announce that we had end our first phase rebranding activities and will continue with the second phase at the second quarter of the year. We are apologizing for the inconvenience grounds you had encounter during your stay with us. We had addressed this matter to our housekeeping and engineering department for an immediate improvement and please accept my apologies on behalf. Your kind remarks will definitely be shared with the rest of associate to encourage them to keeps on deliver the best services. Thank you again for staying with our Iconic Resort and we are looking forwards to welcome you back and let you experienced the best stay with us.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

there was a terrible experience on this resort, when we reach there at standard check-in time 2.00pm the frontoffice tell us the room not ready and need to wait until 4pm. after we surfing aroung and come back, they still cant get the room for us, and tell us have to wait until 8pm. it was totally spoil the pleasure of my family holiday trip. the services of the front office again showing unfriendly face when we request the compensation. i cant imagine we spending around RM2500 to getting such terrible experience.
further more, beside cycling and swimming pool,i think there are lack of activities i can go for.
Anywhere, the scenery still consider amazing as we are staying at the ROYAL SUITE with direct face to the sea view.

Room Tip: Royal Family Suite - very huge room, direct face to sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CHEESELOKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your feedback on Tripadvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for the checked in experience you encounter during your stay with us. Our staff represent the resort identity, we are truly apologies for not extending the right service to you. In order for us to find out more about the described scenario which we were not aware of and would like to follow up, please get in contact with us personally at nsahrudin@avanihotels.com for further clarification with regards of this matter. For Royal Villa bookings are personally assigned to one of our Butlers from the Guest Experience team and therefore we are disappointed to hear about your experience from August last year. Kindly contact us and we hope that this will not deter you from coming back to our Iconic Resort.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The resort was just perfect for a wonderfu vacation, the facilities and options you can do there are excellent, using the public bike to move within the resort is a great idea, the staff is so friendly, specially Dyla at the beach and art corner..i would definitely go there again and again if i can

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yasser N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor, I am pleased to know that you had a good time during your stay at our iconic resort. Your feedback will be shared with Dyla and all other associates. We look forward to welcome you back and experience our newly renovated facilities. Please be invited to get in contact with me directly (gm@goldenpalmtree.com). As of February we will be rebranding to AVANI Sepang GoldCoast and soon our beach will be upgraded with a large scale Family pool and many exciting new built facilities.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

1. Transport

Pick-up service from airport to hotel is punctual, efficient, polite and flawless (esp. considering that I have arrived early coz i didn't check in any luggage so no time was wasted @luggage belt).

Hotel provides daily free round trip shuttle bus service with a big cozy coach (with powerful air/con) between the hotel & the heart of KL city (Twin Towers). It leaves hotel at 8:30am, drops you off at the Twin Towers at 10:30am allowing plenty of time for city shopping & sightseeing; then picks you up @Twin Towers again at 5:30pm, and brings you back to hotel at 7:30pm. I personally dun like the kinda cramped tiny inn room in the city center so this trade-off of distance for spacious villa by the sea is more than pleasant for me.

2. Beach

All beach activities are free of charge. Hotel provides plenty of sunbathing chairs under umbrella & shower areas free of charge (unlike Santosa of Singapore which charges you a fortune for just a few hours on their sunbathing chairs).

Various kayaks, canoes, stand-up paddle surfing boards (SUP), a sailing boat, etc are lined up on the beach for guests to pick. Their staff did the sailing and i just hopped on the sailing boat and enjoyed a ride under sunshine & breeze. It's all in the hotel's private beach area, which is separated from the public beach area. Remember to check the high/low tides timing if you wanna try all these in one go within a single afternoon.

Sand is not snow-white and has gray mud. But the sand is very fine and comfy to walk on (much better than Thailand Krabi's rocky "sands" if you know what i mean). Not recommend to swim here as water looks muddy gray. There are over hundreds of crabs (from 1cm to 15cm in size), fishes, shell-fishes… on the beach during low tide - maybe fun if you hv kids.

3. Room

Room is nice, clean, bright, and air-conditioning is good. Breath taking views if you love sun, sea & sky. Each villa is standalone - you can't hear what your next-door neighbor is doing. Each villa has private balcony to let u enjoy sea view, pose for photo shooting etc without stepping out of your room.

4. Hotel facilities

Every toilet is clean and pleasant. None of their restaurants charge you for a glass of water (unlike some hotel restaurants that force you to pay for water). Clubhouse behind the "infinity swimming pool" is under renovation so dun be surprised if you see workers / some noise. Souvenir shop is very reasonably priced - after sun lotion is just RM10/HKD25, fish snack is just RM4/HKD10, souvenir Malaysia white pepper in gift packing is just RM10/RMB20, etc.

Special thanks to the highly professional hospitality and catering arrangements and superb service from Thomas, Conrad, Steven, Syara (very caring arrangements) and Elango.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie11220986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you had a great stay at our resort and grateful for your optimistic comments of our resort and services. Your kind remarks on the friendliness of our associates are truly appreciated and this will definitely be shared with all. With reference to the “Swimming by the beach” we thank you for your comments and want to highlight the fact that the fine sand in the water that causes the “muddy look” is caused by the two mangroves river that are located left and right of the resort. The Water quality itself is regularly checked in laboratories and always found to be of good and clean quality. Thank you again for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you back and experience our new facilities. Please contact us prior to any of your future visits to the beautiful Sepang GoldCoast.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

And that extends to the service, the hospitality, the villas, the food, and the sun rise and sun set views!!!

Like many of you, I was very worried about going there too after reading all the negative reviews. However, it could not be further from the truth!!!

From the moment I saw my name at the airport pickup area through to being whisked away via our friendly driver (Elango) I had a good feeling this was going to be a fantastic trip. And it didn't disappoint!

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the friendly hotel staff, especially Syara - who was extremely helpful and made us feel right at home by explaining the resort, the amenities, etc.
We even got a chance to meet the management team over a few drinks and canapés on our first day - which was great as we got to speak with local guests and the team as well.

Our villas were splendid - clean, spacious with stunning views. Room service was within 10 minutes and CS even called afterwards to make sure we had received our food, drinks, towels,etc.
The food from Sepoi Sepoi and Perahu were both excellent too, especially Perahu with its stunning sunset view over a glass of chilled wine.

Some of the things which people didn't mention was a free shuttle bus that took you to KL and back, free usage of all beach activities including yachting, canoing, etc. OK, so the beach is not perfect but at least it wasn't full of stones or rubbish and it had a great view of the Malacca Strait.

Overall, it was a fine experience with nice food, friendly staff, and great villas.

Room Tip: If you get a villa facing the left you will get a sunrise view - if you get a villa facing the right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ace-KING88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to find that you are having the best time during your stay at our resort. It is our prior to extend the best services to all the guests. We appreciate your optimist feedback and will definitely share this among our associates to encourage the team to continue improving their services. Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forwards to welcome you back and experience our new facilities.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The overall stay at the resort was pleasant. The room was spacious and I love the balcony which is quite clean.

However, there are few drawback such as the buggy service and the parking system.
1) Buggy service response time is very slow. We were lucky where we stay quite near to the lobby which we do not need the buggy service all the time. The only time that we need it was during our check-out time which we need the buggy to move our luggage. We have waited for more than 10min for the service. I suggested that the resort might need to increase the number of buggy service during the peak period, ie check-in and check-out time for the convenient of the travellers.
2) Parking service need to pay extra RM20 for the first entry and subsequent entry will be charged RM10. The subsequent charge was a bit too high as the travellers already paid RM20 initially. I do hope that the management may want to review the charges of the parking.

We do hope to visit this resort again in future.

Room Tip: Try to stay at the "trunk" as the buggy service may take some time to reach you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wywong80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomMgr-GPT, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback on Tripadvisor, great to know that on top of every shortfall you’re still having a great time at our resort. For your information we have 40+ electro buggies operated daily and will consider increasing the amount even further. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had faced. Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forwards to welcome you back and experience our new service and facilities.

Thank you

Best regards,
Thomas Fehlbier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepang
8.2 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,189 reviews
12.0 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,438 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Seri Malaysia Bagan Lalang Sepang
10.0 mi away
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
#4 of 14 in Sepang
1,822 reviews
8.3 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Property: AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Address: Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort stretches out from the Sepang coastline, almost a kilometer into the sheltered waters of the Straits of Malacca with 392 luxuriously appointed over water villas that shape a palm tree. This new upscale resort offers guests a wide range of sports and entertainment activities as well as great food & beverage outlet selection. Located in the district of Sepang, in the southern part of the state of Selangor, AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort is a short 35 minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The resort is also conveniently located close to the Sepang International Circuit - home to the Malaysian leg of the F1 race. Inspired by Polynesian and Maldivian architecture, blended with contemporary Malaysian interior design, each over water villa showcases a range of features that will ensure you take full advantage of the relaxed comfort, knowing we have the details covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Hotel Sepang
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing