We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real 5 star experience”
Review of One World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One World Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I stayed for 1 night to attend a 2 dat meeting next door. It was a remarkable experience. There was a luxurious feeling everywhere. Efficient and lovely staff. The buffet was delicious. The fitness centre was well equipped. 1 - Utama is just next door, so outside dining and shopping is just a few steps away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooldoc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2010

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at One World Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Assistant Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2010

The hotel is ideal to stay at if you have work in PJ. My office building was connected to the hotel and they have a mall on the other side. Almost everything in the mall shuts down by 10 PM so getting a late night snack or morning breakfast is a challenge. Using one of the hotel restaurants/room service is the only option.

Now about the hotel - Well, the rooms are large, which is good and the air conditioning is excellent. The hotel lobby looks like a really busy market during rush hour as people use it as thoroughfare from the office buildings located on one side to the other side where the mall is located.

The service is not good in this hotel. They wrongly charged my colleague for international calls that he didnt make and despite telling them that we were corporate customers and would complain to our firms, they did not budge. Finally some person arrived calling himself the manager and made a big hue and cry about the whole thing before waiving off the charges. So the check out process was extremely unpleasant.

In future I would prefer staying in a hotel in KL and taking a taxi ride to my office in PJ but again, you can choose to stay there if the travel during rush hour is a big deal for you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libra_nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2010

Dear Valued Guest

We are indeed sorry to know that certain aspects of our service did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced especially on the charges for international calls. Nevertheless, we are glad to know that our front desk staff was able to assist you on waiving the charges. We also appreciate your feedback regarding our guestrooms which indeed are spacious and comfortable.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience and we look forward to having you as our guest again.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Assistant Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

This is my tenth stay at One World. The rooms are very comfortable with good bathrooms and comfortable beds. The breakfast is outstanding. Staff are very helpful. I enjoy the pool and gym and direct access to the shopping centre. I had one problem on this trip - I needed to access the internet for 2 minutes but the minimum charge in the business centre is 23 ringit. I tried to negotiate with staff but they refused. In a similar situation in other hotels they have helped me out. I really think that 23 ringit is excessive just to log on and that in 2010 hotels should provide easy cheap internet access. This experience let me down and in future I will look elsewhere possibly the Royale Bintang at the Curve, which I've heard is good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2010

Dear TimRudd

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

On behalf of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your continuous support. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of the bathroom and bed; as well as the breakfast spread, staff service and recreation facilities. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from caring guests which are extremely valuable to us.

Nevertheless, it was with great disappointment that we read of the unpleasant experience you had with internet charges in the room. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

At One World Hotel, we always strive to adopt a pro-active response to guest feedback. Immediately upon receiving your comment, the hotel management has implemented a 5-minute complimentary usage of internet connectivity at our business centre; which we hope will be extremely helpful to guests like yourself who would like to connect to the internet for a short period of time.

With this new implementation, we sincerely hope that you would reconsider staying with us should your travels bring you back to Petaling Jaya.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to One World Hotel.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

I stayed for a night while on a business trip to PJ.
This is an excellent hotel - clean, confortable and not overly luxurious that you feel uneasy. The room was nice, cosy and love the LCD TV. Staff was attentive and friendly. From the moment we arrived, there was someone eager to help every corner you turn. The hotel is adjacent to One U and that is a huge PLUS for a shopaholic like me. Breakfast was great with huge variety.

One small complain is the complimentary fruits - the apples were dried up and wrinkled , looked like they were left there for days, and definitely not something that looked edible. The hotel should consider putting them in the mini fridge in a container (reusable, of course). to maintain the freshness of he fruit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWMN2010_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Assistant Director of Communications at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2010

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from One World Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you have had a satisfying stay with us. However, on behalf of the hotel, I would like to apologise for the freshness of the complimentary fruit platter.

We sincerely hope that the above incident did not mar your image of One World Hotel. We look forward to having you as our guest once again.

Regards.

Florence Leong
Assistant Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I have stayed in another five star hotel in Petaling Jaya but One World is so far the best hotel I have stayed in this srea. The room was spacious and had all the amenities that I needed. The room even had an flat interactive TV. Internet was fast but was not free.

To compensate for it being a bit far from the airport and also downtown KL, there is a nearby mall Utama which is just beside the hotel.

If u are on business near this area, this is the best hotel so far.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Assistant Director of Communications at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2010

Dear Bettylopez10

Greetings from one world hotel!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and shopping at 1 Utama.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards.

Florence Leong
Assistant Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Good service, very clean rooms and attentive staff. It is conveniently situated next to a large shopping mall so you can pop over to the mall for meals, shopping and cinemas.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Assistant Director of Communications at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2010

Dear NaniLondon

Greetings from one world hotel!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do visit our hotel website for promotions which offer value for money packages if you next visit Petaling Jaya. You may just find the package and rate which suits your budget.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards.

Florence Leong
Assistant Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I reserved a room at this hotel because it was close to the condo where my son and daughter-in-law live. Although I reserved this room on Nov. 9th, it was clear that a room was not set aside for me when I arrived. The front desk clerk asked if I would accept a room in a smoking hallway, and I said "no". Then she tried to get me to accept a junior suite for more money. (I was exhausted after traveling for 22 hours.) Finally I was given a room, but also told that breakfast would cost 35 RM ($10+ USD) and I'd also have to pay for the internet. This is not common for any 4 or 5-star hotels in KL. When I went to the room the furniture was banged up, the air con slow, and the bedding uncomfortable. The bathroom faucet swayed like it was about to come off. When I asked for a regular blanket and top sheet, no one arrived. I called after 20 minutes and a man showed up with only a blanket. Ten minutes later he returned with a sheet. After 5 hours I asked my son to pick me up, and I decamped to the Royal Bintang, which I HIGHLY recommend for this area. And to top it off, the One World so far has refused to refund a penny of my 12-day reservation.

Lorie
Seattle, WA

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiarelated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Assistant Director of Communications at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2010

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your room reservations with us. We were most concerned to learn of the incident you mentioned with regards to the room condition and refund.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Rest assured a thorough investigation on the matter will be made. Please give us some time to sort out the issues and we will contact you personally to resolve the matter.

Regards.

Florence Leong
Assistant Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,480 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royale Chulan Damansara
Royale Chulan Damansara
#7 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
483 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Somerset Damansara Uptown Petaling Jaya
5.3 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#4 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
2,005 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royale Chulan The Curve
Royale Chulan The Curve
#33 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One World Hotel

Address: First Avenue | Bandar Utama city centre, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range: $94 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — One World Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star One World Hotel is located in the heart of Petaling Jaya and is adjoined to 1 Utama Shopping Centre. It offers 438 luxurious guestrooms and 7 food & beverage outlets, with facilities such as fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your One World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 World Hotel
Hotel One World
One World Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing