We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveler rating
531
540
155
41
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
540
155
41
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone utamajunior suitecinnamon coffeeshopping mallbiggest mallbandar utamabusiness tripbreakfast buffetkids poolkuala lumpurfive star hotelfree shuttlechinese restaurantclub floorrain showerchecking indirect access
Filter
Updating list...
1,181 - 1,186 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2010

A good hotel with the added value of a great shopping mall attached to the hotel (One Utama). It is not that easy to get into the center of the city, only by taxi. The swimming pool is small and not that great, it has seen better days.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravellingdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Assistant Director of Communications at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2010

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from one world hotel!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. 1 Utama Shopping Centre that is adjoined to the hotel is indeed a great place to be. Apart from taxis that are easily available, the hotel does provide shuttle service for guests who would like to visit Kuala Lumpur city centre. We hope that you will make use of this complimentary service from the hotel when you next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards.

Florence Leong
Assistant Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Arrived at the hotel and was warmly greeted by the doormen / bellboy. The front desk officer checked us in promptly and was also cheerful when dealing with us. Honestly, I have always been cynical about standard of services in Malaysia, what more, a hotel located in the suburbs. So far, so good.

We have booked a superior room, with 2 queen sized beds, and upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the room. The room was also well equiped too. Cleanliness, which is of utmost importance, was pretty acceptable. But, for a hotel which is touted to be 5 stars with the room rates close to 5 star levels, the furniture looks a bit worn down - chips, scratches, the wear and tear sort of look was quite apparent.

There was an entertainment unit which provides for a couple of satelite TV channels (8-10 channels only), video games (you need to pay for it) and pay for view movies (which was priced around RM78, I think - pricey, isn't it?!!).

Had a pretty interesting experience with the Room Service - when the food was delivered to us together with the bill, the staff who delivered did not bring a pen for us to sign on the bill. He apologised. So, we looked around the room for the pen and upon using the pen, there was no ink in the pen. The staff looked a bit taken a back and uttered the words "Oh S - - T!!" Eventhough he was directing it at the situation, and not me, I suppose there should be more training for the staff to handle such situations in a better manner or to be more refined. But, I was ok with it as he was pretty friendly. BUT, my wife found a strand of hair on the food which we have ordered. We didn't bother complaining as it was past midnight and well, what the heck, its just a hotel in the suburbs and we didnt' expect too much out of it.

Plus points: (1) location (2) One Utama (a really decent shopping mall) (3) acceptable standard of service (by local standards) (4) spacious room

Minus points: (1) room rates are a bit pricey (2) the strand of hair in our meal (3) mattress a bit hard for my liking (Westin's heavenly beds are still heavenly excellent) (4) standards overall not exactly up to 5 star standards

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafalution_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Assistant Director of Communications at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from one world hotel!

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We have taken note of the incident you mentioned about the Room Service staff and food ordered. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced. Rest assured appropriate actions including a review of the training programmes will be taken to improve on the level of service and quality of food.

Nevertheless, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and shopping at 1 Utama Shopping Centre.

We value your patronage and hope the above incident did not mar your image of One World Hotel and that you will give us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards.

Florence Leong
Assistant Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Pros:
1) Very nice new hotel, decently sized & clean rooms
2) Directly linked to the huge One Utama shopping mall, literally just a 1 min walk through the lobby for food/ shopping
3) Self-contained (due to the mall) if you just need a one-night stopover and do not need to travel around KL
4) Decent price (paid about SGD$160 with breakfasts) for a 4-5 star hotel & service

Cons:
1) Not very convenient if you want to go to other parts of KL without own transport; need to do transfers or subject yourself to the terrible taxi services that plague M’sia
2) If you need to go to the airport (taxis are not metered, uses “fixed rate” RM80++)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tahoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Assistant Director of Communications at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from one world hotel!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you have had a satisfying stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards.

Florence Leong
Assistant Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

If you are looking for a hotel in central Petaling Jaya, you aren't really spoilt for choice. How that being said, this hotel is in a great location adjoining the One Utama shopping mall. Its also in a fairly central location in PJ located close to TTDI and SS2 residential area. The room is very comfortable and very well kept and spacious. Only one complaint is that the service rom the front desk staff is one of the worst I have ever encountered in all my travels. Sad to say that customer service is not high on the agenda for almost all their reception area staff. I asked for assistance for a restaurant booking within the booking and was squarely told that it was not my (their) job. Requests for an additional room key was also flatly turned down (which is quite horrible since the elevators need a key to operate) and it took ages to check in and out. The concierge was not much better and really made you feel unwelcomed. Fortunately, the team from housekeeping and the restaurants was pleasant. Overall, great place to stay if you plan on limiting your interaction with the staff.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank picololatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Assistant Director of Communications at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from one world hotel!

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your comments regarding the service of our Front Desk staff are extremely valuable and it is only through concerned guests like yourself that we are able to obtain feedback about our operations. Rest assured our Front Office Manager and team will make every effort to resolve such service deficiencies at the Front Desk so that similar incidents do not arise again in the future.

Nevertheless, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our guestroom and shopping at 1 Utama Shopping Centre.

We look forward to a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to One World Hotel.

Regards.

Florence Leong
Assistant Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I stay at the One World Hotel whenever I visit KL/PJ on business. The location is near to my office and right next to One Utama which is a fantastic shopping mall. The hotel looks good from the lobby - huge and spacious. But the rooms are what matter most, right? The rooms are of a reasonable size (by Malaysian standards). There are separate shower stall and bathtub in the bathroom which I appreciate. The breakfast buffet is acceptable. There is no clock in the room, so you will have to rely on your own watch or mobile phone. There are very limited TV channels available ... they have only the local channels, CNN, Cartoon Network, ESPN, HBO, Discovery and one or two other channels. Service level at the breakfast restaurant and front desk can be improved. The service staff at the restaurant are somewhat slow and do not appear to be happy. I checked out at about 8.30am together with a few other guests and there are only 2 service staff at the front desk which resulted in some waiting time to check out.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babym11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Assistant Director of Communications at One World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2010

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from one world hotel!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you liked the location of the hotel which is near to your office and 1 Utama Shopping Centre that is adjoined to the hotel. Nevertheless, we would like to apologise for the slow service experienced during check-out.

We sincerely hope the incident will not deter you from visiting us in the future and that you will give us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards.

Florence Leong
Assistant Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews