We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome KL shopping location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of One World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One World Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
314 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Awesome KL shopping location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Checked into hotel - staff not overly friendly. Went to rooms - clean but problem with hot water which struggled to come through both rooms - left water running more than 8 minutes and had a tepid shower!!! Same thing in the morning... Bed hard but each to their own. Shopping fantastic with a huge mall enough to satisfy all shopaholics!! Every brand available. Might stay in this hotel again for the shopping but no other reason. There are plenty of other hotels around that we would choose before this one!! ;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback regarding your stay with us. We sincere apologise for not being able to meet your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the team for appropriate changes to be made for improvement.

Nevertheless, we are glad to know that you enjoyed shopping at 1 Utama Shopping Centre.

We hope that you would give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Once again our sincere apologies.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    464
    125
    33
    40
See reviews for
329
114
50
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights for work, fast check in service and shopping is just five minutes walk away. Was told by my colleague that it's probably the nicest hotel in PJ, though a bit old. So I didn't harbor any expectation, just want to get it over and done with. But It definitely surpassed my expectation, I like the sumptuous breakfast spread and spacious hotel room. The lobby looks grand although bar service is on the pricey side. The hot water takes a while to be hot though.

Only one thing that irks me. My caucasian colleague received a free room upgrade to a suite when he checked in ten minutes after me. Caught me by surprised and I wonder is it because I'm Asian which explained why I'm not getting the same treatment.

Nonetheless I'm overall satisfied with the hotel and will go back in feb again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_carissa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We are glad to know that your first time experience with One World Hotel has been a pleasant one. Nevertheless, we will also check on the upgrade which you mentioned.

Thank you for your kind feedback. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed for a night at this hotel with my family since the annual dinner of my dad's company was held at the ballroom.

In term of location, this hotel is very convenience since it is just next to one utama. You can do your shopping repeatedly. I think that is the only benefit that this hotel has.

In respect of the room, it is kinda small. The toilet is quite small. The shower is just next to the toilet bowl.

The parking, those are very confusing. You may end up parking your car at one utama instead of one world hotel.

To go to one world hotel, you have to go through massive jam since it is just next to one utama.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanaRosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced.

One World Hotel is indeed the perfect location if you have shopping in mind. We also have great facilities for meetings and annual dinners.

Wishing you a great week ahead and look forward to having you as our guest once again.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

stayed for 2 nights on the 5th floor - the hotel is good but has some misses. The best part of the stay was the breakfast - the best hotel breakfast i've had in the world! The rooms are spacious and they don't stinge on providing amenities. The not so good part was the poor to average check-in. Think was checked in by a staff by the name of Aran? and after handing over the keys no further help was offered on where the rooms are or what not. The cleaniness of the area around the men's locker room and the swimming pool area could also be improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosfartu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our room and enjoyed our breakfast spread; as well as shopping at 1 Utama. Nevertheless, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience experienced during check-in. I have shared your feedback with the team. Hopefully when you next stay with us, you'll have a much more pleasant experience.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good Service and Location
But unhappy with the Valet Parking part as they charge me while i am check in, at least they should inform earlier
Even i booked and mentioned to them i need baby cot but they still provide with best effort, luckily when i checked in, had the last available one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind review on your experience at One World Hotel. We have taken note of your feedback with regards to the charges for valet. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Our Front Office staff have been reminded to inform guests on the charges for valet parking. But we do offer complimentary parking for basement car park.

We hope that the above will not deter you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We took a junior suite and it was fantastic. Check in was on the 19th floor. Suite was spotless, spacious and quiet. We had a great time and the staff were lovely. As mentioned by others, the hotel is connected to a huge mall which made shopping convenient. There's Isetan, Tangs, Parkson, Gap, Armani Exchange, Chanel, Swatch, Massimo Dutti, Coach, Uniglo, Crabtree & Evelyn, Sony and many many more shops.

It was nice to have a break on the club floor during the day....away from the crowds and the hustle and bustle. Once our batteries were re-charged, we headed back to the mall.

Great hotel to stay if shopping is main agenda.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank for the wonderful review. Our team is glad to know that they have made your stay an enjoyable one. 1 Utama Shopping Centre is indeed a shopping 'mecca' with over 600 retail outlets.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our 3rd time staying at One World Hotel as the hotel is link to a big shopping mall which is convenient my family. As usual we dont stay in the room much. Breakfast were great as they have lots of varieties. Only problem is that the staff at the door was not well informed on the number of child breakfast. I have to tell them everyday that I have prepaid for child breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaGhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind review and continued support of One World Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced at the Cinnamon Coffee House.

Rest assured this issue has been brought to the attention of our Restaurant Manager. Hopefully when you next stay with us, you'll have a much more pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royale Chulan Damansara
The Royale Chulan Damansara
#8 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royale Bintang The Curve
The Royale Bintang The Curve
#23 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Qliq Damansara
Qliq Damansara
#9 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One World Hotel

Property: One World Hotel
Address: First Avenue | Bandar Utama city centre, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — One World Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star One World Hotel is located in the heart of Petaling Jaya and is adjoined to 1 Utama Shopping Centre. It offers 438 luxurious guestrooms and 7 food & beverage outlets, with facilities such as fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your One World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 World Hotel
Hotel One World
One World Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing