We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love shopping, then you should stay at this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of One World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One World Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you love shopping, then you should stay at this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed for a night at this hotel with my family since the annual dinner of my dad's company was held at the ballroom.

In term of location, this hotel is very convenience since it is just next to one utama. You can do your shopping repeatedly. I think that is the only benefit that this hotel has.

In respect of the room, it is kinda small. The toilet is quite small. The shower is just next to the toilet bowl.

The parking, those are very confusing. You may end up parking your car at one utama instead of one world hotel.

To go to one world hotel, you have to go through massive jam since it is just next to one utama.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanaRosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced.

One World Hotel is indeed the perfect location if you have shopping in mind. We also have great facilities for meetings and annual dinners.

Wishing you a great week ahead and look forward to having you as our guest once again.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    464
    125
    33
    40
See reviews for
329
114
50
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

stayed for 2 nights on the 5th floor - the hotel is good but has some misses. The best part of the stay was the breakfast - the best hotel breakfast i've had in the world! The rooms are spacious and they don't stinge on providing amenities. The not so good part was the poor to average check-in. Think was checked in by a staff by the name of Aran? and after handing over the keys no further help was offered on where the rooms are or what not. The cleaniness of the area around the men's locker room and the swimming pool area could also be improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosfartu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our room and enjoyed our breakfast spread; as well as shopping at 1 Utama. Nevertheless, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience experienced during check-in. I have shared your feedback with the team. Hopefully when you next stay with us, you'll have a much more pleasant experience.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good Service and Location
But unhappy with the Valet Parking part as they charge me while i am check in, at least they should inform earlier
Even i booked and mentioned to them i need baby cot but they still provide with best effort, luckily when i checked in, had the last available one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind review on your experience at One World Hotel. We have taken note of your feedback with regards to the charges for valet. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Our Front Office staff have been reminded to inform guests on the charges for valet parking. But we do offer complimentary parking for basement car park.

We hope that the above will not deter you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We took a junior suite and it was fantastic. Check in was on the 19th floor. Suite was spotless, spacious and quiet. We had a great time and the staff were lovely. As mentioned by others, the hotel is connected to a huge mall which made shopping convenient. There's Isetan, Tangs, Parkson, Gap, Armani Exchange, Chanel, Swatch, Massimo Dutti, Coach, Uniglo, Crabtree & Evelyn, Sony and many many more shops.

It was nice to have a break on the club floor during the day....away from the crowds and the hustle and bustle. Once our batteries were re-charged, we headed back to the mall.

Great hotel to stay if shopping is main agenda.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank for the wonderful review. Our team is glad to know that they have made your stay an enjoyable one. 1 Utama Shopping Centre is indeed a shopping 'mecca' with over 600 retail outlets.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our 3rd time staying at One World Hotel as the hotel is link to a big shopping mall which is convenient my family. As usual we dont stay in the room much. Breakfast were great as they have lots of varieties. Only problem is that the staff at the door was not well informed on the number of child breakfast. I have to tell them everyday that I have prepaid for child breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaGhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind review and continued support of One World Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced at the Cinnamon Coffee House.

Rest assured this issue has been brought to the attention of our Restaurant Manager. Hopefully when you next stay with us, you'll have a much more pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Visiting the Kidzania was the reason I chose to stay at this hotel. My decision to choose One World Hotel over Royale Bintang Damansara was right. Because, in short, I fell in love with this hotel after a one night stay. Kid you not!

Let me start right from the point I checked in. I arrived at 12.30pm, exactly 5 hours after leaving my home in Singapore and hitting the roads. Although checking-in time was stated to be 3pm, we were accommodated to be given a room straight away. We were told that the room we were originally assigned to is still not cleaned yet, and that we would be given another room. Great! So off we go to our room on the 18th floor.

I stayed at the Executive Deluxe Room, with 2 queen-sized beds. The room is spacious. Just nice for a family of 2 adults and 2 very young kids. The beds and pillows were comfy. The only thing that I didn’t like (if I were to be petty), is the 3 different sized pillows for each bed. The huge square one is really comfy but rather too big for the night. So we chucked it one side and let it sleep alone.

With 1-Utama shopping mall linked to the lobby of the hotel, finding food and other stuff was a breeze.

After spending a whole 5 hours at Kidzania, we went to sleep on the nice, soft, comfy beds and pillows. Then comes the breakfast!

We were expecting a normal spread of buffet breakfast, just like any other 5-star hotels we’ve been to. But we were clearly set for a surprise! There was so much choice of food for breakfast. My wife and I joked that this is really “One World” where food from various parts of the world congregate to meet us for breakfast!

The best part was yet to be. My wife was delighted that they serve fruit juices. No, not those fruit juices that you have your glass placed at the dispenser. This time, it is freshly pressed for you, right before your eyes. Between my wife and I, we had five glasses. From watermelon to orange to carrot + celery to carrot + celery + orange + watermelon…. :) And so we had our fill. The best we had, EVER.

We only had an hour left before checking out, so the kids were delighted to be brought out for swimming. They truly enjoyed the kiddy pool that comes with a nice slide.

After a full 24 hours of great hospitality at One World Hotel, we checked out at 12.30pm, promising ourselves that we will definitely be checking in again, soon…

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelHellNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Petaling Jaya. We are glad to know that you had overall enjoyed your stay.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've been staying in this hotel regularly for the last few years, and this is my second stay with them last year. Over the years, I've tried all of the rooms they have to offer, and have to say that the Junior Suite is my favourite - great value especially when they do have the weekend promotion. It is very spacious and has a great layout, a separate lounge area from the bed. This room type also comes with free pieces of laundry service!

The staff at Peridot Club are pleasant and helpful. The Lounge also offers all day snacks and beverages.

This hotel is also great for family with kids as it's connected to 1 Utama mall - with its plethora of shops, cafes and restaurants. Oh there's a kids playground too.

Room Tip: Go for at least a Deluxe room, worth the extra money to upgrade from a Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn_wabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royale Chulan Damansara
The Royale Chulan Damansara
#8 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royale Bintang The Curve
The Royale Bintang The Curve
#23 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Qliq Damansara
Qliq Damansara
#9 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One World Hotel

Property: One World Hotel
Address: First Avenue | Bandar Utama city centre, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — One World Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star One World Hotel is located in the heart of Petaling Jaya and is adjoined to 1 Utama Shopping Centre. It offers 438 luxurious guestrooms and 7 food & beverage outlets, with facilities such as fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your One World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 World Hotel
Hotel One World
One World Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing