We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of One World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One World Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
S.E.A.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Stayed at this property for 2 nights in a Deluxe Club Rm. Experience was pleasant. Hotel was only opened about 6 mths ago --7th July 2007 to be exact so very new and clean. Breakfast spread was fairly good. We ate once in the main breakfast area (Cinammon Coffeehouse) and once @ the Peridot Club. Though previous reviewers cimmented on rude staff etc but we didn't experience any of that on this trip, in face most of the people we spoke to were polite and had adequate command of English. We did experience problems with the CXS television system which broke down 4 times within a 12 hour frame! That was a tad annoying apart from that we had a good stay and would return to this hotel if we need to be in this area again,

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaye_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    462
    125
    33
    40
See reviews for
328
113
50
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2008

Stayed there after New Year.

Very disappointed with the hotel which was supposedly to be a "5 star" hotel'

Room finishing despite being new was tacky and looks "cheap".

Service was poor with English being spoken at a minimal.

Rooms were also relatively expensive and I think the hotel is caught in between a business hotel and a luxury hotel and cannot decided which.

Definitely I will not return.

  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemgem8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

This is a good hotel for business if your meetings and associates are in Petaling Jaya. Very new hotel with good rooms. Also good for travel companions whilst you work, they can shop at the mega mall - One Utama or OneU for short hich is connected to hotel by a linkway.It just takes 2 mins. Mall has aplenty to keep one occupied or destress after a day's work. Breakfast is good selection of Asian and Western buffet. Carpark is free for guests. Pity about the WIFI and internet access which is chargeable. Ironic considering Starbucks in the mall has free WIFI. Good TV system and bathroom facilities with rain shower and bathtub caters to all. Pool facilities seems ok although not quite complete when I was there.
Caution about the linkway closing at 11pm if you plan to watch midnight movie. ILoction wise, its just next to IBM office tower.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No free WIFI or internet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rinster2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

I came on this last minute 3 day - business trip with my husband and was initially skeptical about it's 5 star rating. However, I am pleased to note that my fears were totally unnecessary.

The bedroom was really cozy and comfortable. The King-sized bed is an actual king-size and not 2 beds pushed together. Sometimes, you find that in some hotels and that can be really uncomfortable with a "dividing" line right in the center so this was a pleasant surprise. The sheets' thread count was heavenly and we had 2 good nights' rest.

Bathroom was gorgeous with both a tub and a shower as well as a rain-shower. Toiletries' supply was great with 2 of everything - i.e 2 bottles of shampoo, 2 bottles of body lotion etc... :)

In-room internet was an easy set-up with fast connection so to all whose livelihood depends on the net, rest assured.

Service provided was always with a smile, even when staff just walked past. Cinnamon restaurant's breakfast buffet was pretty extensive and actually delicious. Supper at the same restaurant was alright though. I had breakfast sent to my room one morning and it was within a reasonable amount of time - 20mins - and again, great service.

There is a huge shopping mall adjoined to the hotel so that makes it extremely convenient. The mall opens around 10am and closes 10pm so 12 hours of shopping right at your doorstep is pretty amazing.

The location however, is kinda far from the city itself - approximately half hour without traffic and trust me, Kuala Lumpur is famous for it's terrible, terrible traffic jam. So, if your business/leisure is conducted in the city, this hotel might be a hassle. If not, this is a hotel that will not disappoint.

  • Liked — Everthing.
  • Disliked — Supper at Cinnamon Restaurant.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank audreyu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Was in One World for 1 night as got a event @ their ball room.

The room was clean & nice, service are good. Food at the terrence was very good enjoy very much.

Swimming was ok.

Some part of the hotel is stil under renovation so u might heard some noise during day time.

Overall is nice & worth to stay.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nordus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

One World Hotel is very new - only about 2 months old. It's conveniently attached to the 1 Utama Shopping Centre. Also nearby are various other shopping centres like the Curve, Ikea, Ikano Power Centre etc. Rooms are big - we had a room with 2 queen beds, and there was enough room for a baby cot. Rates are on the high end but this is a 5-star hotel. As it's new, all the amenities etc are still in very good condition! Friendly staff. We particularly enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the Cinnamon Coffee House. Very good selection.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
5.3 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,725 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,274 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royale Chulan Damansara
The Royale Chulan Damansara
#7 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royale Bintang The Curve
The Royale Bintang The Curve
#20 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
338 reviews
1.3 mi away
Qliq Damansara
Qliq Damansara
#9 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One World Hotel

Property: One World Hotel
Address: First Avenue | Bandar Utama city centre, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — One World Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star One World Hotel is located in the heart of Petaling Jaya and is adjoined to 1 Utama Shopping Centre. It offers 438 luxurious guestrooms and 7 food & beverage outlets, with facilities such as fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your One World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 World Hotel
Hotel One World
One World Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing