We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so only”
Review of One World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One World Hotel
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So so only”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here for a night…when we first told our friends about staying here, they were like ‘wow’, due to it’s quite pricey and very convenient, which is in adjacent to the One Utama shopping mall. The main reason why we chose this hotel was due to our long distance coach from Singapore directly reaches this place. Upon arrival , we saw quite a number of other coach companies ticketing booths here, including the Gentings coach.

When we first entered the room, we were impressed by the personalised welcome message on the LCD screen. However the rest of the room condition was so so only, considering the price we paid. Found some hair on the bathroom floor, so not really well cleaned. The toiletries were on a stingy side. My husband and I were squeezing the life out of the little shampoo and shower gel. Meanwhile luckily my husband and I brought our own toothbrush and toothpaste, because these weren’t given. The local call charges from room were really expensive too. The breakfast buffet was acceptable though.

Overall, we felt it wasn’t value for money and not as ‘wow’ as we thought it would be.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. We are indeed disappointed to learn of the service shortfalls which you mentioned. On behalf of the hotel, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced.

As for the supply of toothbrush and toothpaste, do request through our Housekeeping when you next stay with us. We will be more than happy to oblige.

We sincerely hope that you would consider staying with us again when you next visit Petaling Jaya.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    475
    126
    34
    40
See reviews for
339
116
52
468
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I've been staying at this establishment either solo or with family countless times from Day 1 since the hotel was opened. The only reason I choose to stay here is because of the location, nothing more - it's connected to One Utama, the largest mall in Malaysia and has good, safe ample parking and is very near to shopping at The Curve just round the corner. I make the 349km drive from Singapore to KL at least once a quarter. The hotel is also situated in PJ and therefore if I may say so - far from the madness of downtown KL. Service has constantly slipped and apart from the greetings from the doormen and bellhops. You would think you were invisible. Frontdesk staff are superficial and robotic. They just perform their task to get by. In general, you don't get the service expected of a five star hotel...although the facade and interiors display all of it. As mentioned, I've stayed here many times yet there is no recognition of one's "loyalty" and hardly any Smiles from the team. Rooms in general are good and I have no issues here. A well equipped gym and quiet pools (2 pools - one for the kids!) is ideal for the short getaway. The Harn and Thann Spa is reputable but somewhat pricey. We had adjoining rooms this time for 2 families - 1 x 2 Queens size beds and 1 x 1 King + single bed. Total of 4 adults + 3 kids (ages 8,9,10). Shopping is a major plus because of One Utama. One final thing, the water heater takes awhile to heat up and the non-smoking room had strong scent of tar. So just make these checks when you are planning your trip here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during the recent stay. We have taken note of the shortfalls in our level of service that you mentioned and rest assured, our team will strive to work on improving the service levels especially at the front desk.

We look forward to your return visit. At that time, we will endeavour to provide you with the level of service that will meet and exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your valuable time and consideration.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel is clean, well maintained, great breakfast buffet with staff responsive to concerns.

When I arrived, in the evening, there was jack-hammering going on at a construction site next door. Apparently night construction work. When I called to ask for another room away from the construction noise, the staff were able to accommodate.

There is a shopping center / mall next door that will give you plenty of options for shopping during the day. Shop opening times are not long by western standards. The shopping mall also has eating options, but check opening times for the restaurants.

Back at the hotel, the breakfast buffet is extensive, offering many options both for the Western palate as well as the Asian. Although the hotel is large, I never had a problem with crowding or lines - either at check in - check out or at the breakfast buffet.

The room quality is very good - a comfortable bed, and no humid, musty smell which is very often found in tropical climate hotels. Room and bathroom were very clean.

Others have noted the somewhat unpredictable speed and quality of the internet connection. For a word class hotel, this was the most notable improvement needed. But, this did not detract from an overall excellent rating for this fine hotel.

Room Tip: Facing away from construction at the shopping mall next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LettsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneWorldHotel, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback which we truly appreciate. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the noise from upgrading works at 1 Utama Shopping Centre as well as the internet connection. For your information, the upgrading works will be completed soon.

Hopefully when you next stay with us, you will have a more comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My company had booked about 6 hotel rooms + a boardroom for a meeting - both on short notice. From the start to end the whole process was so painful. May [--], who initially handled our booking, impatiently said we needed to be out of the boardroom by 1:30pm, even though they did not have any booking after us because they “COULD” have a potential booking and will lose out money on that if we were allowed to overstay. NEVER reveal this to a customer! Make up something else! Then during the confirmation process the same lady was acting annoyed of me and kept saying “well you are booking so last minute” - if this is the case the hotel should just turn away the customer and say sorry this is too short notice for us instead of semi-accommodating, while making us feel guilty (even though we are paying customers). After the stay my boss spoke to Lore [--] who agreed to credit us 1 day of room stay + board room which we did not utilize it. Later they refused to honour this after we had checked out. I tried numerous times to contact the manager and spoke to several people. Each time they did not provide me with any managers contact information and kept saying they are not here, they are gone for lunch etc (all lame excuses!) We were made to feel as though we were doing THEM a favour by staying at their hotel! I would NEVER recommend this hotel. The only reason we were stuck booking with them was because it was so last minute. If you want good service and general respect, YOU WON’T FIND IT HERE!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelinMewMew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

We read with great concern the review you shared on TripAdvisor. I have personally investigated on the concerns that you raised in particular to the attitude of our Conventions & Events staff who was assigned to your event. I would like to assure you that we take your comments seriously as it reminds us of how important it is to get the basics right especially for an industry such as ours.

However, we hope that you would understand that the following explanation is by no means to justify our staff’s actions/reaction as mentioned but it’s meant to correct the information which you posted. In this highly competitive market situation, we cannot afford any guest to have a negative impression and rest assured our goal is to provide our guests with efficient and personalized service.

Your company booked a meeting package which was to be held in our Business Centre from 8th to 10th July 2011 and 6 rooms were booked as well for the same period. However, on the 9th of July at around 1.30 pm, we received a notification that your company wanted to change the time of the meeting from full day to half day for 9th of July and totally canceled the half day meeting on the 10th July. In fact we have even allowed the afternoon coffee break on the 9th July to be taken away which is not our normal practice. Our half day meeting package is for meetings to be held from 9.00 to 12 noon. In this case, an extension was made for your company to use the meeting room till 1.30 pm without any additional charges on the 8th July. And this was communicated clearly to Ms Elaine Wong.

We strongly believe that May did not make the remark or lame excuse to have your company vacate the room by 1.30 pm. What you failed to mention in your review is that you were the one who approached the Business Centre staff to find out if another company was to occupy the room after yours. We are unsure of your purpose in approaching our staff but the Business Centre’s meeting rooms do cater to walk-in customers. If there is an opportunity to sell the meeting room after your company has vacate the room, we will not hesitate to do so.

Perhaps you would also like to reconfirm with your boss on the extension of 1 day use room + 1 board room as mentioned in your review. Our Ms Lore did extend 2 Superior Rooms on complimentary basis inclusive of WiFi connectivity and 1 breakfast to your company for the following event but definitely, we did not commit on the day use room and Boardroom which has been mentioned.

There were communications via emails between Ms Elaine Wong and our Ms Lore subsequent to your event in our hotel. We are unsure as to why you mentioned that you could not locate our Ms Lore or any of our managers which in fact you did speak to our Director of Rooms on this matter.

At One World Hotel, almost any problem experienced by our guests can be quickly resolved and corrected within a reasonable time frame when they are reported and if the hotel is given the opportunity to address them. As a gesture of goodwill, we have in fact offered you two complimentary Superior rooms stay for one night inclusive of WiFi connectivity and 1 breakfast.

As you mentioned, the event and rooms booking was a last minute booking done by your goodself at our hotel. It was also a last minute decision on your part to change the 9th July meeting to a half day and cancel the meeting totally on the 10th July. With this, the room stays were also shortened (of which four rooms were checked out much earlier without prior notice to the hotel). In actual fact, for any short stays, a room charge will be levied. However, in this case, the hotel did not even press for any payments for the short stay. Because we understand that there was a need to cancel the remaining night for the rooms due to unforeseen circumstances, Our Ms Lore made the suggestion that we offer Ms Elaine Wong the complimentary superior rooms stay inclusive of WiFi connectivity and 1 breakfast instead as we are unable to refund the full payment made.

We were under the impression we had resolved this issue to your satisfaction at the time it was brought to our attention through the emails between Ms Elaine Wong and our Ms Lore. I am sorry if this was not the case. If you would like to seek further clarification on the above, I would appreciate if you could contact me directly at shona_p@oneworldhotel.com.my


Warm regards.

Shona Pang
Director of Conventions & Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

A hotel that hosts Liverpool and Chelsea teams has to be great.
and they live up to their expectations. I moved to this hotel in march after some disappointing experience in another hotel and I am so happy about my decision.
Pricing offers excellent value for money in a modern hotel with a great buffet restaurant. The shopping mall next door offers anything we can hope for. The chambermaid told us "welcome back!" which left us feeling great. I wish they would offer the wifi included in my rate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveller98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. Not to mention your support and patronage.

Your favourable comments will be shared with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The location is great. Next to 1Utama. Direct Skybus from LCCT (RM15) to 1Utama. The bus terminal is at new wing, while the hotel is next to old wing. In 1Utama, lookout for the direction to Jusco (Jusco is situation in old wing & is currently under renovation) if you are not able to find the hotel sign. Once in old wing, just follow One World hotel sign.

The rooms are great. Clean & cozy. 4 pillows & a bolster for a king size bed. Great! The staff are friendly. Once we checked in & settled down, the housekeeping staff came by & asked if everything's fine.

Breakfast is another great in this hotel. Overall, we enjoyed our stay...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunniee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Public Relations Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

We are pleased to read that your experience in our hotel has been pleasant and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Jusco has since reopened after an impressive renovation exercise. I am sure you will enjoy shopping there when you next stay with us.

We hope to have you again as our guest soon.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Left a bunch of documents in the room which I stayed over for the whole week and checked out without it.

Called house keeping to find it 3 days later only to know they do not have it.

Very disappointed to know such services to retain what could be important for at least a week before disposal. Very surprised.

Poor service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTS-SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneflo, Front Office Manager at One World Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Firstly, I do sincerely apologise for the documents that couldn't be recovered by our Housekeeping. Items left by guests are kept for a maximum of 3 months from the date of recovery. But in your case, our Housekeeping was not able to locate the documents mentioned even after a thorough search.

We value your patronage and hope that this incident does nor mar your image of the hotel. We look forward to having you as our guest once again.

Warm regards.

Florence Leong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royale Chulan Damansara
Royale Chulan Damansara
#8 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
440 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royale Chulan The Curve
Royale Chulan The Curve
#22 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Somerset Damansara Uptown Petaling Jaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One World Hotel

Property: One World Hotel
Address: First Avenue | Bandar Utama city centre, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — One World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star One World Hotel is located in the heart of Petaling Jaya and is adjoined to 1 Utama Shopping Centre. It offers 438 luxurious guestrooms and 7 food & beverage outlets, with facilities such as fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your One World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 World Hotel
Hotel One World
One World Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing