We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royale Chulan The Curve
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Tabanan - Bali
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - Nice Location”
Reviewed June 11, 2010

I were stay for two nights at this hotel which we feel is very short because we need more time actually to stay to explore the Petaling Jaya and Damansara City.\

We haven't time to visit IKEA which just at a cross the street. Good location for shopping and dining. Friendly staff and the duty were very helpful to us while the safety box in our room is error and she help us with smile and assist us very well. Thank you once again for the service have give to us.

The breakfast were okay with some variatif which we can choose from some foods that provide.

Generally, we are happy to stay at The Royale Bintang Damansaran and of course will back again and may try the Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balihomestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    114
    109
    48
    44
See reviews for
137
39
20
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

When I read about the multiple negative reviews of the Royale Bintang Damansara on Trip Advisor, I was a little worried that it may not be a great place to stay. However, we had friends in KL who were staying close to this place and they were quite endorsive of the hotel. Thankfully, I agreed to their choice. The hotel was a wonderful experience and a great stay with even with my 2½ year old kid enjoying himself.
The room we had pre-booked – Club Studio - was unavailable, hence we got a complimentary upgrade to the Deluxe Club Studio. Rooms were spacious and most importantly neat and clean including the bathroom. The swimming pool was not too hot though.
What also sets this hotel apart from the ones in main KL town is that it is in the centre of shopping malls, a cinema, supermarkets, even a weekend flea markets and a host of restaurants all around – at the same time – less traffic and not too much of crowd or noise which one can expect in the main KL hotels. There are a host of eateries around this hotel offering all types of food and open from early morning till late night. The tourist population is also a lot less in this area and hence it is a good way to look around for neat deals in the malls / markets around as well as blend in with the locals.
I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THE HOTEL and would look at staying there the next time I visit.

Place to visit within KL:
• Bukit Bintang (including Bintang Walk) – Great for shopping and lots of restaurants around. Great ambience – a tourist hotspot
• Sungei Wang – one of the oldest shopping centers in KL – must visit for the bargains
• Batu Caves – One of the largest temples in Asia devoted to the Lord Murugan (son of Shiva and Parvathi). This place also have a replica of the famous temple of Lord Balaji at Tirupati, India
• KL Towers and Petronas Twin Towers – wonders of the world – however, KL towers closes at 9:30 pm so make it before that to get to see the view from the top

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balaji V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Just returned home after staying over a week. Found the hotel to be nice and functionally comfortable. The room was clean. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was good but uninteresting.Good place to stay if you are looking at serious mall walking.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajiv b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Cleanliness is clearly not a priority in this hotel. And I have a laundry list of grievances -

- when I first entered the room, there was a piece of used soap on the sink
- bathroom wall had mildew or mould
- I spotted a number of ants crawling on the bedside tables
- the room had a funny smell. I had to get the chambermaid in to spray air freshener
- the pillow smelt funny
- I had mosquito bites within 1/2 hour of sitting in the restaurant on the ground floor

Other grouses :
- When I had problems with my access card, I brought it to the recep only to have it wrongly coded to the wrong room!
- If I was attending a 3-day seminar, I had quite a number of lunches and dinners in the hotel. The food selection was very limited and not that tasty. You're better off eating at the nearby restaurants
- No bathtub!

Plus points :
- Location's fantastic. The shopping mall next to the hotel had lots of nice, interesting-themed restaurants. Great location for foodies.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SINGTRAVELLER_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petaling Jaya hotels

Perth, Western Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2010

This was our second stay at the Royale Bintange Damansara. Our teenage boys love the fact that they can wander outside to any number of restaurants (including Macdonalds!) till late a night, and we feel they are safe in the surrounding environment of the Hotel. The movie theatre and bowling alley is a few minutes walk and of course The Curve Shopping Centre is right there or 1 Utama Shopping Centre 5 minutes away. There are markets on the weekend and the atmosphere is great and we loved being away from the hustle and bustle of KL city. A free shuttle bus is available from The Curve into The Royale Bintang in KL about 45 minutes away. Sunway Lagoon Resort s not too far from Damansara either. We wouldn't stay anywhere else while in KL..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz058_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

To be fair, the hotel is just okay. Traffic around the area is horrible, so ideal if you intend to shop at The Curve, Ikano or IKEA without having to spend hours to find a spot to park your car.

Food at The Curve is fantastic. I would not spend more than a night here.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnilbroloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

What I liked best about this hotel was that it looked posh, which helped in terms of the fact that it felt value for money as it's quite an expensive hotel.

The family room is really nice and very cosy - it's almost like having your own service apartment.

However, service is quite lacking and so are the handymen. We had a couple of faults with our room:

* The door to the balcony was broken and slightly ajar... fortunately the handymen did come to fix this

* I was having a bath and having a good relaxing lie down in the bathtub... when suddenly I realised that there was a leak as the water kept slowly receeding. I thought that this was probably just me... but when I got up from the bath tub, I noticed that there was water leaking everywhere... and it even leaked into the bedroom!

Although we complained, no one came to fix the issue. The day we checked out, they also refused to give us a discount or even apologise even though we took this issue up with them.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lod3st4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.2 mi away
Royale Chulan Damansara
Royale Chulan Damansara
#8 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
446 reviews
0.8 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Qliq Damansara
Qliq Damansara
#9 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Somerset Damansara Uptown Petaling Jaya
3.1 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
604 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan The Curve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan The Curve

Property: Royale Chulan The Curve
Address: 6 Jalan Pju 7/3 | Mutiara Damansara, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia (Formerly The Royale Bintang The Curve)
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#10 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Chulan The Curve 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Royale Chulan The Curve hotel (formerly known as The Royale Bintang The Curve) at Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia bring you closer to everything that matters. From a sophisticated urban respite to lavish diversions, this 4-star hotel in Mutiara Damansara surrounds you with ease and luxury befitting a worry-free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royale Chulan The Curve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Bintang Damansara Hotel Petaling Jaya
Royale Bintang Damansara Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing