We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royale Chulan The Curve
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Reviewed December 1, 2009

we were looking for a hotel in petaling jaya - basically so we could be near ikea. this hotel is perfect, located smack in the middle of The Curve complex and pretty much literally across the street from ikea. for regular shopping, one doesn't have to leave this area at all.

it's a cab ride away from the city center - around 40RM.

but the main thing i want to say is that the staff was great! extremely efficient, very polite... down to giving us a box to pack our last minute purchases as we were checking out. good value at 245RM a night and highly recommended if you're staying in this part of town

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 365 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed there twice in 2 years. For both occassions, we stayed at the family suite. Clean and comfortable. Most convenient where food and shopping is concerned since the hotel is attached to a few shopping centres. Breakfast buffet spread a bit small but tasty nonetheless.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoonWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Great location as it's just above all the shopping. Rooms are clean and tidy. Airconds are strong enuf. Breakfast was also good. Great pool too. Had a happy stay. Stayed at a Family room and a deluxe. Family room was a connecting 2 bedroom wif a small living corner. Shared 1 big bathroom. Will return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suitejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

The hotel has a location away from city centre but is still suffered from traffic jam from connecting roads. For most, the hotel is convenient in terms of restaurants and departmental stores nearby. If you choose it for business purpose like me, just bear with the poor housekeeping service on top of time spent to travel to KLCC when you need to go out during free time.
I had never got the right number of towels in my bath room. When I asked the housekeeping staff on my floor, they asked me to call housekeeping myself. It happened to me almost everyday during my 9 days' stay. Can't the housekeeping does it right for the guest? My last day I got only two bath towels. Floor was not vacuum if not asked. Bin sometimes not cleaned if not full. I got skin rash one morning and had my room changed without a question asked within 2 hours.
Reception just didn't answer questions in full and left me to figure what was missing. My bill is supposed to be paid by company account but I was asked to pay when check out. I told the girl she should check the check in voucher but she could not find it and asked if I could pass her my copy.
The breakfast was one of the worst in its class. I ate the same (95%) food for the 9 days. Quality of food was poor too. Porridge was just warm which is not acceptable for a 4 star hotel. Service was slow and had to be reminded to clean up table.
I could have no complaint if the hotel was 2 star and I stayed shorter period. For the rate it charged me, I am sure I could find a better deal. Quite disappointing indeed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Good_Partner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

The hotel is right in the centre of a pretty big mall, the Curve.. I loved the options we had for meals as there are probably 100's of joints in near vicinity.. Being an Indian I liked Colonial times restaurant; which is just outside the hotel.

Taxis can take you easily anywhere in KL in just about 20 minutes.. The buses for Genting are at walking distance as well and pretty cheap. There is also a good Cinema hall about 50m from the hotel and can be enjoyed over the weekend.

Overall a very nice experience..

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MNBIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

I stayed in the Royale Bintang for the second time.The first time was about 2 yrs ago. The staffs were friendly and the buffet breakdfast was sumptous. The location of th e hotel is so good..so many shopping area around it and you will definately need more than one day to tour around the area. Looking for meals were never a problem because there are so many eateries to choose from.. The disadvantage of this hotel is you need to pay for the parking fees....which is normally free for other hotels.I checked in on Friday and checked out on Saturday..thus have to pay RM5 for the parking fees. The room was clean and the furnishing was still very new. The housekeeping service was not so efficient but tolerable.Overall this hotel is highly recommended for those who enjoy shopping all day long...

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKTCJOHOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Ohhhhh soooooo AVERAGE. No real major issues, but a real average Hotel and an average experience and no real value in staying here, in fact quite expensive relative to downtown KL Hotels.

The major highlight is the location (although downtown KL is heaps better). The Hotel back ends The Curve, a major culinary and shopping mall. It is full of things to do, buy, eat, drink with locals etc....however, that's about it......pretty avearge overall.

All Hotel staffs were couteous, the rooms tidy and servicable but small, the amenities adequate etc......but just AVERAGE.

The worst part of the experience is the Hotel breakfast. It is a western style breakfast served buffet. It looks very bland and tastes just as bland. You're better off not including breakfast in the room tarriff and venturing outside (ie. within 20 metres) and getting something at The Curve.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KosBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.2 mi away
Royale Chulan Damansara
Royale Chulan Damansara
#8 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Qliq Damansara
Qliq Damansara
#9 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Somerset Damansara Uptown Petaling Jaya
3.1 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manhattan Business Hotel Damansara Perdana
Manhattan Business Hotel Damansa...
#26 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan The Curve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan The Curve

Address: 6 Jalan Pju 7/3 | Mutiara Damansara, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia (Formerly The Royale Bintang The Curve)
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#11 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range: $64 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Chulan The Curve 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Royale Chulan The Curve hotel (formerly known as The Royale Bintang The Curve) at Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia bring you closer to everything that matters. From a sophisticated urban respite to lavish diversions, this 4-star hotel in Mutiara Damansara surrounds you with ease and luxury befitting a worry-free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Royale Chulan The Curve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Bintang Damansara Hotel Petaling Jaya
Royale Bintang Damansara Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing