We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royale Chulan The Curve
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Burnaby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good stay, great location”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed in a family suite room for 2 nights. There's a king size bed in separate bedroom, and 2 double beds in living room as well as a couch. The beds were quite comfortable.
In the bathroom there's separate shower cubicle and a bathtub.

Lots of shopping area and restaurants around the hotel. Very convenient.

Decent breakfast buffet with local and western cuisines. Eg. roti prata, rice congee, various bread and cereals, fruits, french toast, sausage, bacon, and an egg station.
Swimming pool was quite big, although it seems not maintained very well. I saw a bunch of cigarette butts on the floor by the swimming pool.
The spa was good. I had a massage and body scrub, and it was pretty relaxing.

There's no free wifi.
From the hotel lounge sometimes I was able to get free wifi signals from nearby restaurant, but it was flakey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariatta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalebintang, Manager at Royale Chulan The Curve, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Cherrycola81

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip. We are glad to note that you did have a pleasant stay with Royale Bintang. We are happy to be able to meet your expectations! We do hope to see you more often! Please do contact me at royalebintang@gmail.com when you next stay with us.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    114
    109
    48
    44
See reviews for
137
39
20
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night in their Club Studio.
Location is good - next to The Curve shopping mall and many restaurants for lunch/dinner. Walking distance to IKEA (my wife loves it).
Service at front desk is good and prompt.
Room condition and bed sheets needs upgrade.
Breakfast so so but the staffs are very hard working to replenish food even near to the end of breakfast time.
I will visit again for its good location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spore
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the family suite for 2 nights.

The best thing about this hotel is the nearby shopping malls surrounding it. There is no lack of retails outlets and resturants. There is an Ikea just across the street.

The room is not well maintain at all, with patch of water seepage seen spreading out at the ceiling in the room and water stained mark wallpaper. The leakage was not rectified and yet they allowed room to be stayed by guest, seems to tarnish the hotel image.

The toilet ceiling was not touch up after being damaged by the seepage. The ceiling board was with yellow water stain marks. This made it look so dilapidated.

Cleanliness is not up to mark too, with patches/ mark of black stains on the arm chair, it leg rest and the carpeted flooring.

The spread of breakfast is not very fantastic, it seems to be lack of variety. My friend saw the cook placed a roti Prata dough back into the plate of uncooked doughs after his failed attemp of his "flipping" demonstration, whereby the dough dropped onto the floor. Not once but twice.

Family suit rooms had a connected door between 2 suits. Any noise from the next room will be enough to wake you up from your sleep and let you have a sleepless night.

On the second night of our stay, we encountered children shouting, screaming, playing with door at 1am plus. This left me with no choice but to call the reception for help. To our relief, the noise volume was lower down but not to total silent. We can still hear the children noise on and off. No choice but to put up with it as there is no way to keep 3 young kids to total silent, we just have to be more compromising.

They should put in more effort to maintain and upkeep the condition of the rooms and also pay more attention on the room's cleanliness. If there is no improvement being made, soon it will lost it crowd.

I don't mind of giving it another chance, considering the malls around it. However, if there is other new choice near this hotel, I will give it a miss next time round.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babySpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had earlier requested for an executive non-smoking king size bed room but was in a pang of disappointnent when the room was filled with cigarette smell in a non-smoking floor. The bellhop informed the reception and we were given a twin sharing room instead. The cons of the room was firstly without a bathtub which we needed to shower our baby, and was told that only suite has it. Then the baby cot provided was shaky and gave out creaking sound.
Thirdly, a reminder for all guests to check the items stated in the mini bar list to ensure that items are at the mini bar. We found out that bottles of juices were missing from the fridge and some packets of crackers were missing. The mini bar list has been marked by the previous guest and was not given a new list in the room. The housekeeping staff was informed asap to avoid any additional payment.
Though our stay wasn't a pleasant ones however I would share that some of the service staff have provided good service and also not forgetting that the hotel is situated in food paradise location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petitv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Was in KL last weekend to attend a colleague's wedding. The hotel looks pretty tired but i must admit that the location is pretty good. Its located near a few shopping malls and many many restaurants. There is a bridge that link the hotel to the malls. So you do not have to worry about the weather. The spread at the hotel restaurant during breakfast time is very limited. Given a choice, i will rather not pay for it and go elsewhere to eat outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socialitebutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Now that Kids Zania themepark is open since 28 Feb at this location. This Hotel is the only one that you should be staying if you intend to visit because it is just within walking distance of 5 mins.

The hotel also provide some activities for kids ( ice skating ring opening soon) and everything is within walking distance ( bowling alley, cinema, restaurant, pub). Good for a 3D2N stay and definitely must visit kids zania if you stay here.

I stayed at Family suite with another family of 3. This is the best value room as it include breakfast for 4 adults. I will be back here soon.

Room Tip: The best value rooms are the family suite cos it comes with a bath-tub as well and the toilet are su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keikeitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed in one of the Club Rooms on the 31st Dec 2011. At midnight, we came down to the lobby to watch the fireworks. Imagine the horror when all of us could not get into our rooms after midnight. Apparently the hotel's system reset all the key cards at midnight so we were left stranded at the lobby. The management panicked and did not know what to do. Asked us to go to the coffee house to have coffee (what coffee? we want to sleep!!) When we asked what time we could get into our rooms, the hotel manager replied 30mins, which turned into more than 1 and 1/2 hours. The PR manager Dang Suria was the worst.. When she came to explain the situation and all of us guests were complaining she had a smirk on her face. What kind of PR was that?! Breakfast was even more horrendous, the food was not replenished and there was only one waitress serving at least more than 10 tables. When we asked for salt and pepper she said it was finished. (we went and took it from another table ourselves). When we wanted to take the food the server just took the food away to the kitchen without even asking us and there was still food in the tray. Overall I will never come back to this hotel ever again even if they give me free rooms to stay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 24n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petaling Jaya hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.2 mi away
Royale Chulan Damansara
Royale Chulan Damansara
#8 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
446 reviews
0.8 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Qliq Damansara
Qliq Damansara
#9 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Somerset Damansara Uptown Petaling Jaya
3.1 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
604 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan The Curve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan The Curve

Property: Royale Chulan The Curve
Address: 6 Jalan Pju 7/3 | Mutiara Damansara, Petaling Jaya 47800, Malaysia (Formerly The Royale Bintang The Curve)
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#10 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Chulan The Curve 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Royale Chulan The Curve hotel (formerly known as The Royale Bintang The Curve) at Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia bring you closer to everything that matters. From a sophisticated urban respite to lavish diversions, this 4-star hotel in Mutiara Damansara surrounds you with ease and luxury befitting a worry-free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royale Chulan The Curve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Bintang Damansara Hotel Petaling Jaya
Royale Bintang Damansara Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing