We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the villas recently for the weekend. The hotel and the villa itself was well kept. The service was good as well with friendly and helpful staff. However we were deprived of many a good night's sleep during our stay there. The mattress on the bed in our villa was obviously old, seemed lumpy and uneven and very uncomfortable to sleep on. Suffice to say, we were even more tired after our weekend getaway from the city than before we began our vacation. Perhaps the management would need to look into to maintainence of the furniture in the villas as it seems a waste that a lovely vacation could be ruined by poorly maintained furniture.
Our package also included complimentary daily spa packages during our stay. We had looked forward to our relaxing spa visit however our encounter at the Mandala spa was far from relaxing. The experience lacked the usual feel of tranquility one would expect when visiting a spa as we were rushed in and out of our treatments of Balinese massage. We were given cold tea at the start of our treatment, rushed by the staff for our massage, & while were were changing, the staff kept knocking on the door to ask if we were ready. After 2 days of treatment at a spa that obviously values quantity over quality, we had decided to forfeit the rest of our spa visits. Overall even though the ambience was welcoming and everything appears good at a glance, there are still some improvements that can be made. We were somewhat disappointed with our experience in kuala lumpur this time.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Yersinia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Yersinia P,

Greetings from The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa!

Thank you for the review on your stay with us at The Villas. Your feedback will be shared with the management and the relevant departments to help us improve on our services and facilities. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you and regards,

The Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
52
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

First I would like to thank the resort management for their nice treatement during our stay there. I shall begin from the check in when I came before three hours to the exact check-in time in the vouchure and I was attending to leave my baggages in the hotel and enjoy sunway theme park and come back to the hotel to complete the check-in, so I surpriced that I can wait for 15 minutes in the hotel cafe enjoying a free juice while they preppare my villa and they were truth and picked me from the lobby with the responsible guy about the villas and he was so nice and he explained every thing about our facilities in and outside our villa. It was really a nice experiment with nice private pool and good and clean villa and the free evening cafe at the villas pavillion. Only one thing I was upset with which was mosquitos in your room which was little noisy for your sleeping. Otherwise every thing was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aboalbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Aboaldr,

We would like to extend our welcome for your kind testimonial to us and warmest gratitude for choosing to stay with us at The Villas, in Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa. We are glad that our staff service and accommodation has made your stay a memorable one.

We understand your kind concern on the issue within your review and we are working on improving the issue for you and our future guest during their stay with us at The Villas.

We do hope to serve you again in the near future when you travel to Malaysia.

Thanks and regards

The Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is a wonderful place, excellent service (the best during in our 10 day stay in Malaysia), breakfast is one of the best I personally ever had, rooms are spacious and can easily fit a family of four. My kids loved the place, so many things to do, from enjoying the day at the theme parks to just relax at the awesome swimming pool. Food and drinks were priced reasonable and my only regret is that I booked for only 2 nights.
I will definitely come back and I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors you'll enjoy a better view of the theme parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dany I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Manager at The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Dany I,

We would like to extend our warmest thank you and your family for choosing to stay with us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa. It is with great pleasure to receive your honest feedback and experience while staying with us and this will continuously drive us to make our guest experience a memorable one in the future.

We do hope to see you again in the near future when you and your family decides to stay more than 2 nights.

Thanks and regards

The Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We only stayed here for one night and thought very highly of this hotel. The staff were so friendly at check & gave us a free room upgrade to Clubrooms. The view from our room was so great over looking the theme park on the top floor. The room was very clean & bathroom came with great toiletries. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel & the pool area was amazing but the water was freezing!! Location is great if you have kids plenty to entertain them with or if you want to escape for a couple of days. We can not wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perth_WAAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

book in advance as this place is in demand and ppl in staff r courteous n warm. u get sumptuous buffet breakfast and all kind of water sports under one roof so wht r u waiting for jst go n enjoy the property

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tewarirajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

The old adage "You get what you pay for" really applies here. Very well set out Villas, with a secluded balcony, excellent room, private pool, and your very own Breakfast and dinner restaurant.
Don't forget the Cocktails between 5.30 and 7.30pm.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

My wife and I spent the first 2 nights of our trip to Malaysia in these villas. It is such an amazing place. Truly wonderful. I will try to summarize in points the highlights and advice:
- Amazing private pool
- Wonderful and huge bathtub / jacuzzi in bathroom
- The private pool and the huge bathtub with the exquisite bath menu available were the highlight of our stay
- Lovely rain shower in bathroom
- Plan properly, and MAKE SURE you take your preferred insect repellant with you when you travel to Malaysia (don't make the same mistake we did) or you will suffer infinite mosquito and insect bites
- 2 to 3 night stay for leisure travelers is just right, as it gives you just enough time to enjoy yourself and endulge in the villa luxuries / amenities, as well as explore / have fun in the sunway theme park / lagoon next door (all part of one huge development)
- Unfortunately, mosquitos limited our time and enjoyment outdoors, even around the villa's pool
- Try to AVOID staying on weekends or national holidays, because there is most probably a party in the adjacent sunway amusement park and the extremely unbearable loud sound of music and karaoke will SURELY interrupt your peace and quiet even at night time as these villas are not soundproofed and are right next to the park
- Absolutely amazing villas, very romantic
- Perfect for honeymooners
- Burgers from the in-room dinning menu are absolutely delicious!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palestinianeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0.0 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#12 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
10.0 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
9.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Persiaran Lagoon, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa is a peacefully secluded retreat dedicated to pleasure and serenity. Nestled within 800 acres of tropical gardens, these 17 Asian-styled luxury villas comes with a private infinity-edge plunge pool, sunken bathtub and rain shower, leafy balcony and numerous other facilities. It is driven by a philosophy of extending tailor-made individualised service including around-the-clock butler service. Just adjacent to The Villas is the resort's award-winning Mandara Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunway Lagoon Hotel Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing