We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for food and wonderful staff, room fine except for small cockroaches.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
UK
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel for food and wonderful staff, room fine except for small cockroaches.”
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Praise for the good food, attentive and polite staff, especially the lovely restaurant staff and efficient chefs. Had great views from our 19th floor room but although creepy crawlies are nothing new in the tropics, we were put off by cockroaches which we found in the bathroom and after a couple of days, also near the television. Room was sprayed with insecticide by staff upon our request but that did not remedy the problem. Although we liked the hotel because of the staff (and food!) in the end we were worried about cockroaches getting into our suitcases and beds. If you can overlook the little pests, this hotel is well located, room appeared to have been newly refurbished, apart from the bathroom which was a bit run down with cracks in the tiling from which cockroaches appeared. Hope hotel management can deal with the infestation problem as I feel the staff deserve better.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, PR Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, March 14, 2010
Dear Ruby,

Greetings from Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya.

We thank you for your valuable feedback. The Management takes the matter very seriously and is taking all measures in overcoming the issues.

We assure you of a comfortable stay and we look forward for your next visit.

Cheers
Myza Nordin
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    98
    93
    18
    16
See reviews for
40
44
28
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We were on a three days visit to Kualalumpur, Malaysia and our travel agent suggested us Hotel Armada for the stay and got our room reserved for 24th to 26th Dec. 2009. On our arrival, a warm reception was given to us at the hotel and our luggage was promptly shifted to our room. The room was quite big size and well carpeted & furnished with all the best quality fixtures/ facilities to our comfort. The house keeping was perfect as no traces of dirt etc could be noticed during our stay. Later we could know that this hotel is among the best hotels of Malaysia and is 24 storied with more than 200 rooms (242 to be specific). We were in the 16th floor and we could see the city from the window. A driving school and railway station (Asia Jaya LRT station) was nearby & just behind the hotel. The hotel is situated close to all the important places for tourists, businesses, holidayer’s etc.
Complementary breakfast had all the things you could think for a healthy & tasty breakfast. The menu in hotel restaurant was enormous, preparations were good and service excellent. We can say that it is one of the best hotels of Malaysia with all the luxury in rooms, best hospitality, good menu, preparations & service. We had an excellent stay at this hotel and recommend our friends/ relatives for this hotel.
Suman Prakash

  • Liked — the size and best quality furnishings
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nupurDehradun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Dear Suman Prakash

Greetings from Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you have had a satisfying stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in future !

Warm Regards
Myza Nordin
Public Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leenadevi
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for a night. The location of this hotel is great, near by to restaurants, petrol station, banks, 24 hours convenient stores, etc. However, the hotel itself is average. We booked the room without breakfast.

Good stuff: Easy to find the hotel, parking available, located near restaurants, banks, convenient stores.

Not so good stuff: Aged hotel, service can be improved. Small room (for the price we paid, and we stayed at a bigger room for lesser price at Eastin Hotel PJ), smoking smell (although we did not request for smoking room), average bathroom. No free wifi.

I would only recommend this hotel if you don't mind paying high price for a small room. Location was good, but there are better options available. If you're on a budget, you probably be disappointed because the money you paid is not worth the value you get.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babblesbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Department. at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this review, July 31, 2009
Dear leenadevi,

Greetings!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Armada during your stay at Petaling Jaya. Your comments have been noted and are highly appreciated.

The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment and is expected to be completed by next year. This is to stay competitive in the market.

As for your feedback on the services, please be rest assured that the matters are looked into seriously.

Thank you.


Best Regards,
Public Relations Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

very disappointing hotel, smelly room, carpet dirty, moist and damp in the soffit and toilet. The car parking in the front looks like a far west, when you crossing all the guys watching at you in a funny way, you need to cross the road under the bridge, with some more dodgy guys or you risk a car running over. On the other hand the restaurant is stunning, with delicious food.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuscan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petaling Jaya hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Situated on the edge of a building site and carpark, between a railway line and highway, first impressions are not good.

I was there for a wedding two weeks ago. Several rooms had been booked for the wedding party at a discounted rate of circa RM210 (inclusive). Check-in was fine. Our room was meant to be a larger than average double. It was large, but really quite worn and needed updating. There was a large storm approaching, and soon rain was flooding down the inside of the windows, all over the windowsill and soaking the carpets. I reported this to reception, they sent up housekeeping with towels to mop it up; it did not seem to surprise them in any way. It continued, water dripping inside the room at 250+ drops a minute. Were they assuming that we'd be happy with this?

I called reception again, and a man was sent to move us to another room a few floors up. When we got there, we were amazed to see that exactly the same was happening in that room too!

Finally we got moved to a third room, although it was a standard size, and a twin and not a double; they said they had nothing else. There were notices in the rooms apologising for upgrading work that was taking place, but we saw none being carried out, despite seeing inside 6 or more rooms during our stay, and plenty of the lounges, reception halls etc.

The bride and groom had a suite on the 24th floor. The phone in their room did not work, but at least they had no water flooding in.

Breakfast was ok, hot/cold buffet, pretty much as one might expect. The staff did make an effort to be friendly and helpful.

The next day we made a pre-planned move to the Melia hotel on Jalan Imbi in central KL. Lovely place, lovely fresh clean room, and great location and breakfast. I was amazed to see our room at the Melia cost the same as the Armada in PJ, despite there being no 'wedding party rate' applicable etc.

  • Liked — The direct bus from Singapore drops off 50 metres away
  • Disliked — Terrible state of rooms, and lack of 'can-do' approach to make up for it from staff.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

If you're coming/going from/to Singapore via Aeroline bus then this is a convenient place to stay. The dropoff station is just a 5 min leisure walk to the hotel. It's also near the MRT station (10min walk).

The deluxe room was big (with a sofa), clean, and complete with standard 4 star hotel amenities. The bathroom is also spacious. The fitness center is quite small and old (not recommended). The hotel staffs were accommodating. Breakfast is standard continental. They also have live bands.

Won't recommend if you're going to watch F1 since the hotel is far from the sepang circuit (around 1.5 hrs via mrt and bus).

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marcgorospe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2007

We booked a room for 1 night in November to attend a wedding which was to be held at the hotel. Checking in was quick but service at the frontdesk was lukewarm. The room was quite old. The armchair was discoloured and the glass window had black stains. However, the room was ok-sized and the bathroom was clean. The mini-bar was empty though. The next day, we decided not have breakfast at the restaurant. The night before we had arranged for late checkout but when we came back from our shopping at 1pm, we found that we had been locked out of our room. The frontdesk staff was nonchalant and said that there was no record of any late checkout arrangement. It was only after we asked to speak to the manager that the staff relented and reinstated our access to the room until our pre-planned checkout time. Overall, we feel that the rooms are way overpriced and the service standard was below average. My brother had cut himself while shaving and when he approached the hotel staff to ask for a band-aid, they were unwilling to help. One of them replied that the hotel did not have any band-aid and suggested that we purchase it "outside" but added that the shops nearby were closed as it was almost 8pm. We will not return to this hotel.

  • Disliked — Service and location
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya
Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jay...
#30 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
98 reviews
3.4 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,118 reviews
4.7 mi away
Qliq Damansara
Qliq Damansara
#9 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya

Property: Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
Address: Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya Lorong utara C, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the buzzing heart of Petaling Jaya, Hotel Armada gives you the opportunity to feel and enjoy the tranquility and inner peace of the city – the inner soul of Petaling Jaya. Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya is among the finest 4 star hotel in Petaling Jaya. Situated next to the Federal Highway, Hotel Armada gives you the extra vibe with its 5 minutes walk to the Asia Jaya LRT station. Hop on a bus or taxi just directly opposite the hotel and find your way around town easily, be it the Business District, Industrial Zone, Food Heaven or Shopping Mall Giants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing