We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Staying there for 3 nights....
(-) The food offered in its restaurant was terrible because we need to wait around 15-20minutes for the food after we ordered and the taste was so plain.. So I do not recommend at all...
(+) the room was spacious, clean and nice
(+) the bathroom was good and clean
(+) the hot water and cold water went well
(+) near Asia Jaya LRT but we need to cross the road to get there
Free wifi worked well and fast for 2 nights but on the third nights it stopped (dunno why)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuanita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

Thank you for choosing Armada Petaling Jaya. Your comment and feedback has been highlighted to the respective Departments and actions are being taken to rectify the situations.

Our utmost regrets for not meeting your expectations & for the inconveniences that you have encountered. We take pride of our hospitality, services and facilities and we take all measures in ensuring our guests' comfort and satisfaction are taken care of. Hence, we assure you that the incidents would not occur again.

Thank you and have a nice day

Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 267 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had been stayed in this hotel for many years every time go to PJ for business trip. Picked this hotel due to the price and location near to my PJ office. Recently the hotel had renovated their rooms. Was upgraded to executive floor this time with a no smoking room. I was disappointed as I'm a smoker and had been staying this hotel for years. This show the hotel do not bother on their customer preference.
The room on executive floor is very new, comfortable and nicely renovated compared the lower floors. I do not like the walkway as the lighting is very dim with red carpet making the hotel look scary. Be careful, the hot water shower is difficult to control. Either cold or very hot. Water pressure is low compare to lower floor. Not much TV channel to watch. Luckily come with free wifi so at least can surf net as the location is quite distance away from shopping mall.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank keecheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

In our effort to meet the requirement of Malaysia Ministry Of Health, the Hotel is working towards making the Hotel a Non Smoking and Green Building. We have however, allocated 2 designated floors as 'Smoking Floors' which is allocated on the Non-Premier Floors.


We take note on your comment regarding the hot/cold water and effort has been made in rectifying it. As for the tv channel, The Management is already planning on an upgrade and it shall take effect on 1st May, 2013.

Thank you and have a nice day

Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room I had seems dated as seen by some furniture and fittings. However, it is large, clean and well maintained. According to the notices, there is some renovation works going on but I did not notice it. The room I had faced the LRT track but the noise did not really bother me. Free wifi works well and the shower pressure was good. The hot water did not work well but that was easily fixed by the staff. Breakfast spread is large and food was good.

I think the hotel must be for business travelers as there is nothing of interest within walking distance. The LRT station is 5 mins walk away and it links directly to KL Sentral and KLCC. KLIA is 45 mins away by taxi. The nearest mall is one LRT stop away but it is not worth the visit for tourist.

Overall a decent hotel choice if you need to be in Petaling Jaya but I do not think the location is ideal for tourist visiting KL.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastMeetWest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

Thank you for your feedback. Good to know that you have enjoyed your stay despite of some minor glitches which we are glad were rectified accordingly.

From the photos taken during your stay, it looks like you were staying at a Deluxe room where the floors are planned for our next renovation. This is in line with our effort in providing the utmost comfort and hospitality to our guests.

Perhaps on your next trip you might want to also consider our Premier Floors which has recently completed the face lift. The Premier Floors consist of level 21-24.

Thank you and have a good day

Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Armada have managed to maintain their property well, despite many years in business. Rooms are clean and comfy, centrally located in PJ, where access to public transport, malls, food outlets are easy. Access to KL city is also easy with LRT line running opposite the hotel. They have few F&B outlets and a small mall attached to the hotel. Overall a good place to stay within city limits.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

Thank your for your kind words. We are glad that we have met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay while with us.

For your kind information, the Hotel has completed its renovation on the Premier Floors and works are currently undergoing on the 1st floor on the trendy F&B outlets and mulch-functions room. With the completion of this, work will then continue on to the lobby.

This is in line with our effort to continuously upgrade and maintain our facilities at our Hotel
and to maximize our guests' comfort.

With that, we do hope to see you soon and wish you could experience our new fresh look.


Warm regards and have a nice day

Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Checking in to the Armada was quite quick and efficient, took barely 1 minute.
The room was comfortable and clean. The part I liked most was that the bed was firm unlike most hotels where, in the name of comfort, the beds are very soft.
My room faced the LRT line and the sound of the trains passing was very audible. However, late in the night the service stops so not too bad.
The Room Service menu did not list any desserts, so I called them and they initially spoke of a whole range of choices but after a while it turned out that they had only one or two choices.
Breakfast was good - a decent spread of Western as also Malay choices.
Concierge was efficient and helpful. Directed me to an Exchange Bureau and helped with a taxi etc.
Check out was a bit slow - The hotel should know by now that a majority of check outs are in the mornings. There were only 2 persons at the reception at that time and I had to wait for nearly 15 mins for my check out.
Overall - A decent business hotel with no bells and whistles - Adequate.

Room Tip: I have always taken rooms on the higher floors - Keeps the street noise out. This time my room faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinayAsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

Thank you for choosing Armada Petaling Jaya as your accommodation venue and we appreciate your comments and feedback.

Our regrets for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay. The issues have been highlighted to the accorded Departments and every effort has been made to ensure that it would not happened again.

Meantime, we hope the incident would not deter you from patronizing the Hotel again and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Warm regards
Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I been there for 20 days. The room was comfortable and cleaned, included the bath, with wiifi included.
Hotel faw away from the downcity, close to the industrial area, but close to is there is the Metro station and in about 20 minits you can arrive under the Twin Towers.
The hotel have a good restaurant were you can find a rich buffet service, with malesian,chinese, and western food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valoryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

It's nice to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

For your kind information various developments for the upgrading and enhancement of the Hotel outlets are already in plan, and will be moving in stages. This is in line with our continuous effort to maximise our guests' stay and comfort.

Thank you and have a nice day

Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Checked in for few days at the hotel and the room was pleasantly furnished. However, just to point out some important things that should and could have been improved in the hotel :

a. Poor proficiency in English (Staff - house keeping / in house dining)
Called the 'house keeping ' to notify as well as to request for service to repair the leakage caused by the bathroom sink one day and a lady staff picked up. Explained to her the condition of the sink (in english )but she doesnt seem to be able to understand what was requested and repeated the word in Malay : " SINKI "?? as if she is trying to understand the problem, repeated to her the problem and the request for serviceman / maintenance man to come and fix the problem and she finally said " ok" .

Waited for the whole night and the next day and the day after till the last day of my stay, still no one turn up or even bother to call and inquire or follow up on the request made. - Solution : we have placed the water scooper underneath the sink hoping that if the cleaners come to clean the room, they would know the problem and notify whoever is responsible to come and enquire on the matter..Unfortunately, even after the room was cleaned everyday, nothing was done, as if it was the MOST NATURAL thing to do (placing the water scooper underneath the sink to collect the dripping water). How did the cleaners managed to clean the sink without noticing the problem (dripping water from underneath the sink)?? still no report was made and no one turned out to fix the problem.I was..in awe..! - have asked my husband to make the complain at the end of our stay.

Comment on bathroom sinks -
Should be built at lower height. It was too high up even for a man of 5ft 8" height.

ii.ordered in room dining and spoken to a male staff. Asked him what was the total price to be paid for the ordered meal and he responded confidently with a less than expected amount from the one stated in the menu. Even after asking twice for confirmation, he was adamant with his response. When the food was delivered, the amount was more than what was conveyed earlier via telephone.My conclusion? simple.The staff definitely have english language proficiency problem.

iii. Room Service
Was quite turned off with the attitude of one of the nepalese cleaner. i feel that as one who will always be in contact with the occupant of the hotel room, they should just do their work and to maintain professionalism by conversing only what was needed and not to 'interview' the guest.

On a particular incident, while cleaning the room, the cleaner asked me so many questions to the point of asking what was my race and duration of stay as if he was trying to conduct a research .I was surprised with the questions and my assumption was that these cleaners must have been running a check on the guests and gossiping with their colleagues!Totally inappropriate!

I know it must be a hotel policy that when cleaning a room without any guests inside the room, the door of the room should be opened to avoid unecessary problems. However, if the guest was in the room and have allowed the cleaner to do the cleaning, i feel that the room should be partially closed to protect the privacy of the guest and to avoid people from peeping inside the room(especially when the guest was trying to get ready - dressing up to get out from the room).

iv.smoke proof hotel room doors
Although we were placed at a non smoking floor, we can still smell the cigarette smoke from inside the room. Totally baffled on how this happened(smoke entering room), would be better if the hotel room doors were completely shut (special tape placed at bottom)to avoid smoke from entering the room and that guests wont be able to hear any noise outside the room. This is because, we can practically hear all the conversation from everyone who are standing outside the corridor.

v. Door Men
Lack of friendliness and hospitality.
At one incident, no one offered to carry my bags even when my hands were occupied with carrying a baby and shopping bags! They just look at me without expression on their faces - as if you dont exist and insignificant. At most times, i dont feel welcome at the hotel and always dreaded the idea of having to pass by the lobby area for access to our hotel room via the elevator .Seriously, these staff should learn the meaning of courtesy and what they should be doing`- to execute their assigned tasks!

Overall comment? other than the above, the hotel is of average standard - Satisfactory.
would be good to stay for short term but not for duration longer than 2 days. Although the LRT station is just around the corner, travelling to the mall with a baby certainly a tough ordeal without having to call for a daily taxi ride to the destination.

I do hope the management take serious action in ensuring that the above matters are resolved before it becomes an ugly trademark or plague that will finally drag the hotel reputation into a dreadful state of non existence.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pschrony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

Thank you for making time to give us your feedback. Our regrets for not being able to meet your expectation during the stay at our Hotel.

We totally understand your frustration and we ensure you that every effort will be make to improve the services of the areas mentioned.

Thank you and have a nice day ahead.

Warm regards
Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
1,445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya
1.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
231 reviews
3.4 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
1,164 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royale Chulan Damansara
Royale Chulan Damansara
#8 of 49 in Petaling Jaya
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya

Address: Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya Lorong utara C, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Price Range: $51 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the buzzing heart of Petaling Jaya, Hotel Armada gives you the opportunity to feel and enjoy the tranquility and inner peace of the city – the inner soul of Petaling Jaya. Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya is among the finest 4 star hotel in Petaling Jaya. Situated next to the Federal Highway, Hotel Armada gives you the extra vibe with its 5 minutes walk to the Asia Jaya LRT station. Hop on a bus or taxi just directly opposite the hotel and find your way around town easily, be it the Business District, Industrial Zone, Food Heaven or Shopping Mall Giants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing