We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than before, but still could do better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I used to stay at the Armada years ago every time I visited my hometown of Petaling Jaya. I stopped when the rooms just got grubbier and grubbier and the service standards abysmal. I opted for the more expensive Hilton across the road or the Eastin a little further away and didn't regret it.
Then this trip, my wife and I decided to try the Armada again. We'd heard they'd refurbished the rooms and that things were better. Our first impressions were mixed - the same slightly worn fabric was on the wall behind the front desk, but the service of the staff who checked us in was miles ahead of what we'd last encountered. These ladies smiled, greeted us and were generally quite pleasant.
The room too was a pleasant departure. They've always been reasonably spacious and the new carpet, paint and furniture was very welcome indeed. Some of the old rooms had begun to feel grimy underfoot and this room was most certainly not.
The bathroom was disappointing in comparison, though still acceptable. The money had obviously not been spent here - besides removing the bathtub, all else seemed much the same. Marks on the tiles in the shower even indicated where the shelf used to be - perhaps a little more work would have brought the bathroom up to the standard of the rest of the room.
The walls are a little thin in the Armada so you can hear guests returning late at night, but thankfully there are only a few rooms each floor so this is generally a minor issue.
The air-conditioning was superb though I do wish that when you adjust the fan speed from the bedside controller it wouldn't also switch on the entrance light...
The front desk might have improved but the concierge, of all people, could still do with a lesson in service. Every time I left the hotel, I'd have to have my car par ticket validated and when on the third day I received the same dour service I'd encountered years before, I asked the concierge very politely if perhaps he'd forgotten how to greet or thank guests. This caught the gentleman by surprise and to his credit he apologised quite sincerely. The lapse was never repeated with the other concierge staff so that was the only blight. Still, they did lack the warmth of the front desk staff.
On the subject of car parks, I do like that you can park downstairs near the security office. And there's usually space though if there's a wedding dinner at the Oversea Restaurant in the adjoining mall, you might have to park outside until it's over.
There's also now free wi-fi which is a fantastic change. There might be a limit to how many devices can log on though as my wife and I encountered some difficulty sometimes. Don't expect the connection speeds to be very fast either.
Finally, although everything else was either gladly welcome or, if less creditable, ignorable, the one thing that would not bring me back to the Armada again is the overly soft bed which left my back in a terrible state. This is a very personal thing and should not be the basis of a negative recommendation for others, for the rest of the hotel is finally up to just above average standard.
And I think it would need just a little rise in the general service standards for this rating to be 'very good' instead of just 'average'.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a one with a firm bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaydcoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

Thank you for choosing our Hotel as your accommodation in Petaling Jaya. Our deepest regret for not meeting your expectation.

We take note of your feedback seriously and every effort has been made to rectify the issue. For your kind info, we have recently completed the major refurbishment of the upper floors (21-24) and future plans for the rest of the guest floors as well.

More plans are in store for the lobby and F&B outlets, which should kick start by mid of this year.

Thank you and regards

Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 269 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

A nice place to visit. The hotel ain't that big, but comfortable. The waiters are very friendly and welcoming. Nice location and is close to the LRT. There are also local shops and restaurants nearby. There are many cars on the road after office hour tho, so I suppose you'll have to bear with the traffic jam around this time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisztCesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

Good to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to host your future stay, again.

Have a nice day

Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hotel is good. I think they will not allow massage services in room. Rooms looks new, clean and spacious. I am very glad that there is free wifi in the room. It will be better if there is bath tub available. Given the space, there should be no problem installing a bath tub in the bathroom. location was also rather accessible. there are rows of shops and a small mall within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hari293925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya.

We are glad that you choose our Hotel as your accommodation during your trip to Malaysia. You will be pleased to know that we do have rooms with bath tub which you may request from the Front Office upon checked-in.

For your kind information, the massage service is owned by the tenure next door to us at Plaza Armada and they are not related to us in any manner.


Thank you and regards
Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel, right across the Hilton, offers very good value. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, although the carpet in the corridors is damp and smells of musk, due to the humidity. The price is very adequate. The staff is not extremely friendly, and my last day I arrived to the room at 3 pm to see the room still not cleaned, thus the service is not so great. The location is average, as there is no where to go walking distance and a little far from the LRT. Overall I would give it a 7 out of 10 for value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya.

Thank you for your feedback. Regret that your stay wasn't up to your expectation. However, we are glad that you gave us an average rating and recommendation

With that, we will continue to strive hard to ensure our guests stay and comfort is met and being fulfilled.

Thank you and have a nice day

Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It is very ridiculous that I have to wait more than 10 mins just to make the water hot. If it is hot, then need to call maintenance, they need to swap the water first to make level 12 hot. Because of this I was late for the meeting in the morning.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Halim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

With regards to your feedback on the hot water issue in your room, our utmost apology for the inconvenience that it has caused you.

We have addressed the matter and the Maintenance team is rectifying the issue. Be rest assured it will not occur again.

Thank you and regards
Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room was quite spacious with the cleaning lady that cames everyday to clean up the room. Bathroom was ok with toiletries provided except toothbrush and toothpaste. There was iron and iron board plus hair dryer which cames handy especially for woman. The air-cond was adjustable and not centrally controlled like many of the hotels. English newspaper was provided daily to your room to ensure you are kept up to date with the news.
In room dining was alright and can be consider quite fast. Breakfast was served with extensive choices and you can indulged in the many varieties of food from local to western. However during our second day of breakfast, we encounter a stale nasi lemak. We informed the waiter and he took away the plate. I met the manager in charge during the breakfast time while taking my food at the breakfast table and told him about the stale nasi lemak. He just said that it is because of the different temperature that caused it to be staled. Even though the nasi lemak at the buffet table were replaced with new one, none of the waiter nor the manager come and conveyed their apology to us. Sigh..
The receptionist in charged was unable to multitask. I understand that there are customers to check in at the counter but a simple act of dropping and collecting the keycard for the room require you to wait for ages until she settled the customer first. Both of this incident were quite disappointing.
Hopefully the staffs are going to be more customer attentive in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and breakfast variety. Nevertheless, our utmost regret on the 'nasi lemak' incident as well as the level of service at the Reception.

The Heads of both Department has been briefed, and immediate actions will be taken to rectify and improved the matters.

Warm regards and have a nice day

Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Big clean rooms with huge windows and view towards the city - awesome to watch the storms from. Breakfast is not great value, many dishes run out early and are not renewed. You can catch an executive cab to the city from the hotel but it's expensive. The subway station is just across the car park 2mins walk and trains are frequent and take about 15mins into KLSentral.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JilOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Hotel_Armada, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Greetings from Armada Petaling Jaya

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our utmost regret on the breakfast experience at the Utara Coffee House.

The Culinary team has been briefed on the issue and every effort has since been made to upgrade and enhance the spread.

We hope to host your future stay with us again and share the improvement with you.

Thank you and have a nice day

Myza Nordin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,485 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya
3.4 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,188 reviews
4.7 mi away
Qliq Damansara
Qliq Damansara
#9 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya

Address: Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya Lorong utara C, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Price Range: $59 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the buzzing heart of Petaling Jaya, Hotel Armada gives you the opportunity to feel and enjoy the tranquility and inner peace of the city – the inner soul of Petaling Jaya. Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya is among the finest 4 star hotel in Petaling Jaya. Situated next to the Federal Highway, Hotel Armada gives you the extra vibe with its 5 minutes walk to the Asia Jaya LRT station. Hop on a bus or taxi just directly opposite the hotel and find your way around town easily, be it the Business District, Industrial Zone, Food Heaven or Shopping Mall Giants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing