We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for families, bad for singles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good for families, bad for singles”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

So I traveled with a group of 3 single guys. The agent said, hey this is a great hotel if you want to visit KL(kuala lumpur). Thing is, its about 20mins from KL and thats if there is NO traffic. Secondly, the water park that the hotel is connected to is far from enjoyable. If you have kids under 10, its a great place and hotel. I mean the rooms are nice, clean, and spacious. But i can't imagine anyone other than families with little kids wanting to stay here. Singles, young couples, stay away!

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Bad location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mft9417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    441
    278
    94
    76
See reviews for
459
126
44
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 526 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2007

Stayed here for 2 weeks in April after being "bumped" from the superior Sunway Lagoon Resort Hotel. (All of a sudden the hotel was too full to honour my confirmed reservation - a seemingly regular practice at this site)

Was given a suite which had clearly seen better days, and was no more luxurious than a modern Travel Inn in the UK. The bed was fairly hard, The room's only saving graces were the view from the balcony and the very efficient air conditioning.

The early-90s black ash veneered desk was almost worn through, and the bedside shelf was hanging off its fittings at a peculiar angle. The light in the bathroom wasnt bright enough to shave by, and the shower tap was on the wrong way round. It took me a day to realise that it had to be moved all the way to the 'blue' side to get hot water.

The buffet breakfast selection at the hotel was huge and varied (You could even start the day with squid curry), although didnt seem to be kept very warm at all.

The hotel staff seemed friendly enough and the laundry service was cheap,efficient and a godsend for a long stay. I was given free internet because of my long stay, (with which I could view online the hotel I should have been staying at!)

If I had actually chosen to stay here from the outset, then maybe I would have found it more inviting. However, having looked forward for months to the rooms and facilities offered at the Sunway Lagoon Hotel ,and looked at these every day on their website, it was a severe anti-climax to end up in this accommodation.

  • Liked — The air conditioning,view from balcony and the laundry service.
  • Disliked — I had booked a luxury hotel and was forced to stay here.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank WorldBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromanel
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2007

After 3 weeks touring around malaysia stayed here 3 nights prior to flying out.
Recommend as a stop over or like us on your way home, not a location to experience the culture and food experiences that Malaysia has on offer.
Hotel complex reminds we of something from Las Vegas.
Very comfortable, great shopping mall with ice skating rink on the ground floor, 10 pin bowling etc.
Have to go to the main hotel for the swimming pool - don't buy a brink there - 100 ringit ($40NZ) for 2 glasses of beer and an orange juice. But only the night before we had had dinner for 3
including soft drinks for 20 ringit ($8NZ) total food & drinks and only 100 mtrs from Hotel.
So book with breakfast included and this will set you up for the day and buy your drinks from the Chinese grocery in the street opposite (not the 7-11) but your dinner in the same street and also there is a dobi to do your laundry at the end of this street.
Don't plan on going to the theme park the day you are flying out if it is a Tuesday - this was our intention but they close Tuesdays.
Overall good Hotel, but donlt let this be your only Malaysian experience.

  • Liked — the entire complex concept
  • Disliked — air conditioning freezing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank corokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

Friend booked this place for about US$55 per night. Stayed for 3 nights. Travelled with wife plus 2 kids - 5 and 3 yrs old.
Pros :
-Very good value for money! ( price incl. breakfast for 2 )
- rooms very clean and well maintained
- rooms are big enough to accomodate 2 extra single air mattresses
- proximity to HUGE shopping mall and resort

Cons :
- room service menu rather expensive by Malaysian hotels' standard
- gym / swimming pool are not housed within the hotel, but in the adjacent hotel

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — expensive room service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cinnanthamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2007

Stayed here over Christmas with my wife and 2 kids. Booked a package using the Sunway Website for a family package and arrived to find 2 single beds in my room, if you want an extra bed be prepared to pay more. Breakfast was a nightmare on Christmas day, not enough food and too many people. The corridors in the hotel reminded me of being in a hospital,
(the developers of the hotel also own a hospital)

Sunway Lagoon theme/water park was also a disappointment, with really dirty water, rubbish food on site and only a few rides.

Not recommended!!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank yutlufat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petaling Jaya hotels

Penang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2007

My family 2 adults and 2 children aged 7 and 5 stayed at Pyramid Tower from Dec 31st till Jan 1st. We checked in into a Standard Room with two super single beds. The room is not so big but the kids enjoyed it. Toiletries were not enough - they gave a bottle of body soap and hair shampoo. We had to ask for more !! Room service was very very slow !! So you better ask in advance.....We had to wait for 15 mins for a toothbrush and toothpaste.

We were given a RM100 F&B Certificate (Orange colour) by the hotel. So, we decided to call for In-Dining Room service instead of going down to the coffee house because the kids were tired after spending their day at Sunway Lagoon. Upon receiving the food, we were shocked to see that all food were packed in microwaveable containers and the hotel staff gave us plastic cutleries. The staff told us that they followed a take away concept. We didn't finish the food because they were tasteless. What we ordered - Caesar Salad, Tom Yam Soup, Indonesian Fried Rice, Fish & Chips.

  • Liked — None
  • Disliked — Access to Theme Park
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay unless you want an easy access to Sunway Lagoon
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EsteeKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights on business as usual hotel was fully booked. Received an upgrade to suite on checking in, so very pleased with service at front desk and with room. Overall service was friendly and efficient. The suite was well equipped with a full kitchen, dining room and balcony.

Great chicken rice from room service.
Nice to be next to mall for food, shopping, or an air conditioned stroll.

Only downside was the lukewarm water. Never got hot enough for my liking.

Would stay again.

  • Liked — Chicken rice
  • Disliked — Lukewarm water
  • Tips/Secrets — Be nice to front desk - it got me an upgrade
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mjcSING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#13 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
4.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Pyramid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Pyramid Hotel

Property: Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 47500, Malaysia (Formerly Sunway Pyramid Hotel East)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#5 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Pyramid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sunway Pyramid Hotel features 564 Deluxe guestrooms and suites, incorporating new category of family rooms and suites. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel have direct access to the leisure facilities available at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, which includes the free-form landscape swimming pool and the fitness centre. Strategically located in a bustling suburb of Kuala Lumpur, the Sunway Pyramid Hotel is 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and 25 minutes from the city centre. The hotel forms part of the iconic integrated development Sunway City, a multi-award winning destination that offers a cluster of three (3) hotels with a total of 1,433 guestrooms, suites and pool villas, a theme park and shopping mall. Sunway Pyramid Hotel also features 21 purpose-built family rooms and suites, designed to accommodate an increase in family and leisure travelers to Sunway City. The Family Room is suitable for those travelling with young children for its vibrant interiors and a bunk bed. Whereas the new Family Suite, are amongst the Hotel’s largest rooms offering comfortable spaces, with added extras like two (2) bathrooms, a mini refrigerator, a microwave and bedding options for up to six (6) persons. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel will be spoilt for choice when it comes to the extensive food and beverage available in the hotel and choices which are just steps away. At Sunway Pyramid Hotel, located at the hotel’s lobby level is Taste Enclave offering an exciting culinary landscape of 11 specially-selected food eateries and three mini restaurants. For those on-the-go or looking for a quick bite, Kaffeinate is located at the hotel’s main lobby, serves freshly brewed gourmet coffees, specialty teas and a range of light snacks. Alternatively, venture into Sunway Pyramid shopping mall for over 170 food and beverage choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Pyramid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramid Tower Hotel At Sunway Lagoon Petaling Jaya
Pyramid Hotel At Sunway Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing