We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
London
2 reviews
“Fantastic hotel in a fantastic location”
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Fantastic hotel in a fantastic location great for kids.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    437
    278
    94
    76
See reviews for
453
125
44
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

The hotel is clean and tidy, comfy but air con's a bit cold, dark corridors. Room services are okay, checking in and out quick and easy with helpful staff. There's a good corner view for the Lagoon just behind the cafeteria where you can take some fotos in daytime. Foods are okay but could not say yummy, breakfast area's quite noisy.

I didn't spent much time in the hotel but after shopping time, which is very convenient with the attached Pyramid shopping mall. Internet is not free but luckily paid by my employer so I have no commt ;)

The mall: There's no luxury brand, but good local retail stores with reasonable price. The few minus for the mall are shops close too early at 9, also the money exchange that gives me very little time after work to go shopping - but you still can watch some ice-hockey on the groundfloor. I also lost my camera in the mall and never heard any feedback and my report was taken on a tiny piece of paper which I know immediately hopeless.

Another tip is that you can have some late dinner with good value just out of the hotel door. There're also some bar and coffee house opens late at mall's surrounding.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hytrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I've stayed at this property twice. My most recent stay this month I had a room in the Resort Suites section of the hotel. My stay was fine and I don't have many complaints. The TV is small and really does need updating. Some of the furniture definitely is showing wear and needs updating as well. Overall, I slept fine and love the location of this hotel, connected to the mall.

If breakfast is not included in your rate, skip the expensive buffet (RM35) and go across the street to the Station One Cafe where you can eat breakfast for RM7 including beverage.

The hotel charges a ridiculously high fee for internet access. Go to the mall and sit at one of the many coffee shops and use the free wireless.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

fantastic could not believe the wonderful service and the brillant staff as my husband is disable the staff could not have helped us any more if they tried. management should be proud of their staff and hotel. rooms were great and so was the shopping center ajoining. theme park next door was a great day out .loved it

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Hotel is part of large complex of shops and other hotels, shopping heaven if you're looking for it. It's also part of a theme park, although wasn't able to sample that as out on business all day.

Check-in was fast and efficient for a big group, and throughout the stay, found the staff all helpful and knowledgeable. Certainly, service was better than I expected.

Rooms are fine, yes it's true they don't have flat screen TV, but they were clean, reasonably appointed and didn't seem tired or worn as a few other reviewers mentioned.

Food was very good ,huge choice of buffets at breakfast and dinner. Several other restaurants to choose from. No gym in hotel, but a 5 min walk to the sister hotel next door solved that, likewise for the huge pool over there, all free use.

Overall, reasonable value, good service and would recommend it as good choice as a business hotel or large group, perhaps not though as a holiday getaway unless you're looking for a stay in hotel theme park and shopping type excursion.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed here as cheaper option to the sister hotel at Sunway Lagoon - it was nice enough but overpriced for the 'average' rooms and no pool (had to walk next door & use the other hotel pool). Located right next to the Pyramid shopping centre and Sunway Lagoon so saves on travel and costs. Lots of places to eat nearby - stay aways from the hotel as expensive (but good food). Could hear all the noise from the hallway when trying to sleep - so ask for a room at the end of the corridor & facing out to the street.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

i stayed at this hotel on 23th-24th Jan. Hotel recep was kind enough to allow me to check in early at 730am so that i can make it in time for my meeting at the pyramid convention centre.in between the break, i can go back to my room for a much needed break as i had woke up at 230am to prepare for the 3-4hr drive into town.
the room is clean,but i find the hallways a bit confusing.my bed n pillow were comfortable,putting my wife n myself into a deep slumber in no time.
we only had a light breakfast buffet there, rest of the time we had our meals at the sunway pyramid shopping centre which had plenty of choices for food and a great venue for shopping.
in between my convention meeting, i could still fit-in shopping, great food and i avoid the busy n hectic traffic of KL city. it's like no time wasted

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#13 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,274 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,068 reviews
4.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Pyramid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Pyramid Hotel

Property: Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 47500, Malaysia (Formerly Sunway Pyramid Hotel East)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#5 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Pyramid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sunway Pyramid Hotel features 564 Deluxe guestrooms and suites, incorporating new category of family rooms and suites. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel have direct access to the leisure facilities available at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, which includes the free-form landscape swimming pool and the fitness centre. Strategically located in a bustling suburb of Kuala Lumpur, the Sunway Pyramid Hotel is 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and 25 minutes from the city centre. The hotel forms part of the iconic integrated development Sunway City, a multi-award winning destination that offers a cluster of three (3) hotels with a total of 1,433 guestrooms, suites and pool villas, a theme park and shopping mall. Sunway Pyramid Hotel also features 21 purpose-built family rooms and suites, designed to accommodate an increase in family and leisure travelers to Sunway City. The Family Room is suitable for those travelling with young children for its vibrant interiors and a bunk bed. Whereas the new Family Suite, are amongst the Hotel’s largest rooms offering comfortable spaces, with added extras like two (2) bathrooms, a mini refrigerator, a microwave and bedding options for up to six (6) persons. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel will be spoilt for choice when it comes to the extensive food and beverage available in the hotel and choices which are just steps away. At Sunway Pyramid Hotel, located at the hotel’s lobby level is Taste Enclave offering an exciting culinary landscape of 11 specially-selected food eateries and three mini restaurants. For those on-the-go or looking for a quick bite, Kaffeinate is located at the hotel’s main lobby, serves freshly brewed gourmet coffees, specialty teas and a range of light snacks. Alternatively, venture into Sunway Pyramid shopping mall for over 170 food and beverage choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Pyramid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramid Tower Hotel At Sunway Lagoon Petaling Jaya
Pyramid Hotel At Sunway Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing