We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and musty, no amenities but great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Pyramid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
jakarta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old and musty, no amenities but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

As the title states, the hotel is in need of a renovation. The paint is faded, carpets are worn, bathroom drains need unclogging and the furniture is chipped and showing it's age. Also note that there are no amenities other than a bar and the breatfast restaurant. No gym, no swimming pool. Have to say though that the location is pretty good as it is adjoining a mall. Staff are also very nice and helpful. Not enough though to justify the prices they were charging at about 150 USD a night.

Only reason we chose this hotel was it's proximity to Sunway Lagoon which did not meet up to expectations either (will cover on a nother review). Better off staying at another hotel. If you want one next to a mall consider Traders hotell next to KLCC or The hotel at Midvalley Mall. Then just take a cab or drive to get to the waterpark.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 15USD or so to get the waterpark view. The cheapest rooms don't even have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csu021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear csu021,

We are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. The condition of the room is no excuse and we will be forwarding your feedback to our management staff to consider improving our facilities.

Please do note however that the guests of Pyramid Tower Hotel are free to utilise the gym and swimming pool at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa. Perhaps it was an oversight on our behalf of not informing you during your check-in of these facilities. We will be sure to inform our front office staff of this as well.

We do thank you however for choosing to stay with us and we hope to improve further to one day welcome you back. Until then, take care and have a great day ahead.

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    422
    273
    94
    74
See reviews for
440
123
43
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel was a little old; rollaway bed was screeching, but the maintenance has kept up and nothing actually break apart. The staff was helpful and knowledgable. The breakfast selection was quite wide with even middle-eastern choices. Walking to swimming is quite far and even have to walk through 2 lobbies.

Room Tip: Consider top up to the resort hotel if you can part with an additional dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OzbeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear OzbeeKee,

We are grateful for your positive review of your stay with us despite some of the inconvenience faced. We are glad to have been able to make up with the rest of the facilities that we have to offer here in Sunway Resort City.

It is great to hear from you and we hope that you have a good weekend ahead. Take care and see you again.

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
235 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I didnt get my room to check-in till 3 plus. Rooms are clean and big, havd a good sleep. The location is very good, next to shopping mall. Opposite of the hotel are shops of foods and pubs. There is a local food van which operate at night, call the "LOK LOK" ... skewer food...park right infront of the Station One cafe, the food is delicious and the sauce is very good. Well sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Leslie3663,

Thank you for providing us with your review. We are happy to hear that we had managed to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Should you ever decide to return for another stay, do let us know and we will be happy to accommodate and welcome you back again.

Take care and have a great day ahead!

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nibong Tebal, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights during my recent business trip. The hotel is not new and surprisingly it is always fully booked.
The aircond in the room is freezing even I have switched it off. Complained but was told that it is like that.
One of the nights they allow a group to perform at the cafe, which is behind my room, and it is full of fun, applause, etc until 11pm.it is loud, and the hotel is inconsiderate to allow such function which directly affect the quality of rest . if you can, please request for higher floors, which will guarantee you a better tranquility.
The room is not sound proof. I can hear my neighbour conversation clearly, and also the conversation of those outside the corridors. Footsteps are clearly audible on the rooms corridors. Be caution of what you do in the room.
The wireless Internet connection is pathetic. I swithed to my hand phone data plan for Internet, which is so much better than what is offered.
Overall, it is not value for money, be it holidays or business.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choongwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Choongwh,

It is with great sadness that we hear of your inconvenient stay with us. There is no excuse on our behalf that should experience such a stay with us. If it is alright with you, I would like to contact you to personally apologise on the inconvenience during your stay.

Alternatively you may provide me with details of your stay to my email address at christinabarlet@sunwayhotels.com and I will respond to you personally. Thank you for your time in writing us this review and providing us with your feedback of your stay with us.

Have a great day ahead and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petaling Jaya hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is overpriced and filled largely with families from the middle east. The hotel is VERY poorly maintained and the rooms are worn down and dirty.
Warning to all - please stay at your own risk!
The only saving grace is its attached to a big mall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank roysourov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear roysourov,

It is with great sadness that we hear of your inconvenient stay with us. Please accept our apologies for not being able to match up to your expectations of your stay. If it is alright with you, I would like to contact you to personally apologise and learn more of your stay and what can be improved from it.

If you could kindly provide me with an email of your experience to christinabarlet@sunwayhotels.com and I will be happy to respond to you. Thank you again for your feedback to help us improve further. We hope to be able to impress you again in the future.

Until then, have a great day ahead.

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is JUST average. The rooms are tired and ours wasn't clean, dust on top of wardrobe which was discovered when we removed our baggage and were overcome with it, don't think it has ever been cleaned. The dust build up around the edges of the worn, flat and badly stained carpet was also very evident. A sticking plaster was found attached to the bathroom vanity and all of this was our first impression of the room which was also quite small (10th floor). On the plus side the view was nice and the staff doing the room replaced all towels and amenities daily, great white thick fluffy towels! Breakfast was the usual selection of buffet food but sadly most of the guests abused this and the wastage was over the top, perhaps the hotel should look into this. Service was great and nothing too much problem for the unflappable staff. You can use the facilities of the Sunway Lagoon and Spa next door as the two properties are actually one but I would prefer to stay and the Lagoon which I've done so in the past. Didn't use the restaurants as there are plenty around the area and the huge mall which is attached has endless food outlets to choose from and plenty of shopping. Ive heard from a couple of sources that the internal facing rooms are to be avoided and found the noises carried. Beds are good and firm and the linen on them was fine. If not booked in by hosts mistake it would not be my choice of hotel for the future. It would pay to use the fixed price taxi service at the front of the mall, the saving on cost is almost double from hotel cabs.

Room Tip: Room on higher level gets view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Sandy R,

Please accept our apologies for not being able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. It is no excuse that you had to experience such poor service, especially in terms of cleanliness of the room, during your stay with us.

We thank you however for the positive mentions of our staff service and our amenities. We will surely improve further to perhaps one day impress you. Thank you for your valuable feedback to help improve our services better. Have a great day ahead.

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Good size room that comfortably fit an extra bed. There's a lounge chair in room too. Front desk staff is good but staff attending to phone "service centre" is not so friendly.
Complimentary parking. We can use the nice resort-style swimming pool at sunway hotel next door. Overall we & kids enjoyed the stay :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PingAshlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina_Barlet, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear PingAshlyn,

It is great to hear of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for writing us this review! Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience with the service centre staff, we will be sure to provide your feedback to the management staff to initiate a re-training to our staff.

Thank you again for the lovely review and we hope that you will return again for another stay soon!

Best Regards,
Christina Barlet
Guest Relations Manager
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0.1 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#12 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#34 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
4.5 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Pyramid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Pyramid Hotel

Property: Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Address: Persiaran Lagoon, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia (Formerly Sunway Pyramid Hotel East)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#5 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Pyramid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Pyramid Hotel, formerly known as Sunway Pyramid Hotel East, reopens after an extensive renovation. Every aspect of the guest experience has been rethought, bringing a breath of freshness with more choices and new experiences. The newly renovated hotel reflects functional design that incorporates Malaysian inspired textures, bold patterns and vibrant colours; complemented by enhanced in-room facilities and technology upgrades for a convenient and fuss-free stay. The hotel features 564 Deluxe guestrooms and suites; incorporating new category of family rooms and suites. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel also have direct access to the leisure facilities available at the 5-star Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa. Booking is now open for stays on 3 November 2016 onwards. Sunway Pyramid Hotel is located at Persiaran Lagoon, Sunway City, 47500 Selangor Darul Ehsan, Malaysia. GPS Coordinates: 3°04'18.8"N 101°36'31.2"E. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunway Pyramid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramid Tower Hotel At Sunway Lagoon Petaling Jaya
Pyramid Hotel At Sunway Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing