We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovation too noisy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Pyramid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Renovation too noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family stayed in 2 rooms, 15117 & 15118 from 15th to 17th October 2013. I don't understand why the hotel put us just above the loud banging from the renovation from the floor below. We checked in late on the 15th and we left the rooms early on the 16th and didn't came back until later in the evening. Only on the 17th, that we realised there was really insanely loud noise due to the ongoing renovation from 10 am to 6 pm when we came back around 5 pm. We were due to check out the next day, so to pack and unpack just to move to different rooms was out of the question. We were also not offered to be moved when we complained to the hotel. It was unfair that the hotel did not inform us of the ongoing renovation when the booking was made, otherwise we would have not taken the rooms. In some ways, we felt cheated. What about other families with babies or if we decided to sleep in?

Room Tip: Ask to stay away as far as possible from the renovation which may be in different floors at differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Usrati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Usrati,

Please accept our deepest apologies on the inconvenience that you had faced during your stay with us. This is not the standard that we expect to provide to our guests during their stay. We have alerted our teams of this inconvenience and they will be sure to find a solution in reducing the noise and come up with alternate solutions for the comfort of our future guests.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback and alerting us of this inconvenience. We will strive to improve better and hopefully win your confidence back.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    423
    275
    94
    74
See reviews for
445
123
43
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Pyramid staff are demonstrably well trained, accommodating and friendly. Breakfast is generous and of course the hotel leads directly to the world class mall. However, I asked twice (by phone) before arrival and also on arrival to be provided with a 'quiet room'. (I work at night and need to recover during the day). Despite this I find my room reverberating to drilling - floor tiles being replaced. On inquiring I am told that this flourishing festival of sound is 'everyday'. Apparently your ears can enjoy this cultural cacophony until 10th November. Be aware. Operations is 'doing (their) best to keep noise levels ( ... ) to a minimum'. Ever tried a smaller drill?

Room Tip: Check whether hotel renovation is planned before booking your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SungeiSarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear SungeiSarawak,

We are truly sorry for the inconvenience during your stay with us. This is not the service we expect to provide to our guests at any time during your stay. We have informed our team of this inconvenience and they will be looking for alternatives to assist in making our guests stay much more convenient. Despite the inconvenience that you had faced, we are thankful for the 3-star review that you had provided to us.

Your comments are truly appreciated and it will assist us in becoming better and provide better service to our guests. Until then, we thank you for your time and review and hope to improve better to welcome you back in the future.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spacious clean room, Excellent buffet breakfast and very helpful staff. Stay here if you want to visit the theme park. Access to shopping mall with lots of restaurants etc and an ice skating rink! Lots to see and do for the whole family

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Ross C,

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of destination. We are glad to have made your stay unforgettable. Should you ever decide to return for another visit, please do reach out to us and we will be happy to arrange for another memorable stay with us. Thank you again for your time in writing us this review.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

we were in the pyramid hotel which i think good for the families.
the location is excellent because it is attached to the mall and very close to the resort.
we faced a real problem because of the electricity cut in the 2 days we stayed.
the hotel restaurant is excellent and the people are lovely.
the rooms were spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Alismail,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us. Despite the difficulties faced, we appreciate the 4-star rating that you provided for us. Thank you for this great review. Should you ever decide to return to us for another stay, please do contact us and we will be very happy to arrange for your stay.

Again, thank you very much for this review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

After spending three nights at a downtown hotel (near imbi), we drove for about 20 minutes to Sunway Pyramid. Not difficult to find w/ the help of GPS.

Had an early check in. Grab something to eat at the adjacement mall before heading down to the theme park.

The rooms seem to be recently renovated. The breakfast was good.

The pool is a bit of a walk to one of the other Sunway establishments.

Espeically impressed with the speed of the housekeeper when an extra blanket was requested around 2300.

Will definiteliy stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Wilson C,

Thank you for the 5-star review. We are really happy to hear that we managed to meet your expectations during your stay with us here at Pyramid Tower Hotel. Should you ever decide to return, please do let us know and we will be very happy to accommodate and arrange for another memorable stay.

Thank you once again for the review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've spent a lot of time in Kuala Lumpur and usually stay with my wife's family but I was recently there on a short business trip and the company put me up in the Sunway Pyramid Hotel. It gave me an interesting perspective on KL, as a true visitor. The hotel is directly connected to the Pyramid Mall and is next to the big theme park. Not that I had much free time but its location made it very easy to shop at a very wide variety of outlets and there is a wide range of places to eat. I could also imagine getting out into the water park for half day and letting off some steam. The hotel room was fine - your typical hotel room - nothing really to remark on. I find the whole Sunway thing a bit contrived but for the first time visitor to KL, who has limited amount of time, this could be an easy way to combine business and pleasure and never have to get into a taxi or leave Bandar Sunway. Families seem to dominate the hotel though, so be prepared for some noise occasionally and if your room faces the waterpark, the loud speakers over the weekend can be LOUD.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Chuck C,

Thank you for providing us with your review of our hotel. Indeed a lot of our business traveler guests find our hotel convenient with the mall attached, allowing them to take some time off from business to unwind without having to travel far. We are glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay and perhaps one day we will be able to welcome you back as a leisure guest instead.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 4n stay in a executive room.
1St impression based on the outlook of the hotel, looks like some sleazy 2* hotel. However once im inside of the hotel, my perception changed.

Nice modern decor, clean and bright. Not 5* grand but would say at least a 4*.
Service was great, ushering me to the checkin counter. Checkin was prompt. surprised by the bell-boy who volunteered to checkin my luggage wthout even me asking!
Room is nice and clean however abit small compared to other 4* hotels in KL wth the same price. I hv got partial water theme park view so its not that bad. Aircon however is not that strong.
Gd location as very accesible to pyramid mall which is a food and shopping paradise. Lots of big brands but only slight cheaper due to exchange rates. Food however is cheaper compared to sg.
A feedback to the management:
Pls change the key cards. Its so "sensitive" If u place the key card near mobiles, credit cards or even magnets, the key cards get reset and it will be rendered useless. This is the first i heard since i travelled quite often. I hv to go to the reception to reset my key card thrice.
2Nd, variety of the buffet breakfast and dinner is quite bad unlike what others hv said here. I skipped 2 breakfast even its included in my room.

Overall a not too bad of a stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adknet03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear adknet03,

Thank you very much for providing us with this review and your feedback. Firstly, please do accept our apologies for the inconvenience faced during your stay with us. We truly appreciated the feedback that you had provided to us, we have forwarded them to the necessary teams for their action.

Your comments will definitely assist in helping us improve to better serve our guests in the future. Thank you again for your patronage and we hope to improve better and eventually welcome you back again in the future.

All the best from all of us at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0.1 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#12 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#32 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Pyramid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Pyramid Hotel

Property: Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Address: Persiaran Lagoon, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia (Formerly Sunway Pyramid Hotel East)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#5 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Pyramid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Pyramid Hotel, formerly known as Sunway Pyramid Hotel East, reopens after an extensive renovation. Every aspect of the guest experience has been rethought, bringing a breath of freshness with more choices and new experiences. The newly renovated hotel reflects functional design that incorporates Malaysian inspired textures, bold patterns and vibrant colours; complemented by enhanced in-room facilities and technology upgrades for a convenient and fuss-free stay. The hotel features 564 Deluxe guestrooms and suites; incorporating new category of family rooms and suites. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel also have direct access to the leisure facilities available at the 5-star Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa. Booking is now open for stays on 3 November 2016 onwards. Sunway Pyramid Hotel is located at Persiaran Lagoon, Sunway City, 47500 Selangor Darul Ehsan, Malaysia. GPS Coordinates: 3°04'18.8"N 101°36'31.2"E. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sunway Pyramid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramid Tower Hotel At Sunway Lagoon Petaling Jaya
Pyramid Hotel At Sunway Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing