We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room smells...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The room smells...”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was there on April 2013 and luckily i need to stat one night only. The lobby was pretty ok, but from the lift lobby onwards, pretty much everything looked rundown and badly in need a reno or something. I entered the room with a strong stench of smell which i thought it will go away after the aircon ran for sometime but i was wrong! It never go away. The best part, i woke up in the middle of the night scratching myself. Luckily I don't feel itchy anymore after a warm bath. I thought this was the only hotel around the vicinity only to realise that there is Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa just next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yumiko1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear yumiko1911,

We are disheartened to have heard of your inconvenience during your stay with us. This is not the standard that we provide to our guests during their stay with us.

Please allow us to reach out to you to personally apologise for the incident and hope that you will consider us once again if you were to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    484
    285
    98
    77
See reviews for
516
139
46
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is the first time i stay in this resort, the location of the hotel is nice but an ages is time to renovate. Next to this Hotel is Sunway Pyramid mall is you like to shipping this Resort is your right choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seetiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear seetiong,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your review. Your feedback is important to us to allow us to improve our services to better serve you in the future.

We hope that you will continue to show us your support and allow us to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very impressed with the customer service. They are very friendly and was given a free upgrade as it was first stay. The receptionist provided us with information and explained to us patiently about the theme parks and the shopping centre which is adjoined to the Sunway Pyramid shopping mall where you can easily spend hours hunting for bargains.
The breakfast has so much variety and again a service with a smile. The staff walked around and ensure that empty plates and dirty cutlery were taken away.
A variety of food available and they were delicious.
Recommended to a family with children who are 5 years and above who can enjoy the rides in the Sunway Lagoon. The ticket to the Sunway Lagoon is a bit expensive so it maybe a bit wasted if your children are too young to enjoy the ride and games in the Sunway Lagoon.
Another set back is the location, a bit further from the Bukit Bintang. It cost us approvimately $60 to get to Bukit Bintang in KL. we will stay there again and also recommend to our friends and families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm1l3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Sm1l3y,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of us. It has been a great honour to have been able to make your stay with us a memorable one. Should you or any of your family or friends choose to visit us, please do keep in touch with us to assist in welcoming them the same way we did during your stay.

We look forward to hearing from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Once again this was a Business stay, but it was very comforatble, and the location is not bad if you dont need to get into the CBD often as it is a aprox. 25km out of the CBD, and it is a 40 minute drive to the international airport (in normal traffic).
The Pyramid Tower Hotel is 'part of' or has direct access to a Huge mall, with many shops, and eating venues. There is even a Techno floor on the top level with all sort of smaller stalls selling all sorts of electronic goods.
The Hotel is part of the larger complex, and getting to the pool is a bit of a walk, and then elevator down etc. I did not use the pool area, but it looked welcoming enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear clcroux,

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate the time you took to provide us with this review. Should you ever decide to return, perhaps for a leisure trip, you could try a spa treatment at Mandara Spa for a well-deserved pampering session.

Do keep in touch with us if you require any assistance in arranging for your next trip back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel location is appropriate for short stay . Which locate beside sun lagoon and has mall over it . Room was good over all and no issues . But hotel is far from kuala . Its location is 45 min from int. airport and 15 to local airport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abu-hayyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear abu-hayyeh,

Thank you for your kind words, we hope you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Should require any further assistance in arranging for your next stay, we will be happy to accommodate.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My daughter enjoyed every bit of our stay. She loves swimming thats why. Just beside the sunway lagoon resort and sunway pyramid mall. All in one hotel. Although its kinda far from the capital kl. but still was worth the stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jet t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear jet t,

It is great to hear that you and your daughter had enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to have been able to make your stay memorable and hope you will return to stay with us again.

Please do contact us if you require any assistance in arranging for your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

If your room happens to face the front street in front of the hotel, then you will be serenaded to sleep until well past midnight with blaring music from (what I'm guessing) is a night club across the street. And my non-smoking room smells like anything but. Not what I expected for a business travel experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKR7784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Sunway Pyramid Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear MKR7784,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you had faced during your stay with us as we always strive to make our guest feel as comfortable as possible.

Your comments has been forwarded to our respective teams to help assist in improving our rooms so that our future guests will not experience the same inconvenience as you had.

Thank you once again for your time and review and we hope that you will consider us again in the future to allow us to change your perspective of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petaling Jaya hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0.0 mi away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#32 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,362 reviews
5.3 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,118 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#33 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Pyramid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Pyramid Hotel

Property: Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 47500, Malaysia (Formerly Sunway Pyramid Hotel East)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#5 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Pyramid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sunway Pyramid Hotel features 564 Deluxe guestrooms and suites, incorporating new category of family rooms and suites. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel have direct access to the leisure facilities available at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, which includes the free-form landscape swimming pool and the fitness centre. Strategically located in a bustling suburb of Kuala Lumpur, the Sunway Pyramid Hotel is 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and 25 minutes from the city centre. The hotel forms part of the iconic integrated development Sunway City, a multi-award winning destination that offers a cluster of three (3) hotels with a total of 1,433 guestrooms, suites and pool villas, a theme park and shopping mall. Sunway Pyramid Hotel also features 21 purpose-built family rooms and suites, designed to accommodate an increase in family and leisure travelers to Sunway City. The Family Room is suitable for those travelling with young children for its vibrant interiors and a bunk bed. Whereas the new Family Suite, are amongst the Hotel’s largest rooms offering comfortable spaces, with added extras like two (2) bathrooms, a mini refrigerator, a microwave and bedding options for up to six (6) persons. Guests staying at Sunway Pyramid Hotel will be spoilt for choice when it comes to the extensive food and beverage available in the hotel and choices which are just steps away. At Sunway Pyramid Hotel, located at the hotel’s lobby level is Taste Enclave offering an exciting culinary landscape of 11 specially-selected food eateries and three mini restaurants. For those on-the-go or looking for a quick bite, Kaffeinate is located at the hotel’s main lobby, serves freshly brewed gourmet coffees, specialty teas and a range of light snacks. Alternatively, venture into Sunway Pyramid shopping mall for over 170 food and beverage choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunway Pyramid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramid Tower Hotel At Sunway Lagoon Petaling Jaya
Pyramid Hotel At Sunway Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing