We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treatment like a King”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royale Chulan Damansara
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Treatment like a King”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

One of the best ever service oriented hotel. The staff have been properly trained and it is located within the shopping district of Mutiara Damansara hosues of IKEA, Tesco, The Curve Shoping Mall, Ikano Power Centre, Cinelisure, KidsZania, Mercedes, Lexus and Malaysian poular car brand named Proton. The hotel comes with in house Ice Skating Ring for leisure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalebintang, Public Relations Manager at Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear KingTT

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip. We are glad to note that you did have a pleasant stay with Royale Bintang. We are happy to be able to meet your expectations! We do hope to see you more often! Please do contact me at royalebintang@gmail.com when you next stay with us.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    202
    101
    26
    21
See reviews for
153
71
13
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is pretty new, white, clean contemporary look but if you look closer, you can easily find fault. If you are not fussy, this hotel is consider good.

In terms of location, It is sheltered all the way to Curve Shopping Mall (which is rather big, you are spoilt for choices for F&B), linked to nearby malls and attractions like Kidzania, Ikea, Tesco, etc. We are happy just hanging around the area for 2-3 days, without venturing further. That is because we spent 1 day in Kidzania. The ice skating rink is also within the hotel.

We were pretty happy at first with the variety served for Breakfast, however, the quality is only average. And you need to pay extra for premium coffee and teh tarik. The ABF only comes with diluted coffee or tea, and some juices.

For the rooms, reasonable size, not much issue except the bidet sprayer seems to leak despite us not using it. I like it that the bed comes with a bolster.

The pool looks good but we have no time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My favourite hotel especially for New Year celebrations. Love it's access entrance into Cineleisure, ice skating rink and The Curve. Basically everything you need, you can get here...all within a walking distant. For New Year bookings, be sure to book 3-4 mths in advance and get the room you want in specific :)

Breakfast is good. Big spread. Ample seating space.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Cineleisure/the Curve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladys0ul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalebintang, Public Relations Manager at Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Ladys0ul

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip. We are glad to note that you did have a pleasant stay with Royale Bintang. We are happy to be able to meet your expectations! We do hope to see you more often! Please do contact me at royalebintang@gmail.com when you next stay with us.

thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 days and was impressed with everything about this hotel - staff couldn't be more helpful - excellent breakfast and outstanding pool area - down side was not enough international TV channel's and no bath

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Not to be mistaken for newer Royale Curve, the Danansara hotel is tired and over-rated (self rated) 4-star hotel.

Location
Part of the Curve mall and connected to e@curve, Ikano & Ikea malls. Also free shuttle bus from Ikano to the Kelana Jaya LRT station.

Room
Dingy furniture with scummy bathroom tiles. Carpet's stained and bed sheet has speckles of blood! Definitely not a relaxing stay even at one of their better rooms 'Studio deluxe'.

Service
Request for baby cot and new tv remote control fulfilled quickly. Front desk staff appeared non-chalant and miffed w my questions on the prices & rooms at both hotels. Should hv overcame my laziness to walk that 5 minutes...Breakfast was disgusting to put in mildly. Stale hard bread, beyond limited selection, cold food, need I go on?

Overall
If you must be in the Mutiara Damansara vicinity, stay at the sister Royale Damansara!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRBD, Public Relations Manager at Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear SueL_10,

Your comments are well received and we have taken note the whole situation of your unfortunate encounters. I regret that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are sure you will notice our commitment to world class service during your next stay with us! Would you kindly contact me at royalebintang@gmail.com so that I can personally assure you that there will not be such encounters the next time when you visit our hotel.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petaling Jaya hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

In Malaysia KL area, the new hotel called "The Royale Bintang Damansra" is what I stayed. The near by area in "Curve" shooping is "Royale Bintang":(Oldder hotel). The Royale Bintang is a good, nice , clean Hotel. Hotel price At RM 349 per day. Fully equip for basic items. Some complement fruits and 4 bottle of drink (Free of charge). Room very spaces. Very convinience to shopping centre and many resturant near by.Quite comfortable to stay. Hotel with complement parking for guest. Near by had one Japanese resturant called "Minori" . Serve nice Japanese food.

Room Tip: I prefer non-smoking room on Level 6,7 and 8 (Base on lift information).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Under-the-Sun88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRBD, Public Relations Manager at Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Under-the-Sun88

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip. We are glad to note that you did have a pleasant stay with Royale Bintang. We are happy to be able to meet your expectations! We do hope to see you more often! Please do contact me at royalebintang@gmail.com when you next stay with us.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Like the room, room service food was good enough, very close to shopping..actually just next to shopping complex.

The price was not worth the facility given. I could stay in more shopping friendly neighborhood and paid less with equally clean facility.

Hotel staff was bad in showing direction. I couldn't find the lift and yet was directed to go further into shopping complex. I decided to forget what he said and immediately I found my way up to the room.

Room Tip: Choose between pool view and city view. Was told pool view is better so I took it. The higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saint_kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRBD, Public Relations Manager at Royale Chulan Damansara, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear saint_kevin,

Your comments are well received and we have taken note the whole situation of your unfortunate encounters. Rest assured that corrective action is being taken to improve the service and to train our staff to be more pro-active in addressing to our guests’ requests such as yours. I regret that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are sure you will notice our commitment to world class service during your next stay with us! Would you kindly contact me at royalebintang@gmail.com so that I can personally assure you that there will not be such encounters the next time when you visit our hotel.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.2 mi away
Royale Chulan The Curve
Royale Chulan The Curve
#25 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
347 reviews
0.9 mi away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,118 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Qliq Damansara
Qliq Damansara
#9 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
171 reviews
3.3 mi away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
604 reviews
1.8 mi away
Somerset Damansara Uptown Petaling Jaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Damansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Damansara

Property: Royale Chulan Damansara
Address: 2, Jalan PJU 7/3, Mutiara Damansara, Petaling Jaya 47810, Malaysia (Formerly The Royale Bintang Damansara)
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Damansara 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Golden Triangle of Petaling Jaya, Royale Chulan Damansara (formerly known as The Royale Bintang Damansara) has all that you need and more for a truly luxurious holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royale Chulan Damansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing